We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chihuly Garden and Glass

Chihuly Garden and Glass
305 Harrison Street, Seattle, WA 98109
+1 206-753-4940
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Chihuly Garden and Glass like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$21*
and up
Ranked #1 of 506 things to do in Seattle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Seattle, Chihuly Garden and Glass provides a look at the inspiration and influences that inform the career of artist Dale Chihuly. Through the exhibition’s eight interior galleries, lush outdoor garden and centerpiece Glasshouse visitors will experience a comprehensive look at Chihuly's most significant series of work. With both day and night experiences, and full-service dining in the adjoining Collections Café, this long-term exhibition offers a unique experience rain or shine.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you have never seen his work before you owe it to yourself to visit the next time you are in Seattle. My one complaint is that you are not allowed to reenter. I am sure its a totally different view in the evenings when the sun is down. We would have loved to visit the garden in the eve but weren't going to pay again to get in.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,563
    930
    167
    38
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved It ... More Than I Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

In the past, Dale Chihuly's work had not moved me. But my spouse was anxious to visit this new exhibit at Seattle Center. I have to admit that seeing Chihuly glass on this scale and with the beauty of the methods of exhibition here,all gave me a fresh perspective on the importance and the power of Chihuly's work.

The indoor and outdoor exhibits are gorgeous, their scale and complexity inspire a sense of wonder, and the beauty creates an ambiance of well-being that is certainly a welcome island of peace amidst the touristy bustle of Seattle Center's attractions.

Very worthwhile, highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Captivating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Captivating! A visual feast for the eyes! Chihuly is a master of design and color! Worth the cost of entry.
Unbelievable photographic opportunities. Reserve an hour and half to take it all in and be sure and watch
the videos to see the process! Amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bring Your Camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A true delight and must see during a trip to Seattle. Wonderful, original, breathtaking colors, and friendly layout. Just a first class experience all the way around.
When traveling to Seattle as a tourist look into the special discounted local attraction card.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible color and design! Must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

All 6 of us (3 men, 3 women) were absolutely in awe of the volume of glass shown in this exhibit as well as the great variety of pieces. Each room of the interior displays was even better than the one before it and the glass gardens outside were magnificent. Both the colors and the shapes of the glass were inspirational. The bookstore is outstanding in its selection of items. The Collections Cafe was great from both a food standpoint and from the collection of objects (collected by Dale Chihuly) displayed in each table top. Between the exhibit itself, lunch at the cafe, and browsing the bookstore, we spent about 3 hours. Our entire visit to the exhibit was at the top of our list of favorite things done in Seattle.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuly Garden and Glass also viewed

 

Been to Chihuly Garden and Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chihuly Garden and Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.