We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Alaska stop over - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Folsom, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pre-Alaska stop over - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent location and very nice room - no need for a car rental.
Walking down to the pike street market and the space needle was super easy.
Easy low cost to taxi to the ship if heading out for a cruise.

Room Tip: This was a great location if you want to walk the city for a few days - pay for the waterside view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    369
    140
    71
    41
See reviews for
183
293
69
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week, while I was on business in Seattle last week. The service was fantastic right from reception to housekeeping, they gave me a nice room on level 9 with a view of puget sound on request. The concierge was extremely helpful and guided me well to see things around seattle, and made the right bookings.

The location is very handy to get around with the main tourist attractions within walking distance. There are heaps of restaurants, bars, shopping precinct nearby and its a safe place to walk around.

I would surely stay here my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a great location - right downtown. We had a big room, staff upgraded us when we got there. Entire property was very clean. Thank YOU for including wireless in your base - not charging extra, that really ticks me off with other "higher-quality" properties. Room service was good. We experienced very friendly and helpful staff. The conference rooms were well laid out. One complaint is common with me - the hot water urn was full of coffee grounds. However, I found a hot water dispenser right in the hallway and used that, as well as directing other attendees to it. I like the glass walls in the back of the ballroom - nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I live in the Seattle area, and work very close to the Red Lion. I have been to their restaurant, Frolik, for lunch and happy hour before, but have not stayed at the hotel until I needed to for work.

I stayed for a few days, and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. The room was really nice, with such a comfortable bed. The Keurig coffee machine was great, and there was a good supply of coffee, which I appreciated.

The bathtub is not really suited to taking a luxurious soak, as there is not place to rest your head other than on the wall. Not a deal breaker, but something to be aware of if you like a nice soak at the end of a long day.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the Pike Place Market, shopping, and great restaurants. If you are looking for a nice hotel right downtown, stay here. =)

Room Tip: Ask for a high room that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great time at your hotel. The staff was excellent and very accommodating as we were able to check in early and even leave our bags with the bell man as our conference ran late the day of check out. Wonderful location. Will tell anyone without reservation to stay if in Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Still rate the hotel high for its location and view. But this time around it was a mess with the billing and the way it was handled has soured me on the hotel staff and the chain itself. I won't be going back as thankfully Seattle is full of other places to experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my first trip to Seattle , my plans changed and the staff was so helpful and friendly when I had to change my reservation. Pleasant staff, nice rooms, and free WiFi without needing a password to access. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle

Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Seattle
Red Lion Seattle
Seattle Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Seattle
Address: 1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Seattle
#42 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue in downtown Seattle Washington is a distinctly different and unique hotel located within the downtown neighborhood featuring the best shopping, theaters and cultural attractions on the West Coast. Whether you're in town on business or pleasure, our impeccable service and casual northwest flair will make your stay comfortable in Seattle.The hotel is noted for its exemplary level of service and sophisticated atmosphere, with amenities to satisfy both business and leisure travelers. Our 319 smoke-free guest rooms offer stunning views of Elliott Bay and the city and feature, new Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Essential Elements bath products, terry bathrobes, Keurig coffee machines and refrigerators. On-site services include an award-winning concierge and bell staff, complimentary wi-fi, a business center and a fitness center. We also feature two restaurants; Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails on the fifth floor, including downtown Seattle's largest outdoor dining deck and seasonal summer entertainment on the patio, and Elephant & Castle British Restaurant & Pub. The Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue is walking distance to Seattle's cultural, business and shopping attractions, including the ornate 5th Avenue Theatre and the classic Paramount Theatre, the famous Pike Place Market (with the world's first Starbucks coffee house), the Washington Convention & Trade Center and over 10 million square feet of retail shopping including Macy's Northwest and Nordstrom flagship stores. The Monorail to the Seattle Center's Space Needle and the Experience Music Project (EMP) is just step away. The Benaroya Hall and Seattle Art Museum are a few blocks away from the hotel. The hotel is also positioned for convenient Fifth Avenue access to Qwest Field, home of Seattle Seahawks football, Safeco Field, home of Seattle Mariners baseball, and Seattle Storm basketball. We are one mile from Seattle University, 6 miles from the University of Washington and its Medical Center and 6 miles from the campus of Seattle Pacific University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel on Fifth Avenue Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.