We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in so many ways!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grafton, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding in so many ways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Olympic on our first night in Seattle and were so pleased with our experience we chose to book our last night there as well! Our room was clean and comfortable and we appreciated the wonderful cotton robes to relax in. The bathroom was beautiful with marble tile and nice bathmats and luscious soaps and shampoos. The whole hotel has an old world vibe and is very elegant and decorative. The staff we dealt with at the front desk were friendly and helpful, making us feel right at home. Realizing we were exhausted from a week of exploring all over the Seattle area, we were set up with a late checkout at their suggestion which was so appreciated! We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Seattle. We could walk to great restaurants and Pike Place Market which was fabulous. We could easily take the monorail to the Space Needle. As another reviewer mentions, classy high end hotel with a wonderful welcoming staff that made us feel very welcome. We would stay again and will try out other Fairmont Hotels as we travel in the future!

Room Tip: We had a wonderful corner room with lots of light yet nice and dark when we drew the curtains to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased you chose to stay with us during your first trip to Seattle and that it was a memorable one for you! I'm gratified to hear that our staff anticipated your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    872
    358
    99
    32
    21
See reviews for
262
507
69
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the past few years (most recently last weekend) for overnights in Seattle, and always have a superb experience. The king-size bed is like sleeping on (or in) a cloud; the staff are always friendly and helpful, not snooty (as is sometimes the case at higher-end hotels). Best of all, we can travel with our dog (they welcome dogs up to 40 lbs.). The Fairmont costs more than other hotels, but in this case, it is definitely worth it,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your stay. Not many people realize we do allow furry friends (cats and dogs) up to 40 lbs..as well as offer room service for your pampered pooch or kitty. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've stayed in many Fairmonts from New Brunswick, Canada to LA, California and although they do have a very standardized atmosphere and a great many similarities they also retain a sense of individuality unique to the city that they are situated in. This particular Fairmont was centrally located - within a few minutes walk to Pike's Place (Farmer's Market), the Monorail (and thereby the Space Needle), the magnificant modern library, the shopping district, and other downtown easily accessable venues. The staff was pleasent, helpful, and attentive. The food was well prepared, and tasty. The overall lasting take away image is of was of a job well done. Thank you Fairmont, Seattle for a pleasent weekend stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna,BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here in June 2012, sorry it's late! I'm staying again in a couple of weeks and wanted to write this one as I'll write another after my next stay. All I can do is echo most of the other reviews here and say that this hotel is amazing. I usually prefer modern looking hotels but this place does old world charm so well you can't help but love it. Having a drink and happy hour appies in the lobby bar was one of our Seattle highlights, you must try the sliders with truffle bacon mayo, wow! My one negative is that the bathrooms are a little dated and o the small side, but in an older hotel you have to kind of expect that. All the staff are exceptional and go out of their way to say hello, and with a genuine smile. The concierge/helpdesk guys and girls were so great at helping us Seattle newies out with directions and recommendations.
I can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Olympic hotel in Seattle has always reminded me of the Waldorph in NY though a smaller version. Doorman greets you at the covered lobby entrance on University Street. Great lobby, elegant, large, comfortable. There are bars, restaurants, shops off of it and/or an escalator ride down one floor. I've eaten at two of the hotel's restaurants and they are a solid option. But in Seattle there are so many unique and wonderful restaurants unless the weather is bad I prefer to take advantage of being there. My wife joined me on this last business trip. We stayed in a mini suite which was very comfortable. There's a safe in the room. Desk with the e connections you'd expect and the hotel has free wifi throughout. (I note that other reviewers apparently had to pay for wifi. Perhaps because I've stayed there a number of times ours was free) Excellent and well equipped fitness center which includes an indoor pool. There are men’s’ and women’s shower change areas complete with lockers and all the amenities. I wanted to work out after the check out. No problem. I had full use of the facilities and my car was waiting for me when I headed out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They arranged restaurant reservations at various locations around the city. The Olympic is located in the financial district of Seattle and is walking distance to Pike’s Place Market, the ferries, Nordstrom’s , plus many top restaurants. The only knock is that the hotel could use some updating in places. Not bad but not at its prime. Interestingly I would say the same thing about the Waldorph.

Room Tip: The rooms are the same and quiet throughout the hotel. It's possible to get a deal on the mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay. I thought it would be helpful to note the hotel has been implementing a few important improvement projects-- 1) The health club-- which should be finished in early May. Includes refreshed locker room areas, new carpeting in the main workout room and all new equipment 2) The Georgian Restaurant was recently refreshed with new carpeting and paint, and updated seating. 3) Our Assembly Row meeting space has been completed remodeled and 4) guest rooms are awaiting a soft goods re fresh! As a historic property, we are very sensitive about maintaining the character of the hotel while still offering our guests every luxury and convenience. We hope to welcome you back to Seattle again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for the easter weekend. The hotel is gorgeous and in a great location. An "old" world feel with class. Staff was superberb and couldn´t do enough for us. We will definetly stay here again if in Seattle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland,oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here twice, for one night each time in the span of one week so I'll combine my reviews. On both occasions I was upgraded to an executive suite and I enjoyed it both times. The suites have separate bedrooms and there is a small couch, an easy chair and a desk. For me the best features of the suite were the windows that opened (hard to find these days) and even better, a separate container for recycling. It's extremely rare to find this feature and I appreciated it.
We took advantage of the Terrace Lounge, room service and the Georgian Restaurant. All were very nice. The Terrace was very casual and had upscale bar food. (we had a late lunch there) The Georgian is a high class, expensive restaurant with great attention to detail (I was given a black napkin to go with my black pants!) and perfectly prepared food. (my wife said her omelette was the best she ever had!) Room service was on time, efficient and well prepared.
Finally, although I didn't have a car, I enquired and found out self parking is approximately $34, valet parking is about $10 more and to connect to the internet is about $15 but you can apply to the Presidents Club which offers free internet and once it's processed, the charge is refunded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#10 Green Hotel in Seattle
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.