We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devilishly Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Cakes

Hot Cakes
5427 Ballard Avenue Northwest, Seattle, WA 98107
(206) 420-3431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 3,490 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee Usa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Devilishly Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This place only serves desserts, but they are fantastic. There is often a line out the door, so take your spot and wait for a treat. We had the chocolate cake (dark decadence I think it is called). This is a roundish disc of cake with hot chocolate syrup in the center. These are prepared while you wait, so they are steaming hot when you get your order - yum, yum. Of course, you will want ice cream to go with it. We have also heard that the salted caramel milkshake is wonderful. As long as you aren't concerned about the calories, you will be happy you visited here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I have never been anywhere like this before!!
The queues outside - approx. 9 PM - looked daunting but moved quickly. We had a short wait for a table once we had ordered but it soon became available and our order soon followed. The Bread Pudding was delicious - menu is extensive and varied and it took considerable thought before deciding what to have !! Its a real challenge! There is a real buzz and well worth the visit. A must when visiting Ballard. Enjoy!!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
517 helpful votes 517 helpful votes
“Good Stop for Desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

My friend's daughter recommended this place for desserts so we stopped in after eating lunch nearby. We liked the casual ambiance and friendly staff. Luckily, we experienced no lines early on a weekday afternoon. It was hard to make a selection, because everything on the menu seemed to beckon.

Eventually we selected a dark decadence cake with vanilla ice cream on the side and a creme brulee. We shared both and decided the cake was much better. It tasted like rich fudge and was absolutely heavenly. It was so rich that I doubt that I could eat one of these alone. The creme brulee, however, lacked flavor and was a disappointment. But that will not deter us from returning to try some of the other offerings. Perhaps that will be during the shop's $5 Happy Hour from 3-6 p.m. on weekdays. I have my eye on the grilled chocolate sandwich with caramel sauce and the salted caramel shake.

Items to go on the shelves include Take N Bake Molten Chocolate Cake, so those short on time can grab something to enjoy at home. There is free parking on Ballard Avenue.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Definitely worth the long line we had to wait in to try out this tasty dessert spot. My husband had the Whiskey Rye cake which was a ginormous piece of cake and he loved it. Since they are known for their molten hot cakes I had to try one. I had the Dark Decadence one which comes with sea salt caramel and a scoop of ice cream. It was SO GOOD. Rich, hot, with a bit of gooey goodness right in the middle. Paired really well with the ice cream as the cake itself is quite rich. Definitely a must-visit for dessert in Ballard.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Delicious Desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stopped in for some mid-afternoon chocolate. We enjoyed a flight of ice cream with various toppings, a peanut butter cup chocolate cake and some butter beer and coffee. A nice place to drop in for a treat.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Cakes also viewed

 

Been to Hot Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Cakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.