We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Waterfront Seattle

Save Saved
You added Marriott Waterfront Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Waterfront Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PRIDE and Joy Package
Ranked #38 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is a standard Marriott. It's kind of a fun location but it's very touristy. For the price, I was expecting a lot more. If you do decide to stay here keep these things in mind: 1) Don't park your car there. It will cost a fortune. There are parking lots nearby that charge half as much. 2) Don't eat at the hotel restaurant. There are many wonderful places to eat in Seattle, this is not one of them. But there are some top-notch places within walking distance. 3) Do yourself a favor and get away from the waterfront for a few hours so you can see what Seattle is really like.

Room Tip: Before you decide to stay here, shop around. You can do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    329
    110
    65
    16
See reviews for
194
291
48
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Marriott Waterfront last week. The Marriott Waterfront is in a lovely location right on Alaskan Way. Lots of sites to see on the waterfront, so we couldn't have asked for a better location. Pike Place was just a short 5 minute walk away. Our room was okay, but we did expect it to be a bit more luxurious due to the price we were paying $200++/night. Room and bathroom were spotless!! A+ to the housekeeping staff!! Beds were comfortable, but pillows were not. One complaint we had was our toilet. It was an automatic flushing toilet and the sensor was so sensitive, that it would flush any time we walked near the toilet. We asked the front desk to have a look into the problem. They sent their "engineer" up and the only solution they came up with was to leave the lid up and flush manually. We found this quite amusing. The blow dryer in the room is from the 1980's and needs to be upgraded ASAP, we found this totally unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber. The lobby is tastefully decorated and welcoming. Friendly bell & front desk staff!! A+

The Hook and Plow restaurant was okay, nothing incredible. I did find it strange that all the employees were wearing jeans though. Breakfast potatoes were not good....I didn't even eat them as they were so greasy.

Now to the pool......it is absolutely horrible. Everything looks so dirty. The hot tub is small and needs to be replaced (maxium people it can hold is 4). I went into the pool area three days in a row, and the pool was not vacuumed once. Big piles of dirt in corner of pool. There is also lots of black stuff in the pool (I'm guessing mold on the walls). Floor tiles are dirty in the pool area. Basket with towels wasn't emptied for three days. There was some gum on a planter that wasn't removed for three days. I can't say enough how disgusting the pool area is. Definitely not up to Marriott's standards. As far as I am concerned, the pool needs to be shut down and renovated ASAP. I am very surprised that other reviewers have not mentioned the condition of the pool!

Overall, I would stay again and would recommend the Marriott Waterfront to friends & family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here for a quick birthday/valentine overnight treat.

When we got to our room, there was a note for my husband wishing him a happy birthday with chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling H20. I didn't ask for this - but when I called to request an early check-in and confirm the room type, they asked if we were celebrating anything. Nice touch!

We stayed in a waterfront room, high floor, which has a front (vs. side) view out to the water and a balcony. This was great - but if it were cruise ship season, I wouldn't splurge for that as you would likely only see the side of the cruise ship.

Bed was very comfortable, room spacious, with a nice sitting chair and a fairly large balcony. The weather was blustery so we didn't sit out there but it was wonderful to see the ferries come and go. The floor was high enough that you could leave the drapes open and no one from the street level could see you. (this would NOT be the case if the cruise ship were in port and were at floor level).

Property common areas were very clean, polished, and staff was friendly. We also easily got a late checkout.

We will go back and/or recommend the hotel for visitors to Seattle.

Room Tip: High floors, get waterfront vs. waterview for best views. Worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Waterfront this week while attending a conference at the nearby Bell Harbor Conference Center. The location of the hotel is great; very close to the conference center and just a 5-7 minute walk to Pike Place Market, downtown shopping and restaurants, and the monorail.

While the hotel is on the waterfront, which is very nice, my room faced the parkade. Because of the set up of the hotel, I don't think that many rooms have a good view.

In this day of being connected, I was stunned to find out that the rooms did not have WiFi. It is only possible to connect with an ethernet cable. There is free WiFi in the lobby, but it is "spotty."

The room was clean and basic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We were staying just one night and then going to be staying 45 minutes north of Seattle the next night. Everyone was super friendly. The room was supposedly an upgrade, while I appreciated the gesture the view was small and I didn't feel I could enjoy it because of the proximity of the rooms perpendicular to ours. Three levels of rooms had balconies that could see into our room and the one on our level was probably less than 6 ft away.

The sheets had a small stain on them, but overall the room was clean. The bathroom was SUPER clean which is very important to me. I didn't like the design of having the towel rack in the shower and the bathroom light was odd - it turned on when you walked into the room ans stayed on for a while. But, no biggie.

The hotel restaurant was expensive given the wait time to get food, refills etc and the attire of the staff. Some staff were wearing jeans others dresses with no nylons etc.

Overall it was a pleasant experience but pricey for what you actually get in the room. I stay at Marriotts whenever I can because of their exemplary service. We were even offered a 30 minute late check out so we could walk to the market for breakfast and not have to rush back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Good location to explore Seattle from. But the hotel is in need of a refurb. Rooms were tired, bathrooms basic and hardly any amenities. No wifi in room so beware. Not worth the price

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night while staying in town for the weekend. Pretty good location. Short walk to the Pike's Place Market area. Great sunset views right on the water. I was upgraded to a corner room on fourth floor with an excellent view. Rooms have been nicely renovated.

Only downside is the lack of restaurants/bars close by. They do have the Hook & Plow on site, but it was dead. Ended up going back towards Pike's Place Market and grabbing a quick bite before hitting up Fox Sports Grill for the PPV UFC fight that night. Just be warned if you are walking back late at night, elevator shuts down at 11pm and there are some homeless people milling about.

Room Tip: Get a corner room with water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Waterfront Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Waterfront Seattle

Address: 2100 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Waterfront Seattle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Waterfront Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waterfront Seattle Hotel Seattle
Marriott Seattle
Seattle Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Waterfront Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.