We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Room was great; large, clean, and comfortable. The service was evn better. I had booked through Expedia but had to change dates at the last minute. The hotel gratiouly waved off any change fees and made it hassle free. Staff was friendly without being aggressive or fake. Recommend sign up for the presidents club for free wi-fi. Going to stay at Fairmont hotels whenever possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I'm glad you were able to fix any errors with your online booking with our excellent front desk team. We really appreciate it when guests note that our service is authentic, friendly and polished, but never forced or overly formal. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    425
    117
    38
    23
See reviews for
312
612
83
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This Fairmont was booked for us as part of a package holiday that included a cruise along Alaska's Inside Passage so we had not needed to make the choice. We did, however, choose to extend our time there in Seattle to six nights and I am glad we did. We had, on the tour, stayed at two other hotels in the group but this was the best by far and it is five star.
It is, of course, quite historic and grand and it has been well maintained and cleverly and comfortably upgraded. The welcome by door staff and reception staff was warm and efficient. We were guaranteed an upgrade as part of the tour package but we were delighted to be given a further upgrade as we requested one king rather than two smaller doubles.
The suite was excellent marred only by the bath with shower over. The latter was a very good shower indeed but the bath so shallow that bathing was pointless. I suppose it relates to US bath styles and and old bath at that. However, it would hardly allow even the World War II rule in the UK - and even in Buckingham Palace then - of 4 inches of water.
That apart we enjoyed an excellent large suite that was comfortable and clean and serviced well.
Concierge staff were always most helpful. And it was good to learn from them that the hotel provided a (free) courtesy car to take guests around to destinations and attractions or restaurants in Seattle within a given and not ungenerous radius. We were able to take advantage of this luxury - it was a slightly stretched BMW 7 - several times and we were always driven by helpful and informative drivers. There was always also the offer to collect us later.
One thing to note is that membership of the Fairmont President's Club loyalty programme is free and it offers, inter alia, free wi-fi in the hotel. Otherwise it is a punishing $15.00 PER DAY approximately (incl. tax). (Why do hotels persist in this?)
We did not use the Georgian restaurant though it serves an expensive breakfast and offers fine dining and looks very pleasant but we had two good evening meals in Shuckers, their oyster and seafood bar (see separate report).
The pool is small and shallow. The gym looked like the sort of thing those, who like that sort of thing, like.
This hotel is comfortable and pleasant and historic and has kept its gorgeous period looks. And its staff were all really customer focused.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent a night ahead of a cruise the next morning. I stay here a lot on business as well. Great service. Concierge desk really helped us avoid a long wait at a local restaurant by calling ahead for us. Would definitely stay there again - for business or pleasure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the Fairmont in Seattle. It was crisp and clean with a sophisticated style. Location is great - in the downtown area, blocks away from Pike Market. Easy walk to the Monorail station provides access to the Space Needle and pier area. Excellent staff and business center was a plus. Ample restaurant selection in the area too.

Room Tip: All rooms / sides seemed to have a similar vantage point and were quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer recyclable bins separate from trash bins and the typical re-use towel option. Nice that the soaps / shampoo items were organic.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just left. Appalled doesn't even begin to express our upset. Our room was without hot water all night and this morning. We were instructed to leave the water running for a few minutes to allow it to heat up since the hotel is an old building. What a farce after 30 min still no hot water!
Also our heater did not work!
We used to stay here regularly for weekend holiday but last year they put chocolate with the wrong name in our room while our dog was in the room. She ate it and was very ill. Until last night we have been staying at the FS.
It was a colossal error on our end by not staying at the FS. We will not be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our apologies. I would invite you to connect with our Director of Operations, Guy Bittner at Guy.Bittner@fairmont.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for three nights early May at the start of three week tour and loved every minute, the hotel and staff are delightful in every aspect.

Great location, wonderful rooms and service as you would expect from this World Class Hotel.

Congratulations to management and the team.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was excellent and designed for comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your stay. We will pass along your compliments to our team. We look forwad to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Fairmont Olympic Seattle is a world-class hotel, in quality of service, attention to detail, and value for the price. The service is excellent, the food wonderful and the rooms are so quiet and well-furnished that I enjoyed every night. I have been to other Fairmont hotels, and the Olympic measures up. I was attending a nearby conference and it is close within walking distance, with many amenities along the route on Pike Street.

Room Tip: Rooms even on the mid-floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Amex, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.