We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and splendor is memorable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Old world charm and splendor is memorable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

After a hiatus of many years, my husband and I returned to Seattle and out of all hotels available we chose the Fairmont Olympic. There is nothing to surpass the old world charm, the architectural details and elegance of this heritage building. The staff from the doorman to the concierge were gracious ,friendly, a fountain of knowledge and made us feel welcome. Our corner room was light and airy with elegant window dressings and furnished with faux antique style. Everything was spotless, the bed very comfortable and we felt pampered. We had trouble with our ipad connection and the telephone technician for the hotel was patient and efficient. After a long walk we decided to dine downstairs at "Schuckers" Good choice for us. The fresh seafood was perfect. Yes! we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    853
    346
    97
    32
    18
See reviews for
255
492
69
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We have driven past Seattle many times, but this was our first stay. We loved this hotel. The lobby has been beautifully restored, and the history was fascinating.

- Room: Very clean, comfortable bed. Huge bathroom in our suite (but no shelves under the large sink area, so everything was either on the floor or the counter). Towels were stored over the toilet instead of beside the shower, which was a little odd.
- Service: Excellent everywhere.
- Hotel shops: A little sparse; the clothing shops are not inviting. They seem almost too exclusive.
- Location: A short walk in either direction to get to shopping, restaurants, etc. We didn’t need the car (or even a taxi) once.
- Streets: Very clean in the area we were in.
- Underground tour in Pioneer Square: fascinating!
- Pike Place Market: A leisurely 15-minute walk (but uphill on the way back)
- Restaurants: We tried Shuckers (in the hotel), Metropolitan Grill, and Capital Grill – all three were a little pricey but the food was great. The Capital Grill actually decorated the table for my birthday, provided a card, and a free dessert (on about an hour’s notice).

Our only complaint about the area was that we were in the birthplace of Starbucks, and they all closed by 6 p.m.! We like coffee after dinner, so we thought that was more than a little strange. Many shops in the immediate area were closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisClark, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
CottageVictoria
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very proud of our long standing reputation and appreciate your taking the time to pass along your positive experience. We hope to see you again at the Fairmont soon. Best Regards. Dennis Clark, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We got a great last minute deal on this hotel through Expedia. We went to Seattle to watch a Seahawks game and because it's one of our favourite cities to visit. The Fairmont lived up to it's title - it's an elegant hotel in a great location. The lobby is beautiful, the food was good (try the banana foster creme brulee at the lobby bar and breakfast cost $20 ea), service was prompt and more than helpful. There is a 24 hr concierge who can recommend restaurants and activities for every budget.
I had read reviews before booking and I concur that the rooms are small but they upgraded us for no charge. The decor is very fussy and a little dated but the bathrooms and room amenities were adequate although the room lacked a coffe maker. My only real complaint is that the towels were thin and not soft at all but 2 robes were provided which was a nice touch.
There are three entrances to the hotel each on a different street which is very convenient.
It was only one block from the University Street light rail station which brought us directly from SEA-TAC airport for $2.50.
From the hotel we walked to Qwest Field which was only 10 mins at a brisk pace, Pike Place Market, the waterfront, all shops and malls and took the monorail to the Space Needle.
This hotel makes a great base for exploring downtown Seattle.
P.S. The best Starbucks was the one opposite the hotel - great selection of treats compared with others visited and a good place to pick up a quick bite in the AM.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Booked this hotel based on its close location to Benroya Hall. While the hotel and lobby are beautiful, the rooms leave a lot to be desired for a 4/5 star hotel. Our room was small and the furniture looked outdated. The amenities were fine (soap, shampoo/conditioner etc.) but our bath robes were a mess! One had a giant hole in the arm and the other was frayed at the sleeves. It was also difficult to get a good night's sleep because you could hear so much noise from the street. (old windows) On the positive side, the service at the hotel is outstanding and the lobby lounge is great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

The hotel lobby, swiiming pool and restaurant were great. The rooms on the other hand were only above average, the sleep quality was the same as what i would get at a best western and the fact that you have to pay extra for parking when i had already paid a rediculously high amount for a standard room. The fact that the hotel is located in downtown seattle is a good reason to pay a little more but paying extra for the extravagant interior decorating made the cost of this hotel not worth the price. Slash 40% off of the price and i would probably stay again, downtown seattle isn't Maui or Dubai.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This Fairmont lives up to the name! Situated in an historic building; walking distance from Pikes Place Market, countless great restaurants, shopping, and the Seattle Art Museum, it is in the perfect location for your stay in Seattle. The service is excellent from the valet to the concierge, to reception to all of the staff. Old world charm and elegantly decorated for the holiday season. I love the Fairmont and it will continue to be my hotel of choice wherever I travel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I had not stayed at this property since the change of management from the Four Seasons but the transition was seamless and the service is better than ever. Having been raised in Seattle, I would describe this as the town's version of The Plaza. A place to come for tea in the Atrium or an "event" meal in the Georgian Room. There are certainly newer options in town but this is old school excellence. Great place to stay during the holidays!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#10 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.