We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice City Hotel in DownTown Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice City Hotel in DownTown Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is located on the centre of Seattle, walking distance from restaurants, coffee shops and shopping areas.

The lobby hall is very elegant, during my stay was very nice decorated for Christmas, with many different styles of Christmas tree.

The room was with a confortable bed, was spacious, very clean with all the amenities need it; The bathroom is a good size and clean as well.

Staff Service was good, checkin and checkout was very easy, specially if you are part of Fairmont President's Club, which is free to join it. If you do an online checkin before you get there, they will send you an email to let you know when your room is ready; My room was ready at 10 am. You can get your room key with the concierge and get free internet access.

If you are driving and need parking there are 2 options, valet parking or self parking, which is located on the next block and cost $35 dollars per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    391
    109
    35
    22
See reviews for
292
570
75
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here actually about 2 years ago but never reviewed it.

I was with my parents shopping in Seattle and decided the stayed the night. I surprise them booking the Fairmont instead of the holiday inn. First impression as you walk into the lobby is "GRAND". The reception is very well appointed with classic Victorian style features. Although not everyone likes it that way, it was great for me. I used my Fairmont Premier membership to get an upgrade to a suite instead of a basic room. Yes i do admit the hotel is old, but everything inside and out is clean and the staff are nice and professional. I did notice there wasn't a coffee make in the room. One quick call to the front desk took care of it right away.

My favorite part of the property is definitely the pool and gym. I felt like i was in an very expensive spa. i went there three times on a one night stay. In the morning i was sitting at the hot tub. A staff members brough a great cup of coffee and newspaper while im in the hot tub. That's great service.

Like i said, the classic Victorian style is not for everyboby and this is an expensive hotel to stay in. Parking will set you back $30/night unless you have a package that includes parking.

In conclusion, this hotel is very worthy of being one of the few 5 AAA diamonds rated hotels in the region.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Fairmont in Seattle to attend the King Tut exhibit. In many previous visits I've stayed often at the Grand Hyatt, but decided to try the Fairmont. It was more expensive than the Hyatt, and unfortunately not worth the extra money. The bathrooms at the Hyatt are larger and much better appointed. Otherwise the rooms are comparable. Breakfast in the room did arrive hot and was slightly better quality food than the Hyatt, though they forgot a couple of items on our order.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here on Thanksgiving so that we could get up and watch the parade the next day. The location was perfect! You just walk outside and the parade is right there. The hotel is beautiful all decked out for Christmas with trees everywhere. Our room had two double beds and they had no problem bringing up an extra rollaway for my cousin who ended up staying with us. The rollaway was really big and comfy too. We had dinner at home but walked arounf the lobby and saw that they had a very nice Thanksgiving buffet going on. We also sat in the lounge for a drink and enjoyed the live piano music. Our server was just wonderful and brought us special treats. I feel bad I can't remember her name cuz I'd love to give her a shoutout.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. The hotel is a magical place during the holidays--from the 25' Christmas tree to our Teddy Bear Suite. We are glad you were able to enjoy the live music and ambience in the lobby and be in the center of the fun for the holiday parade! We hope you'll make this a holiday tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont Olympic in downtown Seattle over Thanksgiving. The hotel is very old, and very nice. Kid friendly and within an easy walk of all things you would want to see in the downtown area. Shuckers restaurant is on property, and is a must do for any visit to the city. We had Thanksgiving dinner in the Georgian room of the hotel, and although pricey at $110 a plate, it was fabulous, to say the least. I do recommend this property. Great service and amenities.

Also, there is a heated pool, so make sure you have kids bring their swim wear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday with us. This was our first year offering a special holiday menu inside Shuckers...and we are glad to hear you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w0rldtraveler007
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

With every visit to the Fairmont Olympic Seattle I'm more impressed with the quality of the hotel and the friendly staff. Upon entering the hotel you can expect friendly, unpretentious greetings, classy decor, and comfortable surroundings. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, the hotel has something to offer everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Always a pleasure at a Fairmont property, service was top notch. We were there for a long weekend and to attend a Seahawks game. Location was great!! We walked to Pike Place Market, shopping & cool restaurants nearby. There was a nice little bar in the hotel for a nightcap, and we ordered room service for breakfast one day which was great - tasty & fast but pricey. It is not a "hip" hotel like the Hyatt is but more a classy and comfy vibe. We were upgraded to a suite with a comfortable sitting area, the furniture was a little like Grandma's living room...and the room smelled slightly musty when we first walked in. Overall it was really very nice, the doorman were very polite, friendly and helpful. It was a great spot for us to be at for the weekend, Seattle is a great city and the Fairmont Olympic a great place to sty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Family Hotel in Seattle
#11 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.