We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Affair With Fairmont is Over” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love Affair With Fairmont is Over”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As much as I hate to say it my long time love affair with The Fairmont Olympic is over. I've really loved this beautiful historic hotel since the first time I stayed here, but after my last trip, we are breaking up. I had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street. It was so noisy it was unbearable. I went to the front desk in the morning and left a hand written note personally addressed to the guest relations manager. I left a business card and a cell phone number where I could be contacted. No one bothered to contact me. For my next trip, I'll choose a hotel with more concern for guest satisfaction.

I will say breakfast at the Georgian was delicious and the pool/spa are was fantastic (especially Dennise).

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear FromAlaska,
Thank you for taking time to write to us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the service-- something we take great pride in. We did want to note that we are in the process of replacing all of our guest room windows-- the source of the majority of the street noise. As part of our effort to save energy and operate an eco frienly hotel, we are in the process of replacing our guest room windows with insulated triple panes. Please feel free to email me about your other concerns- kristin.gladfelter@fairmont.com and I will ensure that they are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    450
    121
    41
    24
See reviews for
329
649
87
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Faimont in Seattle. I reaaly liked the stuff and the way they treated me. The restaurant was very good, everybody was very helpfull. The frontdesk desk was fast and effcient and the hostess Donna at the Georgian was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've stayed here now on quite a number of occasions so am now in a position to give a detailed review. First the bad news. The front check in staff while polite and businesslike are much too cool to be truly welcoming. They always seem to spend more time verifying my identity than welcoming me to the hotel or trying to ensure my needs were met. During my last recent visit, they didn't explain the details/exceptions/features of my special package deal which let to problems later with the bill when there was confusion over a food and beverage charge. I'm a Premier Member of the Fairmont President's Club but not once has this ever been acknowledged by the front desk despite multiple stays here. No upgrades have ever been offered either. No effort is made to ask if I have a preference for a particular floor or room type. This has been a consistent pattern no matter who the front desk clerk is. Let's just say that when the US Homeland Security Border Guard at the Canadian/US border gave me a warmer welcome during my last trip down to the Seattle, you need to work on your approach to customers. Maybe the infamous "Seattle Freeze" permeates through the walls of the Olympic into the elegant lobby?

Fortunately, the chilly front desk is always countered by the excellent, superb housekeeping staff here. Consistently, during multiple visits they ensure the rooms are cleaned to the highest standards and their turn down service is excellent. The maid came around with complimentary water, drew the drapes and asked if she could do anything to make my stay better. The cleaning staff is also very warm and friendly. They seem mainly to be Hispanic and Asian-American immigrants and always are very friendly and efficient. This Fairmont gets top marks for housekeeping compared even to other Fairmonts which are usually pretty good. Great work!

The room service waiters are also extremely polite, warm and efficient as well. The food quality was excellent.

Lunch at Shuckers was also very good and consistently so. The Georgian Room is a lovely dining room although the breakfast was good but not amazing.

The rooms are usually quite spacious but vary considerably in terms of lay out and style. It would be nice for a better explanation in terms of the room layout at booking or at check-in. Even within room categories, it seems the lay outs vary quite considerably and the photos on the website reservation area don't show all of the lay outs. The elegant lobby is grand and the bar there has very good drinks. The fitness room is great.

The bill was problematic. The 20% special discount for my package was not applied to room service but this wasn't explained at check-in. When I pointed that out to the front desk clerk upon check out, I was told that the discount doesn't apply to room service but this exception was never explained and the Georgian Room was shut down the evening so I ordered the room service. Again, no effort was made to inquire about that or apologize when I brought that up. Instead, the clerk went on the defensive.

Later that day after I returned home, I brought this problem up with the front desk manager by phone and he politely reversed the charge and apologized.

All in all, excellent except for the "vibe" of the front desk. I should also say that if the manager hadn't dealt with the bill issue correctly, the "five star" rating would have been lost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to say that your experience with the front desk was less than satisfactory. May I ask that you contact me offline to ensure that we have your Fairmont President's Club profile up to date to ensure our information is up to date and accurate. My email is kristin.gladfelter@fairmont.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great Hotel! I travel a lot and it takes a bit to impress me. The hotel could do with a few upgrades in decor however everything was super clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is very centrally located to all tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping. I hired a car while visiting and it's really easy to access the freeway from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everything was perfect. Very good service, everyone was more than helpful. We had a large, beautiful room. The breakfast was the best we ever had, everything was fresh and of best quality. The training room and swimmingpool had everything we needed and were very luxerious. I know were to stay the next time I go back to Seattle. The hotel is situated in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great hotel. My husband and I arrived a few days before his scheduled conference. The staff was very accomodating by allowing us to stay in the same room the entire time. The room are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Located just a short walk from Pikes Market Place, and very close to excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got a great rate by enrolling for free in the Fairmont President's Club. Our room was nicely appointed and quiet, with a super comfy queen bed attached to a cozy living room, separated by French doors. The living area and bedroom both had large flat-screen TVs. We loved the free slippers to go with the robes, the phone in the large mostly marble bathroom, and the complimentary extras we requested: CD/radio, ice bucket, and personal pillow choices, all waiting in our room upon arrival. A lovely surprise was the complimentary FRESH STRAWBERRIES DIPPED IN CHOCOLATE from the manager for our anniversary!

We took advantage of the free shoe polishing service, enjoyed the great little pool, and were impressed by the quality of the serving pieces, such as the heavy silver teapot, flatware & salt shakers. The holiday decorations were beyond fabulous. The room service was prompt and delicious. The overall attention to detail was superb. We hope to make this an annual tradition. Next month, we'll try the spa and restaurants in the hotel, and go to the famous 5th Ave Theater just around the corner.

If you're looking for a great view, this is not the place, but for traditional excellence, you'll be very satisfied. One caveat: there were no subtitles available on the paid in-room movies for those who are hearing-impaired.

Room Tip: Enroll in the President's Club to get emails with great rates specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.