We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tallest Ferris Wheel on the West Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Great Wheel

Seattle Great Wheel
1301 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98101
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$77*
and up
Gourmet Seattle Walking Tour
Ranked #40 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Sasebo, Japan
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Tallest Ferris Wheel on the West Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

At 175 feet, this is the tallest Ferris wheel on the west coast and is the only one to be built over water where it extends out 40 feet. There are 42 enclosed, climate-controlled gondolas that seat up to eight people.

The ride lasts 3 full rotations or about 12 minutes and costs about $15 per person. There is also a luxury, VIP gondola with leather seats and a glass floor where, for $50 a person, you can go to the head of the line and drink champagne during your ride.

They also take a picture of your party before you take your turn riding the wheel if you want a keepsake.

The views of the Seattle skyline and those overlooking Elliott Bay are well worth the price of the ticket. I took so many beautiful pictures, I can't wait to go again!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    288
    122
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice view of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I thought this was a bit expensive for what it was but did give a nice view of the city from above. We were able to see Pike's Place market, the port and the sports arenas.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I would´ve given the Great Wheel an excellent review just because of the long lines and overpriced tickets. The gondolas are very comfortable and climate controlled and the duration of the whole ride is just right.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I are visiting Seattle and when we saw the huge ferris wheel.well we had to try it. There is a lot of construction going on in the area but that aside, this is a fun ride. The gondolas are very clean and climate controlled and very roomy. They can seat up to 8 but we were able to enjoy a gondola by ourselves. The price gives you three times around, we all got an extra turn which was a nice addition. From the top you can see quite a view. Definitely a must fo, the staff was friendly but a lil bit of negativity leaving as when we went to review our pics that they take before you get on the ride we had to listen to the two employees arguing about breaks and how one was 4 mins late. .that was the only negative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the time & $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went late in the afternoon/early evening and planned it just right to hit sunset... beautiful clear day and great views in all directions. Operators very kind especially when I asked them not to put us with the screaming tantrum throwing kid in line behind us:) plenty of time to see all the sights and when you are done you are ready to get off but not bored.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Great Wheel also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Great Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Great Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.