We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much more than you expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chihuly Garden and Glass

Chihuly Garden and Glass
305 Harrison Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$23*
and up
Chihuly Garden and Glass Exhibit in Seattle
Ranked #1 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Seattle, Chihuly Garden and Glass provides a look at the inspiration and influences that inform the career of artist Dale Chihuly. Through the exhibition’s eight interior galleries, lush outdoor garden and centerpiece Glasshouse visitors will experience a comprehensive look at Chihuly's most significant series of work. With both day and night experiences, and full-service dining in the adjoining Collections Café, this long-term exhibition offers a unique experience rain or shine.
seattle, washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“much more than you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I am not a fan of Chihuly's sculptural forms that are assembled from multiple curving pieces that all look the same, eaither hung form the ceiling like a bunch of grapes or rise from the floor over 12' into the air, usually with a mirror at the base so it looks like "infinity". So I was not expecting much when an out-of-town friend wanted to see it. I was blown away by the room with the glass ceiling, and the "garden". You can take as many photos as you like, linger as long as you want. Worth the price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,974
    823
    154
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

An ABSOLUTE must see while in Seattle. Make sure your camera batteries are fully charged because you'll want to take lots of pictures. Stunning!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Amazing / incredible talent / a delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Truelly an amazing display, totally unexpected. Went to the Space Needle saw some amazing glass objects in view whilst queueing for tickets. Able to purchase a "combo ticket" to both and I am so happy we did. I was completely blown away (no pun intended), to see what this guy has created it is a complete eye opener. As you walk through room after room of displays, vases / boats / an unbelievable ceiling display and incredible grape vine atrium display then walk in to the gardens - it was breathtaking. Worth viewing the videos of his work and other displays he has created.
Unfortunately we were unable to return for the night display but I can only imagine how awesome it would habve been

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've seen his work before and Chihuly never disappoints. The work is beautiful and presented so well. ticket are a bit pricey so me sure to plan to take advantage of the fact that they are good for two days. Take your time viewing them one day and then take a quick look at night, the outdoor pieces are breathtaking in the evening. So convent to the Space Needle, be sure to plan to visit them at the same time.

Four stars are due to the fact it's pricy and not a huge exhibit. After a while some of the pieces look like others, but well worth it to see.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“If you enjoy glass art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have seen his work in a number of places - but this place took my breath away
there are two indoor areas and a garden area that have his works. The price of the ticket included a free photo of you in front of one of the exhibits that you can email to friends and family

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuly Garden and Glass also viewed

 

Been to Chihuly Garden and Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chihuly Garden and Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.