We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ballard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ballard to your Saves list
Hotel Ballard
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5216 Ballard Ave. NW, Seattle, WA 98107 (Ballard)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Christmas in Seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The area is nice with a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance. That could be good or bad depending on your tastes. It did get a little noisy over the weekend but not bad during the week. We had no problem finding place to eat. The hotel restaurant is said to be very good, but we never got a chance to eat there. It is not open for breakfast and that was the only time we were at the hotel. The Athletic club attached is very nice and a plus if you want to work out while staying there and it is at no extra charge. That is a bonus. My only complaints would be that they kept running short on wash cloths and giving us only one for two people. I find that inexcusable. That should never happen at a better hotel like this one. It could have been a little cleaner. Most of our room was very clean, but attention to details like mopping the floor behind the bathroom door which wasn't done before we got there or once after our arrival was missed. Overall, it was very enjoyable and I would stay there again. It was definitely better than the average hotels we have stayed at in Seattle before.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors or on the other side as the bars to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Hotel Ballard, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for reviewing your holiday experience at Hotel Ballard. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our hotel and I apologize for the basic housekeeping steps that were missed throughout your stay. I will work with our housekeeping team to ensure that these steps aren't missed in the future. We greatly appreciate your review and bringing it to our attention. Hope to see you again at Hotel Ballard soon!

Best,

Travis Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
51
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I recently booked an overnight stay-cation at Hotel Ballard. We stayed in a Courtyard Room, and it was wonderful. The room was very nicely appointed, location (on the roof) was very private and VERY quiet! The view up there is amazing too! The staff were all very professional and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend Hotel Ballard to anyone for a stay-cation or out of town guests. The rooftop dining/lounge venue, complete with outdoor fireplace would be a great place for a wedding or birthday party, and the adjacency to the health club is also a nice feature. Try the restaurant too - it is delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms on the rooftop Courtyard are very private and quiet, but be sure to check there is not an even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for a week in one of the 5th floor suites. Very comfortable, especially because of the gas fireplace that wards off the Seattle winter chill. The suites are capacious as is the bathroom with separate tub and shower. Restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Only downside is that the flat screen TV sets are not HD, which is expected in this day and age, especially during NFL playoff and NCAA bowl seasons!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying here last Friday night. This location is perfect for checking out the great shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel is beautifully decorated and yet quite comfortable! The decor and finishes of our room were quite nice too. It is a great place for a girls-night-out and would be nice for a romantic getaway with my husband too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ballard for three days over a weekend. it's on the main drag, right across the street from tractor, and other bars, which are loaded with people, standing on the sidewalks waiting to get in, quite the scene until after 1 AM.Though our suite was on the second floor it was surprisingly quiet. I'm pretty sure the upper floor rooms(there appears to be four floors used) is even quieter, but I didn't have any trouble sleeping with earplugs and a sound machine,--after 1 AM, that is.

The room was spacious, with nice natural light, a rather strange little couch with no arms, a couple of giant televisions, a huge bathtub which was really nice, a giant shower with not much water pressure, comfortable bed, no microwave or refrigerator, and a not great coffee machine that made lousy coffee, that we tried making tea in.

This is a fun little hotel in a great neighborhood, and we were really happy to see a lovely farmer's market sprout right in front of it on Sunday morning. The bus is easy to catch into town and where ever you want to go, and we ended up only using a taxi to go back and forth to the train station.

The restaurant in the hotel is very good, and there are many other excellent eateries nearby.

Room Tip: The upper floors are probably quieter than the second floor, which wasn't bad, considering the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here celebrating an anniversary and were very happy with this hotel. The location is great with lots of bars and restaurants nearby. The room was very comfortable, nicely furnished and quiet, with no noise at all from the street or the hallway. The staff were friendly and helpful, though they were extremely busy and we had to wait for our room on arrival. They left a bottle of fizz in our room for our anniversary which was a nice touch. We will definitely consider this hotel next time we are in Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

There are not enough beautiful adjectives to describe this hotel. It was simply perfect. I loved staying in a brand new hotel - remodeled I believe in the spring 2013. When I walked into the swanky lobby, I thought, "Oh great - they are going to be snobby..." I usually stay in more humble hotels for business & can't typically afford a hotel of this caliber when I'm with my family. I was so pleasantly surprised by both young men at the front desk. Super nice. Not snooty at all. I was a little bummed I paid $10 to park in their garage then had to pay another $15 for an all nite/ day pass, but no biggie (maybe better signage when a hotel guest pulls into garage?) My room was awesome - on the second floor with a cute balcony overlooking the quaint neighborhood. Did not hear any traffic/ street noise nor any loud hallway noise. King bed über comfy. Great tv. Luxurious bathroom accommodations. To top it off - a pass to the ultra cool Olympic Athletic Club. I've never been in such an amazing gym. This was one business trip to Seattle that I wished were longer! I didn't have time to eat at the hotel's restaurant but it was crowded at both dinner and lunch the next day. The surrounding neighborhood would be fun to explore for couples or Girls Weekend. I hope to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Hotel Ballard, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Bexnate,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Ballard and your experience at the Olympic Athletic Club! I will share your great feedback with the front desk. We are working on better signage in the garage and am sorry for any mix up at the meter. Hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels!

Travis Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ballard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ballard

Address: 5216 Ballard Ave. NW, Seattle, WA 98107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Ballard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ballard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ballard is the pinnacle of excellence among boutique hotels in North Seattle. Conveniently located in the heart of historic Ballard, we are the only boutique hotel in the Ballard, Fremont, Magnolia, and Wallingford neighborhoods. Whether you come for business or pleasure, Hotel Ballard’s 29 luxurious and elegantly appointed rooms offer all the comforts of home and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ballard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ballard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.