We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast
3258 14th Avenue West, Queen Anne Hill, Seattle, WA 98119   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Seattle B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Inn of Twin Gables for two days while in Seattle for a wedding. We enjoyed our stay there. Our room was inviting and comfortable, The bathroom was clean and bright. Breakfast was very good and tasty plus extra care had obviously been made to make it pretty as well. The Inn is much like staying in someone's home, cozy and relaxing. We found the location convenient for us, since we had a car and didn't plan to spend time in downtown Seattle. We greatly enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast both days. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The room was very small, with outdated decor, really small bathroom with tiny bath and hand held shower - and no TV or tea/coffee making facilities. Far from downtown, at least an hour's walk. Our host was friendly but not around a lot. Breakfast was nice but quite basic. Not worth the high price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnManagerSeattle, Owner at Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Thank you for your input. It is helpful to us in addressing problems and making improvements. I broke my ankle during the summer and regret that it was necessary for my helper to perform all the inn keeping duties as I was unable to walk until late fall, so could not cook or be available for guests regularly. I do apologize and wish I could have been there to assist you.

The rooms are small as they are the original bedrooms in our 1915 home, and are decorated with period antiques. We do not have TV's in the rooms due to the possibility of disturbing other guests, but there is a TV with cable in the living room for all guests to use. We converted the 4 1/2' x 9' closets into bathrooms in both the East and North rooms. The website clearly states that the bath in the North room has a tub with hand-held shower.

As noted on our website, we are located 3.5 miles from the center of downtown. Just 2 blocks from the Inn there are 2 buses running frequently, early and late, which go to Seattle Center and proceed down 1st Avenue to shopping, Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, etc.

In the dining room we have a guest coffee pot which we do not keep on all day as most guests are out and about. If any guests request, we can certainly set it up for their use whenever they wish. We provide a variety of caffeinated and herbal teas and fresh coffee. Just let us know when you would like it to be available and we are more than happy to accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Plains
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Inn of the Twin Gables is quiet, convenient to public transportation, and reasonably priced, by Seattle standards. Our room was small and the neighborhood is a little dicey, but the staff is very helpful and attentive, and breakfasts are imaginatively conceived and well prepared. We will stay again if and when we are in Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

The Inn of Twin Gables is nestled in a residential neighborhood on the Puget Sound side of Queen Ann Hill in Seattle. It has beautiful gardens and grounds, cozy rooms and a friendly, engaging innkeeper, Katie. Katie was a wonderful host and very helpful with all of our questions.

I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXC398
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Katie, our hostess, welcomed us warmly and made us feel right at home. The Inn is very comfortable and quiet. It was perfectly located for us, near the Bike Expo at Pier 91, and near Ballard and Fremont. Katie's breakfasts were a treat. She grows her owns herbs and uses them in her cooking. A highlight was the pot of fresh verbena tea she made for me. She also was very willing to accommodate special dietary requests (one of us is a vegetarian). We look forward to staying at Katie's Inn again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland ,Ore.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Katie Frame, Owner/Manager has high standards and it shows... The rooms are air conditioned, with private baths, very clean and the breakfasts are delicious. Katie uses natural ingredients and all herbs from her garden for her delicious and varied breakfasts. Since driving around Seattle can be tricky, Katie is also a veritable "atlas" regarding the city. She gave me terrific directions on getting to Seattle Center, Pike Place Market etc... If you like less conjestion and comfort I would highly recommend the INN OF TWIN GABLES. T. Simmons

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnManagerSeattle, owner/manager at Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2009
Thanks for the lovely review, but only the East room is air conditioned as it can get quite warm when we have those rare hot days in Seattle. The West and North rooms have window fans with thermostats, and the Garden Suite stays quite comfortable by just opening the windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed for an extended weekend in Mid July 2009. The host Katie was very helpful upfront during the booking process and provided great directions so we could find the place easily.
Although it may not be as central as some other Queen Anne locations, it's still in a good spot and was extremely easy to get to and from Downtown on buses that came really frequently.
Each morning we were greeted with fantastic home made breakfasts like Chile Rellenos, stuffed french toast and omlettes.
Katie, the host was very helpful and offered many suggestions for things to do or how to get places.
I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast, which for me is pretty amazing as usually my husband and I do not enjoy staying at B&B's. But this place just felt like staying with a bunch of friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3258 14th Avenue West, Queen Anne Hill, Seattle, WA 98119
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From museums and art galleries to sports venues, fine dining, and shopping, there's plenty to do in Seattle along the shores of Elliott Bay and under the shadow of Mt. Rainier. The Inn of Twin Gables is a Seattle Bed and Breakfast Inn offering three comfortable guest rooms and a fully equipped 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, bath, and laundry facility. Offering a 2 night minimum stay (3 nights in the summer), our inn provides personal attention and a welcoming ambiance. Let us make this comfortable inn your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Twin Gables Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.