We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rendition of the classic American steakhouse + great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brooklyn Seafood Steak & Oyster House

The Brooklyn Seafood Steak & Oyster House
1212 2nd Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-2926 (Downtown)
206-224-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brooklyn Seafood Steak & Oyster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 3,441 restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Second & University
Transit: Directly across from the University Street transit tunnel. Allowing easy access to the light rail, free ride bus zone and transit options for the greater Seattle area.
Description: Dine with us and Celebrate 22 years of award winning food and service. Join us for the freshest ideas in Northwest Cuisine! Enjoy fresh seafood delivered daily, the largest rotating selection of fresh oysters in the city, 28-day aged beef and a delicious selection signature desserts. The Brooklyn is centrally-located in downtown Seattle, directly across the street from the Seattle Symphony at Benaroya Hall and the Seattle Art Museum. We are within easy walking distance of Pike Place Market and Seattle Waterfront.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent rendition of the classic American steakhouse + great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was exactly the type of restaurant we were looking for where we could get some excellent steaks with seafood appetizers. The service was perfect; helpful with explanations and willing to give us exactly what we wanted. We both requested a different cut of steak than the menu description and were accommodated with a smile.
I would come back here without a hesitation; it truly was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    262
    132
    39
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“I believe this is the first...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We use Tripadvisor on our travels and the is the first time that I have been disappointed in the rating of a restaurant. We were a bit suspicious when we found a lot of open tables at prime time on Friday night. We started with their scotch sampler (very good - inlcuded Oban!) and then went to their Seafood Volcano. This was a combination of all the things we love...raw oysters, steamed shrimp and crab. The oysters were very good and then we tried the shrimp. I have literally never had steamed shrimp that were that tough and chewy. We then went onto the crab and found that it was floating in a lake of cocktail sauce. I love cocktail sauce but Dungeness crab is so sweet and wonderful we didnt want to swamp the flavor with cocktail sauce. Unfortunately most of it was floating in cocktail sauce and we didnt have the chance to experience how good it could have been. At this point we were so disappointed we just paid the bill and left. We didnt want to drop $100 on top of what we had already spent to just get more bad news. I wonder if this place is just living off of its reputation?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The best part was the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We wanted to try something different this trip to Seattle. It was a SUnday and several of hte more popular restaurants were closed (too bad as this is reason enoiugh for me to drop a full point in ratings).

Brooklyn is an oyster house. That's their specialty. The menu has steaks and seafood, but you will be best served by sticking to oysters. We had halibut and salmon. Both were over seasoned. The salmon was advertised as translucent and somewhat rare int eh center. It was not close to this description. The accompanying flavors were overpowering. The halibut dish was better with good texture and flavor.

Wines were disappointing and grossly overpriced. Mostly northwwest wines. They really need to add some wines from the central coast of California (Paso Robles).

I found nothing speacil at Brooklyn aside from great service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood in Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful menu of seafood selections and Beef. I had a scallops dish with braised beef ribs. Taste was fantastic. Beer selection very good as well. Clean, comfortable and convenient location

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larrchar
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A fabulous Seattle Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for seafood, Seattle style, go to the Brooklyn. The service here is excellent with nice people who work hard to please. We were there on a horrible traffic night in Seattle and they held our table and were most understanding! We settled in for a comfortable evening with nice wines, appetizers and dinner. I think their clam chowder is the best in the city and you will be thrilled with the seafood presentation. Everything is fresh and served perfectly. We go here for oysters, prawns, crab and fresh fish. The halibut and salmon are perfectly cooked and presented. This is a busy place and they know how to please their customers! Try Seattle style seafood here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brooklyn Seafood Steak & Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to The Brooklyn Seafood Steak & Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brooklyn Seafood Steak & Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.