We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a relaxed pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Such a relaxed pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for three nights early May at the start of three week tour and loved every minute, the hotel and staff are delightful in every aspect.

Great location, wonderful rooms and service as you would expect from this World Class Hotel.

Congratulations to management and the team.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was excellent and designed for comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your stay. We will pass along your compliments to our team. We look forwad to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    426
    117
    38
    23
See reviews for
312
613
83
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Fairmont Olympic Seattle is a world-class hotel, in quality of service, attention to detail, and value for the price. The service is excellent, the food wonderful and the rooms are so quiet and well-furnished that I enjoyed every night. I have been to other Fairmont hotels, and the Olympic measures up. I was attending a nearby conference and it is close within walking distance, with many amenities along the route on Pike Street.

Room Tip: Rooms even on the mid-floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Fairmont Olympic. I am a big fan of Fairmont Hotels (have stayed at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess, Winnipeg, Lake Louise & Calgary in the last couple months) and they never disappoint. Stayed here in Seattle last fall, and once again, we were impressed during this stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and of course, the hotel is classic and with all required amenities. Great location in downtown Seattle.The hotel has a house car and can assist in getting you to and from downtown locations..so when it started raining and we didn't have our rainjackets with us, they picked us up and lent us an umbrella for the afternoon. We loved the happy hour at their restaurant, Shuckers….1/2 price oysters, salmon sliders and other great options, including drinks. We had come to Seattle to welcome our son home from an Army deployment to Afghanistan. The exact dates we needed to be in Seattle were unknown until the last minute, and it turned out we needed a couple more nights than anticipated. The hotel (and all of Seattle) was totally sold out & we were getting nervous about not having a place to stay, but they worked with us & when a last minute cancellation occurred, they were able to get us two more nights! We were so grateful and our son was so happy to have a wonderful place to stay! So now we are an even bigger fan of Fairmont Hotels and the Fairmont Olympic Hotel. Many thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you like classic properties with lots of history and large rooms look no further. Fairmont quality service compliments this grand, 90 year old property in the central business district of Seattle. Nothing modern or contemporary, although bathrooms are updated and electric plugs for your devices are plentiful. If slick and modern are your thing, skip this property. But if you like a traditionally furnished historic property this will satisfy you in most every way. Note that Seattle is very hilly and it can be a serious hike up to the hotel from the water front.

Room Tip: Many rooms are actually suites, see about an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a place where they call you by your last name ("this is the front desk may I help you Mr. Smith"?) throughout the property. Valets jump to open the door for you, concierge desk was very helpful. It's close to many interesting points so walking is easy. Room has high ceilings and was well appointed. Price was high, but fair. Valet parking (the only option) was pricey at $42 per night. I think that is unreasonable. Add for a tip each time the car is brought around you can easily spend $100+ for parking over a weekend stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here before boarding the WESTERDAM to Alaska. Very opulent. I had never been to Seattle, and It was an EXCELLENT place for a first visit. The service and restaurants are excellent. The rooms quiet and very well appointed. Pricy, but this is a 5 star. A nice touch: No 'housekeeping' carts in the halls. The lobby areas are a throwback to design and style that has gone-by. They "don't build things like this" anymore.

Room Tip: Rooms with TWO beds are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friends and I stayed in this beautiful hotel for our annual "moms weekend away." The hotel is elegant, offers excellent amenities for a variety of interests. We enjoyed happy hour in the bar area downstairs, which offered a great selection of wine, mixed drinks and appetizers. We liked the sliders especially. We did not eat at the hotel too much, preferring to walk to area restaurants to experience the city. The hotel was in easy walking distance to almost everything we wanted to see - the waterfront, Pike Place Market, Seattle underground, shopping and many, many restaurants. The one exception was the Space Needle, for that we walked to the monorail.

The staff was friendly, helpful and excellent in all respects. Housekeeping cleaned our rooms to perfection (for moms "away" for the weekend, this was the greatest treat of all - coming back to a spotless room!). Some in our group thought that the coffee served downstairs was not up to par (especially for Seattle), but those who used the in-room machines had no complaints. Some in our group commented that the lotion, shampoo and body wash products provided had an unpleasant smell, others were not bothered by them at all.

The hotel itself is beautiful. A historic landmark, the building is a sightseeing destination all on its own. I have already mentioned the excellent staff, but details throughout the hotel make this an outstanding place to stay. The beds are comfortable, the linens soft and luxurious. The robe and slippers are just right, and the hairdryers are full size. I know these sound like small things, but together they make the experience of this hotel "excellent."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.