We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Was a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Purchased the trip on a competitor's site but proved to be a very nice experience overall.. When I arrived they offered a nice upgrade for a very small nominal fee.. I told myself, "what could it hurt"? I was so glad I did.. The view wasn't the best, but the suite itself was outstanding..

From the concierge to the turn down service and all involved.. They really extended themselves to make me feel welcomed and at home.. I highly recommend this hotel and will be frequenting it every time I stay in Seattle..

What really impressed me about my stay was the fact that after my Saturday dinner I was making my way up to my suite and noticed some evening attire being worn by some co-riders on the elevator.. Later found out there was a huge wedding taking place in the hotel.. I would have never guessed it.. That to me, is the sign of a quality staff.. Not letting the chaos of a wedding spill over to the rest of the hotel guest and causing an imposition...

To the Management of the Fairmont, Kudos to your staff for making my stay a pleasant one indeed..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. That is wonderful to hear that your stay was pleasant. It is indeed a testament to our staff and I'll share your compliments with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    928
    377
    109
    35
    21
See reviews for
283
548
74
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fairmomt. An easy walk to all the sites, a great bar across the road and the hotel really feels special. Would recommend it. We also upgraded, which wasn't much more but very worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nicely appointed room. We paid a small amount for an upgrade and it was worth it. We moved into a charming spacious suite with lovely decor including french doors that divided the sitting room from the bedroom. Amenities we especially enjoyed were; slippers, robes, great bathroom 'condiments', Keurig coffee system, great selection of teas. We had a dripping faucet and when I mentioned it at the front desk it was rectified by the time we returned to the room. We loved the volume and water pressure of the shower.
We wanted information, tickets and reservations, and the concierge, William, was really helpful and clearly loved his job. Another concierge, a woman, not so much...but all the other staff were 110%. Ask for William.
We were lucky and stayed when the hotel had their Christmas tree display which was stunning. Great inhouse pub, which I already reviewed.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being close to the elevator. We were located right next to it and didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sabine, Thank you for taking time to write to us about your stay. We will pass along your compliments to William, who truly loves his job and sharing his knowledge of Seattle. We are also pleased to hear that your request was promptly attended to. We hope you come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My buddies and I did a weekend trip to Seattle to watch NFL and the Seattle Seahawks. The Fairmont Hotel in downtown Seattle was our choice to stay for the weekend. The main reason was that I received a discounted price as I am a Fairmont's President Club Member. Having said that the value I received was far in excess of even the regular room rate. The service was attentive and the staff was friendly.

The rooms are exquisite decorated.

Only two issues were noted. One was minor but the other was not so minor.

The first one was the room I stayed in had an issue with the room safe. The locking bolt was extended out and the safe was not reset and therefore I could not lock my valuables in the safe. I called for service and a hotel engineer came to my room in a reasonable time and attended to the issue and apologize for the inconvenience.

The second issue was my buddy complained (albeit to me and not to the hotel) that he noticed that there was slight blood stains on the bed sheets. He noticed the stains the morning after the stay. However as mentioned he did not report it to the hotel.

Based on my past experiences staying at Fairmont operated hotels, had he reported it to the hotel staff, it would have been attended to promptly.

I enjoyed staying at the hotel and would do so again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Brought my wife here for an overnight staycation. We love Seattle around the holidays - the streets and stores all lit up - and the hotel lobby was a beautiful compliment to the town. There was a gorgeous tree in the lobby, and many well-dressed families were posing for pictures in front of it before heading out for their evenings on the town. We booked a suite, and we had plenty of room for our needs, including room service breakfast in the morning. When we stopped in for drinks at the end of the night, the bartender was a little short with us, but that was probably because he was mixing drinks at a rate of approximately a million a minute. The maple old fashioned was worth it, though...

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stereotypical English like hotel set close to a major shopping area but a 5 minute walk to waterfront. Generously sized rooms full of the mod cons ypu would expect and polite and efficient staff. As a base to explore Seattle this is ideally located. Not spectacular but very nice nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a grand old historic hotel which makes you just feel rich staying there. When we went in November the Christmas tree was already up which added to charm. There was a mixup with the room and they upgraded us which certainly helped with our impression. The concierge got us into the restaurant when i couldn't. We loved the location close to shopping, Pike Market, Purple for great wine and food across the street and the Red Room for music closeby. The only downside was the old small bathtub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#10 Green Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.