We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a SUPERB property - with wonderful, attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Olympic Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room & Dining!
Ranked #14 of 93 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“This is a SUPERB property - with wonderful, attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had the great pleasure of staying at this property last weekend. It is a beautiful heritage hotel in a great location downtown. We were upgraded to a suite (because I am a frequent guest at Fairmont properties). It was absolutely lovely and perfect for two couples. The staff were charming and incredibly helpful. Not at all fussy - just kind and welcoming. They gave us great info on things to do (including the Seattle Art Museum which has a great show on at the moment) . Great recommendations on meals as well. There were a couple of errors on the bill which they apologized for profusely and fixed immediately. I would HIGHLY recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    767
    319
    89
    32
    18
See reviews for
231
444
66
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights before flying out of SeaTac on vacation. We ended up with a corner room with classy decorations and a ton of space (i would estimate 400sq ft. in these rooms although they are not technically an upgrade). The check-in process was smooth and efficient. As well, they were later quite helpful in getting my boarding passes printed. The lobby is very spacious and classy and had wonderful piano music playing both nights in the open lounge. I used the fitness facility one day and found it to be fairly well equipped and the hot tub and pool quiet and relaxing. We would defiantly pick this location again as it is very close to Pike place market (10 min. walk) and Pacific Centre shopping (10 min.) as well as many great restaurants (we ate at Elliotts Oyster 4 blocks away and Purple Wine Bar across the street).

Room Tip: As for a corner room without the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just came back from a great stay at the Fairmont in Seattle. We got a deal through hotels.com and it was great value for the money.
We got upgraded to a suite and they provided us with a cot and toiletries for our baby. We had a fabulous room service dinner - the lamb rack 3 course meal was very good. The service is superb - all the staff were very friendly, helpful and curteous. The hotel is very close to all the shops and is very central. They have an indoor pool which my husband used with the baby while I was out shopping. We got milk and cookies in our car when we picked it up which was a nice surprise for the journey home.
Overall this was a 5 star stay for a 3 star price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed over at the Fairmont Seattle last night and my company hosted a lunch there this afternoon. The room was wonderful, especially large and very comfortable with all of the necessary amenities. I used the gym this morning which had more than enough workout equipment all of which was very up to date. I ordered room-service for breakfast and the food was of excellent quality. Wifi worked perfectly so that I could spend the morning getting some work done (it was free because I'm a President's Club member, not sure how affordable it was to pay for). Before noon, I went down to the luncheon and found that the room was set up very well. We have had roadshows across the country and this was one of the best spaces. I had to leave early and the kitchen was able to provide a boxed lunch. An excellent stay!
My only complaint was that the heat/ac was fairly dated and it was somewhat difficult to change the temp.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a one day visit to Seattle. I found it to be very grand and luxurious. We checked in on a Saturday and did not have reservations for dinner. The staff suggested Elliott's Oyster House and made reservations for us for an early dinner. After a long day of walking all over Seattle we didn't have the energy to walk even though it was close. The hotel offered a car to take us to and from Elliotts. It was perfect. Our room was very nice and our beds had crisp white linens. I was able to print our boarding passes in the business lounge and enjoyed great coffee in the morning after a visit to the one of the best gym & swimming pool I've ever seen at a hotel. Albeit pricey, I thought the service, beds, room/bathroom and location were superb and worth it. It was a wonderful overall experience. I plan to return with my husband to stay more than 1 night!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this elegant established hotel. Booking thru AmEx we got a fantastic upgrade to a suite and comps for dinner and breakfast. We enjoyed the meals in the both of the nice restaurants. Service was great.

Close to the museum where we saw the Gauguin Exhibit and to Pikes Market, the hotel is located perfectly. We didn't do too much exploring because of the weather, but we will definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed one night for a business meeting. Nice room, good food, and convenient location. This is a grand hotel from the gilded age. Staff were helpful, friendly, and good service. It reminds me of a smaller version of the Waldorf Astoria in New York. Noisy room next to traffic on a low floor. Next time I will ask for a quieter one. I would definitely come back again, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Seattle
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle’s most exciting attractions, The Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fairmont Olympic received its 25th consecutive AAA Five Diamond Award in 2009 and is listed on Condé Nast Traveler’s 2004-2008 Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.