We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy for the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motif Seattle

Save Saved
You added Motif Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motif Seattle
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #63 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crappy for the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First, I should state that this is my third time to Seattle, first time at this hotel. I am frequent traveler and in all my years of traveling, this is only the second time I hated the experience and felt the need to write about it. I thought I would give Motif a try since it's location was great. Online looks high quality. It was a few dollars cheaper than something like the Fairmont. What a dump! I say this in that it's price is the same as a high quality 4-5 star hotel, but it's shabby. Lots of street and hotel noise - all night! The room has no safe or normal amenities you would and should expect. The walls are dark brown and the room is so dark! The chair for the desk is blown out and is like sitting on the floor. There is no valet even though the parking is $40 a night and you park it yourself in an underground lot and carry your luggage - no bellman! There is room service but it's ridiculous food only. Nothing normal, just things like "chèvre and pistachio grapes" or "skewers with okonomlyaki sauce". Gonna get fancy with the food but every else is motel 6! No view out the window except for the exceptionally loud bar patrons. I spoke to the front desk about the noise and she said it would die down after 10pm - she had to repeat it to me because people were cackling and screaming - we could not hear each other. That is ridiculous. There is some sort of noise that sounds like coffee brew / gurgling from inside the wall of my room - never figured that out. So, in conclusion, if you want to pay five star prices, and get one star accommodations that are like renting a room at a sorority house, no services (room, parking, concierge, laundry), but are 4 blocks from Pike - this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
Green Features: I think it's stupid and pointless if the rest of the experience isn't there.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We weren't notified of the name change from Red Lion so struggled a bit to find the hotel. The rooms were very large and spacious so great for all 4 of us. Only negative is the lighting, not many lights so if you need brightness is almost impossible to get. They have Starbucks coffee that you can make yourself in the coffee machine they provide which is a great asset. Gym is 24 hours too.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I loved it. Staff very friendly and helpful, The concierge, Susan, was amazing and gave us great ideas and recoomendaitons for food and activiites and we even saved $$ on her ideas. Loved the closeness to Pikes Place (only 4 blocks) and only 2 blocks to the Monorail which took you to the Seattle Center.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a water view and well worth the small amount it cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

WOW! Why someone would take a pleasant, good value property, such as the Red Lion, and morph it into an expensive, poor value hotel, such as the Motif, is a business model I just don't understand.

From the desk clerk that seemed just a bit too rushed even though there were no other people waiting to check in . . . to the lack of signage on the 4th floor to indicate where the guest rooms are on this convention room floor (that's right - it is the convention room floor) . . . to the lack of water in the workout room . . . to the flopping-off bracket covers on the shower bars . . . to what has to be the most ridiculous shower head which is located on the sidewall (WHAT???) of the shower . . . to the washed out picture on the TV, etc., etc., the value was very poor. The location is great . . . oh, that's right, it always was great even as the Red Lion. Will not be staying there again!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location & is contemporary & very comfortable. The beds were superb & we had a room with pretty views of the water & Pike Street Market. Front of house was very friendly, accommodating, helpful & efficient - both at the desk, bell-boys & concierge (who was only present on Saturday). Restaurant "Frolic" seems popular with locals but we walked in at 1100 one day & no one noticed us, wait staff seemed unhappy & rushed so we did not return but there are so many other eateries it wasn't an issue. Overall very happy with our stay & would make first choice for return visit in Seattle.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room & higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins in rooms & trash too, sheet change on request or every 3 days
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the recently completely remodeled Motif hotel. Don't miss this centrally located gem. It was a holiday weekend and very spacious. It's urban influence, attentive staff, and super fast elevators make this hotel worthy of 6 stars; and then there's a night club which is kid friendly during the day with ping pong and shuffleboard outside on the roof top of the 5th floor and a surprise in the entryway. The smells in this hotel were fresh and new, and the beds were heavenly. Views were awesome. We saw Pike's Place Market and the ferris wheel from our window ( ask for this), and walked to the trolley, the monorail and to the underground tour and the Smith Tower ( all very easy walks). We even found great pizza, but I am not giving that up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon S, General Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Sunnysequim,
Thank you for the outstanding and detailed 5 star review of your recent stay at Motif Seattle. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our renovations, friendly staff, 5th floor restaurant, heavenly beds, great views, and more! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Sincerely, Shannon Sheron, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I checked in to Motif with the pleasant surprise of a $30 credit to Frolik, the restauant and bar on the 5th floor of the hotel. I wasn't sure exactly why but soon figured it out. Ten minutes later I walked into my room to find a double instead of the "king deluxe" I had reserved months prior. I immediately called the front desk only to be informed that it looked like our reservations had been "downgraded."
The gentlman was kind about the situation but told us there would not be any king rooms available for 2 nights. He gave us some more credit at Frolik and promised us a new king room in 2 nights. 2 days later we got our king room. However, we were told we would have a room overlooking "elliot bay" .. didn't happen as our room stared out at the side of a building. We wre told to leave our packed bags in our room and the hotel staff would move our bags to the new room while we went on with our day. When we returned that afternoon, we had a new room but no bags. After another 30 minutes of phone calls, etc.. we did have our bags delivered. Upon checkout none of the "credits" at Frolik were on our bill. In fact, the breakfast package ($15/day credit for breakfast) we had reserved and paid for was not on our final bill either. So, after 4 nights and all the hassle, we had to spend even more time cleaning up the bill when we checked out. The hotel is nice and is in a good location but we had a SERVICE NIGHTMARE!!!
The outside patio at Frolik is also very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motif Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motif Seattle

Address: 1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motif Seattle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motif Seattle on Fifth Avenue in downtown Seattle Washington is a distinctly different and unique hotel located within the downtown neighborhood featuring the best shopping, theaters and cultural attractions on the West Coast. Whether you're in town on business or pleasure, our impeccable service and casual northwest flair will make your stay comfortable in Seattle.The hotel is noted for its exemplary level of service and sophisticated atmosphere, with amenities to satisfy both business and leisure travelers. Our 319 smoke-free guest rooms offer stunning views of Elliott Bay and the city and feature, new Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Essential Elements bath products, terry bathrobes, Keurig coffee machines and refrigerators. On-site services include an award-winning concierge and bell staff, complimentary wi-fi, a business center and a fitness center. We also feature two restaurants; Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails on the fifth floor, including downtown Seattle's largest outdoor dining deck and seasonal summer entertainment on the patio, and Elephant & Castle British Restaurant & Pub. Motif Seattle is walking distance to Seattle's cultural, business and shopping attractions, including the ornate 5th Avenue Theatre and the classic Paramount Theatre, the famous Pike Place Market (with the world's first Starbucks coffee house), the Washington Convention & Trade Center and over 10 million square feet of retail shopping including Macy's Northwest and Nordstrom flagship stores. The Monorail to the Seattle Center's Space Needle and the Experience Music Project (EMP) is just step away. The Benaroya Hall and Seattle Art Museum are a few blocks away from the hotel. The hotel is also positioned for convenient Fifth Avenue access to Qwest Field, home of Seattle Seahawks football, Safeco Field, home of Seattle Mariners baseball, and Seattle Storm basketball. We are one mile from Seattle University, 6 miles from the University of Washington and its Medical Center and 6 miles from the campus of Seattle Pacific University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Motif Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Seattle
Red Lion Seattle
Seattle Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Seattle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motif Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.