We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Downtown Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great hotel, staff was fantastic. Easy walking distance to many attactions. The room and ammenities were outstanding. Would certainly recommend and will stay again on our next visit to Seattle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Space Needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    470
    126
    45
    24
See reviews for
344
671
89
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Fairmont Olympic is a very beautiful and historical hotel which is in a great location in the downtown district of Seattle. We stayed two nights prior to taking a cruise. When we arrived, the valet had our room keys. We didn't even have to check in. The Georgian room was very good for breakfast and dinner. It was a very easy walk to Pike's market and the shopping district. There is a Benihana right across the street, and many other restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Fairmont Olympic is the most beautiful hotel I have ever visited. I would compare to the Waldorf Astoria in NYC, but the room at the Fairmont was probably more updated. We only stayed one night before a cruise. The location was an easy walk to the waterfront and Pike Market, some is down/up hill. The hotel restaurant, Shuckers, was very good, but pricey. Service was exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Excellently located in dowtown this hotel is very neat and tidy, has efficient staff and spotless rooms but you can't help thinking this elegant hotel is getting stuck in the 20th Century and will soon become dated. In the lobby you feel compelled to whisper as if in a great European cathedral, and the onsite shops are not at all inviting. There is a pleasant gym and pool and very helpful concierge but as in so many hotels I was disappointed to have to pay for wireless Internet. I don't get charged for soap or coffee, why this other essential of an hotel stay?

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. James, Canada
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I loved the feel of this historic hotel. The rooms were quiet, clean and well appointed. We got upgraded to a king suite free of charge. The room was $162 per night! I would say that's unheard of in the heart of downtown Seattle. Walking distance to a lot of the landmarks.

The bed was really comfortable. A separate seating area, large flat screen tv and separate desk/ vanity area and mini bar station with Keurig coffe brewer. Snacks, water and a large liquor variety in the minibar. The bathroom was large. No fan but a hot shower did not overwhelm the whole bathroom with steam either. There is a bathtub and single vanity, although the counter space was large. Air conditioning was good as we stayed for two hot days.

We did not eat at the hotel but had drinks in the lobby bar and they were fantastic. The live piano player made the lobby experience very nice.

Pay self parking is $35 per day. Valet is just over $40. Lower level off of the University entrance has shops, an atelier and watch store.

Will definitely return. This hotel was laid back and not stuffy like some others in the area, the "W" for example.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy my stay at the Olympic Fairmont hotel. The staff was very friendly, helpful and explained everything about the hotel to me upon arrival.

I didn't end up using any of the hotel facilities apart from what was in my room but everything look very nice including the two restaurants, piano bar and boutiques. I am looking forward to dining in those restaurants next time.

My room (Executive Suite) was very clean and well kept and have all the facilities I could possible need including two flat screen TV. Coffee maker, iron and iron board, toiletry products. Separate living area from bed-room area.

The only thing I could mention that Wi-Fi was not included.

I would highly recommend The Fairmont Olympic Hotel to anyone planning to stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and hope you will try our restaurants on your next visit. Also, please consider joining our complimentary Presidents Club. Among the many benefits is free internet usage at any Fairmont hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Me and family are staying here for a conference. When we arrived our room was NOT ready. We came back later and it still was NOT ready. When the manager came to talk to us he basically kept apolgizing and not taking a step into action. When we got to our room it did not meet up to suite standards. It only had ONE bathroom. ONE bed and a pull out couch bed. The service was okay.. They were nice but kept forgetting things. I had to ask for hot chocalte THREE times before i got it. The Fairmont looks nice and elegant but it sure does need a upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Amex and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.