We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming stay at a luxury hotel chain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Underwhelming stay at a luxury hotel chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When you enter you can feel the old charm of this hotel. However, that is all it was "old." Even some moderate updating would make this place a whole lot nicer! We did enjoy the location. I am glad I got a nice deal on the hotel because I don't think I would stay again. There are just too many luxury selections to choose from and the Fairmont will need to improve if they want to remain competitive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We are proud to be a historic property and take great pride in being a caretaker of one of Seattle's landmarks. We are pleased to note that we are in the process of updating all of our meeting rooms & space, our fine dining restaurant interior as well as improvements to our guest rooms (energy efficent window replacement). The changes may not be visible to all of our guests, but we are being diligent about continous improvements and we do hope you'll consider us again the next time you visit Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    853
    346
    97
    32
    18
See reviews for
255
492
69
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
schroe59
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Fairmont Olympic Seattle's location is fantastic. It is very central and is walking distance to Pike's Place, the waterfront, and lots of other downtown Seattle attractions. The hotel lobby is gorgeous. We had dinner at the Georgian Room in the hotel and it was fantastic- a great choice for a high-end meal. The concierge was very helpful. She helped us find restaurants both in Seattle and out in Woodinville where we were going wine tasting. At one of the meals at Rover's (also a terrific restaurant), champagne was sent over from the Fairmont concierge. What a nice touch! There's a gym in the hotel that does the trick to fit in a quick workout. The rooms were a bit old fashioned for my taste and the bathrooms could use a remodel, but it is still a lovely hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked 3 nights through American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts. Fabulous deal of pay for two nights, get the third night free, with breakfast and $100 food and beverage credit. Wow, what a deal.

Reserved a Fairmont King which is the least expensive room. At check in, we were double upgraded to an Executive King Suite. A Deluxe King would have been a single upgrade.

Chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us in the room.

The room was old and tired, but this does not detract from the elegance. Of course the 2 TVs and bed were new.

Breakfast each morning was fantastic. Ordered different items each day and all were great.

Had small bites on night in the lobby. Very elegant, piano player, perfect.

Shuckers Restaurant is also great. Many kinds of fresh oysters. The Seafood Cobb salad was unbelievable. Sit at the bar for the parmesan crisps, they don't serve them at tables.

Look in the corridor outside Shuckers. There is an entire wall of original newspaper clippings from when the hotel opened in the 1920's. Definitely worth spending some time here.

Swimming pool and outdoor patio area are beautiful.

A house BMW 7 series will take you anywhere you want within the city at no charge.

All hotel employees were happy and helpful and made you feel like a valued guest.

Enjoy yourself, it doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pre cruise hotel. Very classic 'old money' hotel. The rooms were quite big. It was beautifully decorated country style with all the little necessities require to make one's stay comfortable. Great little coffee machine in room. King bed was very comfortable to sleep in. Everything was great except the bathroom could be a bit bigger esp when catering for 2.

Room Tip: Request for a high floor as some of the lower ones looks onto a wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

While you pay more for The Fairmont, the service and treatment make it well worth your money. We arrived earlier than your normal check-in and the front desk (Natalie) was able to accomodate us with a clean room. If you're into new age rooms, The Fairmont collection is not for you. I will continue to return to the The Fairmont for their great service, timeless rooms, and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Staying at The Fairmont Olympic is always a special event... at least they always make it feel that way. From the valet to the check in I feel I am receiving special treatment. The staff is always attentive, professional, and very accomodating.
The hotel decor is traditional but not stuffy. The rooms are spacious, relaxing and have a special charm.
I always order room service during my stay, not only because the food is good but because it adds to the whole experience of the stay.
The Fairmont Olympic is great for out of towners because of its location, service and classic charm BUT it is also great if you live in the Seattle area for a romantic get-away, a family weekend "downtown" or just a relaxing stay-cation.
Can't wait to go back. (The HOLIDAY season is always a GREAT time !!)

Room Tip: The suites are always the best. Two rooms seperated by French Doors. One great for sleeping, the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We love to hear that our service and the hotel made your trip to Seattle a pleasant and memorable one. We are very excited to kick off the holiday season, which is indeed the most festive time of the year at the hotel. Our tree lighting ceremony and the opening of our famed "Teddy Bear Suite" is set for November 18. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The lobby, although elegant, is starting to show its age. When we drove up we were met by the Doorman who took care of everything for us. He even had our keys waiting for us. While we were waiting for our luggage Tammy, the Trainee at Reception, answered our questions. . . We were looking for a recommendation for a pub in the neighbourhood that had a certain beer on tap. Not only did Tammy hit the nail on the head she even called to enquire if they had it, their hours, etc, and phoned up with that information for us. All other service was around the same level, but Tammy did stand out in our minds. As for the room itself, it wasn't extraordinary, but the price was. I guess you're paying for the location and, especially, for the service. We were a little disheartened to find a hair (long and straight at least) in the bathroom when we arrived, and after coming back from the pub later that evening there was a strong smell of marijuana wafting through the halls, but that was probably more a function of the wedding taking place downstairs. Oh, and we ordered tea from Room Service the second night, which showed up late and with neither the requested lemon nor honey, but they did take it off our bill, so it's hard to be bent out of shape about that! All in all I would stay here again, as despite those minor nits I've picked above, I've always been satisfied with the Fairmont brand and this hotel delivered to my expectations on everything, and exceeded them where it matters most - customer service!

Room Tip: Rooms and suites on higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#10 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.