We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Must Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights the last week in August and could not have been more satisfied with all it has to offer.
1. Convenient to the highways.
2. Free secured parking garage.
3. Fitness room with treadmill, elliptical and spin bike.
4. Free coffee, water and microwave popcorn.
5. Microwave and refrigerator.
6. Washer/dryer on the floor.
7. Breakfast/lunch cafe in hotel with very reasonable prices.
8. Free coffee and cupcakes in the evenings.
9. Friendly hotel staff willing to assist with any request.
10. Free shuttle to various locations around the city.
11. Free cruiser bikes.
12. Convenient to numerous restaurants in the neighborhood.
13. Convenient to city bus lines (we took 1 bus all the way to the Seahawks game).
14. Convenient to UW campus.
15. Convenient to Burke-Gilman trail for walking, running and biking.
16. Access to pool at University Inn (sister property) 2 blocks down the street.
We will be staying here again on our next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Casper1679,

Thank you for your 16 positive points about the Watertown Hotel. We are grateful you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you return again real soon!

The Watertown team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    176
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
174
160
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Town and Country, Missouri, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Super clean rooms, great view if you ask for it, great coffee and muffins in the cafe. I wish hotels wouldn't be so stingy with the coffees in the room. I need two or three cups of CAFFEINATED coffee to get my eyeliner straight.

Room Tip: You need to pay $20-$40 more but to see the skyline it was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear PHT330,

Thank you for your review of the Watertown Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that you can have as many free cups of coffee as you like. Please be sure and let us know when you make the reservation, and we will put more in the room for you!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love the Seattle/Tacoma area and have stayed in various hotels but I like to keep coming back to the Watertown. It is conveniently located off the freeway and is close to downtown Seattle as well as the University. When I say convenient location off the freeway...I mean it! Seattle doesn't have the most comprehensive highway system and this hotel is easy off and easy on the interstate. One of the BEST features is that parking is FREE and secure!!!! Although there is no room service or restaurant on site they give you food delivery menus from all kinds of local restaurants in the area which I took advantage of and loved. I don't always get a room with a decent view (in fact my last stay I had a great view of the garbage area) but that's minor thing since I'm not living in my room and I wasn't picky enough to ask for a change.

This is a GREAT boutique hotel and where I stay whenever I make a trip to Seattle since hands down, I've tried enough hotels in the area and this is by far my hotel of choice. The shopping at University Village is nice with umbrellas you can borrow if caught in the rain.

The rooms are clean and well maintained with high end amenities. I recommend this hotel to anyone I know traveling to Seattle on vacation.

Room Tip: You definitely want to be higher up and ask for a view of Mt. Rainer if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Owner at Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Brenda M,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in the u-district. It warms our heart to know when guests had a great experience while staying with us.

We will look forward to your next visit!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is our greatest fear every time we book a hotel. Since my husband uses a wheelchair, we need a roll-in shower bathroom. We booked a room with roll-in shower one month in advance, and then reconfirmed with them 2 days again before check-in to ensure we could have the accessible room. Still, when we arrived after a long exhausted flight only to find out the hotel staff didn't quite understand what is a roll-in shower bathroom and had already given away the one and only that they have. We booked this hotel because my husband was invited to give a presentation at University of Washington and it was within walking distance from campus. It was midnight when they found us another hotel (but under same owner) in downtown Seattle which is 15 minutes away driving distance. It was not quite possible to walk from the hotel to campus and the thoughts of travelling on public transportation and praying that it will be wheelchair accessible, just simply terrified us. We don't usually rent an accessible van for conferences but we did this time and were thankful that we spent the extra $600 to rent an accessible van for a few days. We finally checked into the other hotel and got in bed at around 3am in the morning. Since we didn't get to stay at the hotel other than spending about 1hour explaining to them what is a roll-in shower and getting them to help us relocate another hotel, I can only give a poor rating for their front desk services. Even though before we left, the manager came out to talk and apologize to us, but this cannot happened again to another person in wheelchair. It is not a matter of convenience but necessity. Honestly, we did expected more from Seattle and it dampened our enthusiasm visiting this beautiful city on our first day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Chonglh,

We are terribly sorry for the misunderstanding about the ADA room and the inconvience it caused for you and your party.

We have learned to be much more careful to be clear about the offerings in our ADA rooms.

Thank you for your feedback,

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easy access to the freeway and walking distance to the PCC Natural Market. Secure underground parking was a plus. Service was great. Pineapple cupcakes were tasty.We stayed in the studio King, very confortable bed. The access to a free washer and dryer was nice for longer business trips. The bicycle checkout was an added bonus!

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the ac unit. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Chris P,

Thanks for being our guest and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was really nice, very clean and had amazing views! It was like 5-10 mins from dowtown. Right on campus of UW. Shopping is close as well at university village which is awesome outside shopping mall. Rooms dont have carpet but its a nice moden look. They call them.studios and thats exactly what they are with a closet with pocket doors seperating bathroom sink and living/sleeping area. Only thing I recommend is dont eat at pineapple cafe, it wasnt very good and overpriced. Plus unfriendly staff. Hotel staff seemed overhelmed with only 2 people checking in and a guest with a question. But were nice and seemee somewhat knowledgable. Enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Laxroxtopher,

Thanks for your great feedback. I am sorry you had a less than desirable experience in our cafe. I will pass along that feedback to our food and beverage team.

Hope you see you return to visit us again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at Watertown Hotel while in town for a college reunion. Room was spacious and full of light. Loved the coffee maker,microwave and fridge. The popcorn and umbrella in the room was a nice touch. Pineapple cupcakes and coffee tasted great in the afternoon. Only disappointment was that we did not realize that the "free shuttle" had to be reserved quite a bit in advance, and did not just shuttle back and forth to the Market. We were never able to use the free shuttle, but cab fare was not too expensive. Hotel located in University district so would be great for parents. Nice market just across the street and delicious brunch right down the street! Enjoyed the stay and would recommend and stay again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Keoweecruiser,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are glad you were our guests! I apologize you were not able to take advantage of our complimetary shuttle services. It was in hot demand this summer.

Hopefully, when you return, it will be more available to serve your needs.

Thanks Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale-welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watertown Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.