We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HISTORIC LUXURY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“HISTORIC LUXURY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here before boarding the WESTERDAM to Alaska. Very opulent. I had never been to Seattle, and It was an EXCELLENT place for a first visit. The service and restaurants are excellent. The rooms quiet and very well appointed. Pricy, but this is a 5 star. A nice touch: No 'housekeeping' carts in the halls. The lobby areas are a throwback to design and style that has gone-by. They "don't build things like this" anymore.

Room Tip: Rooms with TWO beds are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    395
    110
    36
    22
See reviews for
293
577
77
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friends and I stayed in this beautiful hotel for our annual "moms weekend away." The hotel is elegant, offers excellent amenities for a variety of interests. We enjoyed happy hour in the bar area downstairs, which offered a great selection of wine, mixed drinks and appetizers. We liked the sliders especially. We did not eat at the hotel too much, preferring to walk to area restaurants to experience the city. The hotel was in easy walking distance to almost everything we wanted to see - the waterfront, Pike Place Market, Seattle underground, shopping and many, many restaurants. The one exception was the Space Needle, for that we walked to the monorail.

The staff was friendly, helpful and excellent in all respects. Housekeeping cleaned our rooms to perfection (for moms "away" for the weekend, this was the greatest treat of all - coming back to a spotless room!). Some in our group thought that the coffee served downstairs was not up to par (especially for Seattle), but those who used the in-room machines had no complaints. Some in our group commented that the lotion, shampoo and body wash products provided had an unpleasant smell, others were not bothered by them at all.

The hotel itself is beautiful. A historic landmark, the building is a sightseeing destination all on its own. I have already mentioned the excellent staff, but details throughout the hotel make this an outstanding place to stay. The beds are comfortable, the linens soft and luxurious. The robe and slippers are just right, and the hairdryers are full size. I know these sound like small things, but together they make the experience of this hotel "excellent."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Really nice hotel. It was built in 1924 and has some beautiful old features such as the beautiful high ceilings in the main dining room and reception area. Our room was large and very comfortable with original old wood sliding windows.
The only thing that displeased me was the charge of $13.95 a day for wifi. I don't know why hotels will be deluxe in every other aspect but cheap out with wifi for guests.
If you join the Fairmont Presidents Club then they waive the fee. This was easy to do and free and only cost me a few minutes on the phone. Highly recommend this as you can also get free room upgrades as a member.
Nice pool and gym too.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: The suites are not a lot more money and worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write about your stay-- and YES it is worth the 2 minutes online to join Fairmont President's Club for free internet access. Nice to hear your comments about the health club-- we just completed a renovation with ADA access for the pool and jacuzzi, installed all new cardio equipment and did a complete refresh inside the locker rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family of 5 eagerly made arrangements to stay at this historic hotel for our visit to downtown Seattle.. the valet parking staff was very friendly and efficient despite being extremely busy. it was truly a pleasure walking into the beautiful classic decor.

The desk staff were very friendly and efficient; although we were unaware of it, reservations were changed from handicap accessible rooms to not. Since three of our party needed the accessible amenities this change was a problem. A change did not appear possible due to heavy booking for an event weekend. Our suite for 3 was clean and comfortable but the special sleeping arrangements for 1 was not accommodated, there were no grab bars, the toilet was very very low, the bathroom needed caulking around the floor, the faucet had a constant drip, the shower faucets were hard to turn on and regulate, the other room had a dirty shower covered in long black hairs. -So, basically we found the rooms and the telephones to be outdated, worn and certainly not what we expected in a four star hotel.

The wait staff for both dinner and breakfast were friendly, efficient and accommodating to our special needs. Curiously despite 1 in a wheelchair, 2 requiring walking canes-we were required to walk up the many steps to get into the breakfast room ( a staff member did carry the wheel chair) while when we were ready to leave the staff readily took him / wheelchair through another back entrance.
We were centrally located and close to our destinations, but we would select another hotel for our future trips

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the fairmomt for 3 days and it was a great experience. The hotel is beautiful and classic. The staff was genuinely nice and kind. The location is right downtown making it convenient to the tourist attractions. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent service from door men front desk and concierge
Excellent location
Made to feel welcome and special
Bed and amenities excellent
Room was shabby but clean, needs to be updated
Also would recommend safety bars in bathtub to help get in and out
Would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and will not hesitate to stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with safety bars in bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our family, six adults, recently stayed at the Fairmont for two days while touring Seattle; it is a very classy hotel with first class service and amenities. From the moment you approach the hotel with its beautiful garden entry, and enter the lobby and see the high ceilings and beautiful wood carved decor, you know you are in a luxury hotel; it has a majestic appearance. Our rooms were tastefully decorated, spacious and the staff more than accommodating to our every need. The hotel is centrally located and close to all attractions, we could not ask for a better setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.