We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Seattle-style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watertown Hotel Seattle

Save Saved
You added Watertown Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Watertown Hotel Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #23 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
“Modern Seattle-style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location a short walk from the University of Washington and all the restaurants and activities in the "U" area. Lots of windows and light throughout hotel with cheerful decor. Very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Young children enjoy watching the activity on Roosevelt Ave. (west rooms) and there is not excessive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Courtney,

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and its location. It is a nice design with lots of wonderful windows!.

Your comments about the pleasant staff is also greatly appreciated.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    157
    39
    14
    12
See reviews for
152
150
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel, due to its location and clientele, feels like a very nice dormitory. The kind that I would have loved to have lived in as a college student. I stayed one night in a 2 queen-bed room for business at UW and found it is exactly what I needed.

The building is new, looks clean, and is attractively presented from the street. There is plenty of window walls, full height glass, and amenities. The room has plenty of space and the restroom tucked behind the TV/closet wall is creative. The porthole on the toilet/shower door is a charming touch. Water pressure is good. The looming cabinet (TV/closet) is a bit oppressive, as is the choice of wood color. There are a lot of stains when examined closely, and it is not appealing when found.

The walking distance to UW is very nice. The academic ambiance is very pleasant, especially with warm beverage in hand on a cool morning, walking along with the students towards the campus.

Breakfast at the café is not free, but guests receive 15% off.

There is free shuttle service to downtown Seattle that requires reservation. When I showed up at the reserved time, staff at the desk started whispering to each other. One of them inched over to me after a few minutes to tell me somehow my reservation was “lost”. They were thoughtful enough to infrom me since I had already checked out, they cannot reimburse me for a cab ride ($15).

Overall the desk staff feel like students on a part time job. Definitely no air of institutional professionalism. Which is okay if one is not picky with that sort of thing, and the student ambiance is what one is after.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear redraisinz,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel and glad to hear it is mostly positive. I would be happy to look into the shuttle mishap and reimburse you if we were at fault. If you are interested in pursuing this, please call the hotel and ask for the manager and I will help you!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great location to the University of Washington. Hotel is clean, staff is friendly, and the modern decor is nice. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the amenities - hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Justin R,

So glad to hear you found out hotel to be hip and cool, what a great description! We also appreciate your comments about our pleaseant staff and the cleanliness of the property.

Thanks for being our guest!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here on a whim because I had to be in the vicinity very early the next morning. Because of late booking, we got a very low rate.

The bed was remarkable. My husband is tall, we usually try to get a queen bed, and we don't sleep well on hotels. We both commented on the great bed in the morning.

Parking garage is secure and free for guests. Really small spots, but that's typical.

We left too early to try (or see) the free breakfast, but there was coffee in the lobby and a Keurig in room.

Decor was sort of northwest woodsy with nautical. Very clean and uncluttered. Soaps, shampoo, conditioner in dispensers, rather than tiny travel bottles. Appreciate the effort to reduce waste of all that plastic.

Good location for UW. Holder for key cards is a small local map. Free wifi. The hotel reminds me of a Kimpton, but much more affordable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Coug 1984, and greetings from a fellow Coug, class of 1979!

We are so glad to hear you liked our rooms/beds and enjoyed your stay with us.

We do offer coffee and breakfast in our Pineapple Cafe, where hotel guest receive a 15% discount. We also offer complimentary coffee and our signature Pineapple cupcakes in the lobby each afternoon.

Please return again when you can take advantage of more of our many amenities!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After reading the reviews, I decided to try it here. It was a good decision. The room was modern & clean. The staff was young, with a great attitude. They were super helpful. The secure parking was very assuring. Even though it was in the University district, it was relatively quiet there. The students seem to congregate several blocks to the east. Some of the other reviews mentioned homeless street people. After touring Seattle, it seems to be a city wide problem, not just here. But we had no problem with anybody bothering us. So, yes I do recommend The Watertown Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear jimlr53,

Thanks for much for your many positive comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the nice rooms, as well as our great staff. I am pleased to hear you felt the team had great attitudes and were super helpful. That makes my heart sing!

We hope you come back and visit us again, we will look forward to serving you.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

For someone like me, who travels nearly every week for work, I have a great appreciation for clean, comfortable, convenient hotels. All of which the Watertown Hotel is, and more. It's the perfect place for those staying one or two night for a quick visit to the city or UW or Seattle Children's Hospital - convenient to all of these places, and the free shuttle service is perfect. However, as someone who stays multiple nights per week, this hotel is so much more. The rooms are not a typical hotel layout, they're spacious, airy and comfortable. It feels more like a loft than a room and is clean, roomy and modern. The staff and management go out of their way to be helpful, friendly and courteous. For those needing a longer term stay in the area, this hotel can't be beat. It's not a full-service Hilton-type hotel, so don't expect room service. However, there are tons of places in walking distance, including Trader Joe's and there is an in-room Keurig machine with drink choices, microwave and even microwave popcorn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet and relatively bright. If you can get a South-East facing room, you may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Kato Akita,

Wow, we like what you have to say about Watertown and the staff/managment! We do go out of our way to be friendly, helpful, and courteous, and we are glad it shows through.

We are glad you like our clean rooms as well, and look forward to accommodating you again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night (I wish it could have been twelve longer!), and I have to say, I was really impressed. First of all, the hotel is lovely. The rooms are carefully laid out, with lots of light coming in, the linens are clean and crisp, the Keurig machine for coffee and tea is very nice.

But beyond the basics of an excellent hotel, I was really impressed with their customer service. I stayed here during a stressful 24 hours, when I was interviewing for UW grad school. I had a rental car, I had an early wake-up call, and I had a marathon day in front of me. They were happy to accommodate my needs, issuing a cheerful wake-up call, allowing me to check out but keep my car in their lot ALL DAY, and feeding me a delicious breakfast at their little cafe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear KatieT,

I am thrilled to hear you noticed and appreciated our customer service, as we feel this is the lifeblood of our industry. We work very hard to communicate that in a serving way to our guests.

We also appreciate your comments about the lovely hotel, linens, coffee, and delicious breakfast.

We wish you could have stayed 12 days as well. Maybe you can just return for another visit!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watertown Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel Seattle

Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watertown Hotel Seattle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy walking distance to UW campus. Local shuttle to downtown Seattle and area attractions. Our goal is to provide our guests with legendary service. Loaner bicycles available to our guests. Join us from 3pm - 7pm in the lobby for complimentary Starbuck's coffee and our signature pineapple cupcakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Watertown Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watertown Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.