We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Best of Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed at Pan Pacific on front end of Alaskan cruise trip and Fairmont at back end; which was a smart choice for a day in Seattle after a week on the sea.

The Fairmont is a superior hotel and situated (downtown) perfectly for a visit to Seattle. Rooms are truly luxurious and the indoor pool complex is top-rate and a perfect way to sit and relax, read, use the oversized whirlpool, or the health club. Lobby is spacious, rooms and hallways are brightly and exquisively decorated, and the hotel has a nice bar, breakfast room, and restaurant.

Bargain rates can be gotten by surfing the various websites. I am a very discriminating traveler and this hotel met my highest expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    426
    117
    38
    23
See reviews for
312
613
83
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We were there for 3 nights during the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was oversold, and we got there late in the afternoon from our drive up. Our reservation was upgraded to a gorgeous 2-bedroom suite. The concierge was super nice, helpful, knowledgeable about restaurants nearby and yoga studios. Great location, walking distance to shopping and Pike Place. Now if only the weather fairy could have made the city 15 degrees warmer and sunnier instead of mostly rainy and grey. It would have been perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I travel constantly for both work and play, so when I say that whenever I travel to Seattle, which is several times each year, I only stay here and have NO desire to try other properties, I am making gigantic statement. It is like coming home after my long flight in from the East Coast. This hotel is perfectly located, has wonderfully-appointed rooms, a grand lobby, terrific food and stunning ambiance for meetings at its restaurant. The staff is helpful, polite, mindful. .This property has all the plush and beauty and detail of a ritz or four seasons, (which I prefer not to display on business expense accounts). Brought my hihg-standard mom along on a recent business trip, and she loved it too. Kudos to the hotel management, they are doing something very very right. In fact, although this property is sold out this week, they took care of me and got me a room. Looking forward to staying there again this week!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Fairmont. The location was perfect and was within walking distance from Pike's Market. The rooms were elegant and well appointed. The toiletries were nice, and a bathrobe was provided. Service was top notch the entire time. The pool and fitness area were spacious and well maintained. I also had great seafood at one of their restaurants, Shuckers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on the way to Alaska. We chose it for its location, history, architecture and relative ultra comfort. The building is attractive, the food and beverage - albeit pricey - good, the rooms clean. Check in was smooth --- polite. But the concierge desk was another thing and it tainted the stay. I requested 20 post card stamps. OK - maybe more than the average person asks for - but it was a small battle with the concierge to sell them to me. She explained she could only sell 5 to me since they were saving them for other guests if they asked. --- And she battled back and forth not offering another option - no hotel in the area would have them, no - the post office would be closed and so on. I continued to explain that I would happily go somewhere to buy them - but no - she could not help. I asked for a gift shop and she said they MIGHT have some a couple of floors down. And indeed they did - a whole bunch of them AND the post office was open the next morning. What was the need to battle about post card stamps when she could have replenished them either fromt he gift shop or from the post office? This is not what I expected at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We really enjoyed the large pool area and dined and played there. Close to lots of attractions and shopping. Nice, clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Bellhops, concierge, maids, valet, gym attendants - all great.

I couldn't be more pleased with my stay at the Fairmont in Seattle on July 2, 2010 weekend. The bed was comfortable; the executive suite was nice, clean and roomy. The amenitites were great. Very state of the art fitness machines, LOVED the pool with the glass class and ceiling. I hung out in the hot tub and the suana. They provided everything I needed to walk out of the gym with a smile.

Concierge was very helpful and recommended some great locations. Alway book through them!

The cookies and milk in our car from the Valet on our way out was a perfect ending to a perfect weekend.

I wouldn't go back to Seattle, but I'll definitely stay with Fairmont again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.