We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motif Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Motif Seattle to your Saves list
Motif Seattle
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A jewel in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Motif Hotel is a jewel in the city of Seattle. Located downtown near shopping and theaters, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the staff is excellent at all levels, and the prices are competitive. It's a very nice alternative to the chain hotels and I would gladly stay there again. Just 30 minutes from the airport, it is a lovely site from which to easily visit all the wonderful attractions Seattle has to offer.

Room Tip: Very quiet, even on the weekend! Wonderful gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    57
    26
    14
    14
See reviews for
42
43
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first time in Seattle (and what an impressive city it is). We requested a room with a view and we got the 16th floor(1607), facing the Puget Sound. It was a well-appointed large room with two queen-sized comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom. We could not have expected more
The people on the front desk have been welcoming and accommodating, assisting us patiently and graciously with all our queries.
Location is ideal for tourists, central to public transport, to the Pike St Markets and to all the shops one would wish to visit - Nordstrom(etc).
There is a supermarket nearby for those who wish to buy in food.
We ordered a carrot cake from Frolics - expensive (10.00) but beautifully presented.
The view from our room - over Puget Sound - is a highlight, a relaxing item to return to after a day spent on the town or touring - one can see the ferries, hills, the gentle rain (pretty regular in winter) and the markets on the foreshore.
We would happily recommend Motif to any tourist new to Seattle.
Ordering a room with a view beforehand and mentioning that we were new to Seattle probably helped.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view over Puget Sound - on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is good. The jotel is confusing with its boutique yet casual feel. The florescent lighting is obnoxious and they had several dedigners eho did not communicate. The front desk was great as were maids and bellstaff. The bar and kitchen was a mess and not good. The outside deck was huge and great but inside the redyltaurant it felt like a cheap cafe in a budget furniture store.
If you get a good price it is great to crash as bed is nice.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The motif is great, formerly known as the red Lion. I have been using this venue for business trips for a few years.

Staff very friendly and efficient, and I would definitely recommend it.

However, the frolic on the 5th floor is horrible. I have never experienced such poor food or service.

I will happily stay here, but I will never eat here, if the Frolic was good I would have given the Motif 5 stars!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon S, General Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Owen,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you have been visiting us for business for a few years. We thank you for your business. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at our restaurant. Please do not hesitate to let us know when you return to our hotel so that we may have the opportunity to regain your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Sincerely,
Shannon Sheron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Upon entering she was very cheerful and genuine. Very polite and had great manors. Answered all my questions I had. Great service, it is my 21st birthday and she was super nice. Her customer care was excellecent and set a great mood for the rest of my visit with the Motif Hotel. Thank you again! 5/5

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this location many times, but this is the first time under the Le Motif name. The redesign is 'cool and trendy' but the missed on a KEY element. The mattress in my room was possibly the WORST MATTRESS EVER. It was completely shot and literally swallowed me up to the point that I was sleeping or at least trying to at a very uncomfortable angle. Sitting on the edge of the mattress dropped me to the box spring. When I told them at the front desk how horrible it was they just said "oh". I KNOW I was not the first person to complain about that bed. I will not be back. This reservation was pre-paid, so I had little leverage to get any type of a refund. Had the bed been serviceable (even motel 6 has WAY BETTER beds) I would have been happy with my stay, but I was robbed of sleep on a business trip and that is unforgivable in a hotel - especially at this price.

Room Tip: One with a bed you can actually sleep in. by the time I got into that torturous bed, it was just too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon S, General Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Consultantgal,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are terribly sorry for the poor experience you had. We understand that this is completely unacceptable and we are very excited to let you know that we are aware of this situation and have recently purchased all brand new beds, sheets, blankets, and pillows. We are currently in the process of updating all of our guest rooms with these items and expect to have the project completed within the week. We hope you are willing to allow us to welcome you back again in order for you to experience our updates. We wish you the best of luck on your future travels.
Sincerely,
Shannon Sheron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to the USA and really enjoyed our stay at the Motif. We found that it was in a very convenient location especially since we didn't have a car. We walked everywhere. The rooms are very nice although a tad small. The only negative would be the standard of the Wifi which was basically unusable when we were there, it was easier to sit outside and use the restaurant below the hotel's wifi as it was much faster and it worked. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely consider this hotel when we return to Seattle

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motif Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motif Seattle

Address: 1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motif Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motif Seattle on Fifth Avenue in downtown Seattle Washington is a distinctly different and unique hotel located within the downtown neighborhood featuring the best shopping, theaters and cultural attractions on the West Coast. Whether you're in town on business or pleasure, our impeccable service and casual northwest flair will make your stay comfortable in Seattle.The hotel is noted for its exemplary level of service and sophisticated atmosphere, with amenities to satisfy both business and leisure travelers. Our 319 smoke-free guest rooms offer stunning views of Elliott Bay and the city and feature, Essential Elements bath products, luxurious bathrobes, Keurig coffee machines and refrigerators. On-site services include an award-winning concierge and bell staff, a business center and a fitness center. We also feature two restaurants; Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails on the fifth floor, including downtown Seattle's largest outdoor dining deck and seasonal summer entertainment on the patio, and Elephant & Castle British Restaurant & Pub. Motif Seattle is walking distance to Seattle's cultural, business and shopping attractions, including the ornate 5th Avenue Theatre and the classic Paramount Theatre, the famous Pike Place Market (with the world's first Starbucks coffee house), the Washington Convention & Trade Center and over 10 million square feet of retail shopping including Macy's Northwest and Nordstrom flagship stores. The Monorail to the Seattle Center's Space Needle and the Experience Music Project (EMP) is just step away. The Benaroya Hall and Seattle Art Museum are a few blocks away from the hotel. The hotel is also positioned for convenient Fifth Avenue access to Qwest Field, home of Seattle Seahawks football, Safeco Field, home of Seattle Mariners baseball, and Seattle Storm basketball. We are one mile from Seattle University, 6 miles from the University of Washington and its Medical Center and 6 miles from the campus of Seattle Pacific University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motif Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Seattle
Red Lion Seattle
Seattle Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motif Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.