We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked View!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seattle Great Wheel

Seattle Great Wheel
1301 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98101
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$77*
and up
Gourmet Seattle Walking Tour
Ranked #40 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wicked View!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We hit the Great Wheel on a sunny day in March and it was incredible. The glass gondolas offer amazing 360 degree views - with heat and air conditioning!! The view from the end of a pier makes you feel like you are suspended over Puget Sound looking back at the city - very memorable. Our party of four had a private gondola for a very memorable and special experience. All agreed - wonderful way to spend an afternoon in Seattle.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    288
    122
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Scary, but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

$13 to take an 8 minute ride on the Great Wheel. Not going to lie, I was terrified. It is perched on the side of a harbor, so half of the time you are hanging over Puget Sound. It boasts great views of the Seattle skyline, but be sure to go on a clear day. Not worth going if it is raining and wet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"A Great Experience on Unique Ride"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am afraid of heights and don't particularly care for the pendulum movement of the seat as you approach the top of any ferris wheel but I guess I was okay because the gondola was fully enclosed and temperature controlled. After the initial rise to the top and apprehensive feeling, I totally and comfortably enjoyed the ride. The views were spectacular. The ride was great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Raising the bar for Seattle views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Worthwhile only if sunny clear day-no problem if it's cold because each gondola is heated. And fully enclosed. Aim for off peak hours so you can have your own gondola. Bring a camera (obviously) it's great fun even for height-fearing folk. Such a beautiful city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We bought the VIP package for a few extra dollars. You get the gondola with the glass bottom, nice leather seats, and a t-shirt. Not going to lie we were excited until we sat down and stared moving because we kept looking down. But the second we looked up it was breathtaking. You got to see the space needle, downtown buildings, the mountains and ocean. What we liked and enjoyed was that the ride is slow moving so it allows you to take the time to take pictures and enjoy the scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Great Wheel also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Great Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seattle Great Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.