We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you appreciate good rum, this is the place to go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumba

Rumba
1112 Pike St., Seattle, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #952 of 3,429 restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Vancouver,BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you appreciate good rum, this is the place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was amazed by this place.
Really.
Rumba offers +250 different rums from all over the world.
My partner have taken me there, he really likes rum, maybe because he was raised in Caribbean.
We have tasted few different selections, ate some food ( great food with great rum) and enjoyed the pleasant conversation with the bartender.
Try the "Captain's List ".
We will be back.
The bill was well into three digits, but it was worth it :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    5
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Rumba-a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ended up at Rumba this weekend and were pleasantly surprised at this modern, relaxed, Cuban restaurant. We sat at the bar, but loved the other seating options, including some fun turquoise sofa seats and cute tables which make it a great place for a date night.

Must-haves:
-Tilapia tacos (delicate, well-balanced, great slaw!)
-Their spicy salsa (goes well with the tacos)
-Chorizo or chicken empanadas

We will go back to try the other items on the menu....also, note for vegetarians--they have vegetarian tacos and empanadas.

On to drinks--had a great conversation with the bartender who told us about the different rum options and who made our drinks with care. If you have never had a regular Daquiri--none of that strawberry sugaryness, but a real one, then get one here...I loved Daquiri #2--refreshing and light.

It was a very fun, but not too crazy atmosphere when we went at 7pm on a Saturday. It was busy but not so packed that there was a line.

Overall, great place to go with a small group of friends or on a date!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great drinks, delicious tacos.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Ended up at rumba when tango was full and got a couple seats at the bar. Had a lot of fun trying different cocktails at the bar and finished it off with some great tacos.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, fun food and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a cozy little spot downtown that just opened less than a month ago. The decor is tropical without being kitschy -- with the turquoise leather seating and dark wood bookshelves, it's more like being in someone's home.

The food is Cuban, and everything we tried was excellent, from the guacamole with plantain chips to the sauteed hibiscus flowers, jerked pork, smoked chicken wings, and empanadas. The plates are small, so you can order lots of things and share. The drink menu is old school -- lots of tropical cocktails, and I think I had the best daquiri I've ever tasted, made with fresh lime and orange juices, curacao, and rum and served over shaved ice -- no sickly sweet frozen mess here. The rum cocktail was also very good.

We were a large group and pulled several tables together, so it was a tad awkward, but for a fun night out with a small group of friends, the place would be perfect.

I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rumba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a new Cuba restaurant. The guacomole with plaintain chips are great, the tacos and empandas too. The drinks were ok, but they have lots to choose from. All staff were friendly. Its a cozy little spot and not too crowded until people find out about it. It is only opened for dinner. Opens after 5pm

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.