We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in that area of Seattle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watertown Hotel Seattle

Save Saved
You added Watertown Hotel Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Watertown Hotel Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #23 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My favorite in that area of Seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel lives up to the many positive reviews listed here and on other sites. I loved everything about the place. It was very clean, safe and aesthetically pleasing. The microwave and mini fridge were a welcome convenience. There is a small market across the street and many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner room on the sixth floor. Amazing views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Van0510,

We are delighted you loved everything about the Watertown Hotel....we are pleased when we meet, or better yet, exceed our guest's expectations!

Thank you for your loyalty, and we look forward to future visits.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    157
    39
    14
    12
See reviews for
152
151
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel! The university area is full of funky little ethnic restaurants, and there are lovely strolling areas, both on the beautiful campus and on the neighboring streets which are full of old turn of the century homes, including many large "mansions' which are now sorority houses. Although it is outside of the downtown core, it is very easy to get onto town using the free shuttle. We made use of this twice. One of the times, we were going to be returning too late to use this, so the front desk staff printed out detailed instructions and google maps showing how to catch one of the many buses that run out to the university. It was so simple! This hotel refers to it's "Pineapple Hospitality" with good reason. The staff at this hotel truly go out of their way to do everything they can to make your stay the best it can be.
Some of the nice touches? Cupcakes and Starbucks coffee in the lobby each afternoon, secure free parking, Keurig coffee pod systems in the rooms, free bikes for guests to use (there's a great bike trail nearby), robes, microwave, fridge, bottles of water, popcorn, Tommy Bahamas toiletries, comfy beds with lots of pillows, and very clean rooms. The one thing that was missing: although our room was very large, there was no sofa or armchair. All in all, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear dms214,

We are so glad you had a great stay at the Watertown Hotel in the u-district. We love to hear of reviews such as yours, especially when our Pineapple hospitality shines through!

Thank you for your patronage... it was an honor to serve you!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, friendly, but small, peculiar layout, mixture of modern and eclectic decor..smack dab in the middle of nowhere...if your visiting Seattle stay downtown....Watertown is likely a fantastic budget hotel or great spot if your visiting the university.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear RBG-Halifax,

We appreciate your positive comments about the Watertown Hotel and understand our location was not optimal for you. We are glad you gave us a try and thank you for having done so.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Yes. I believe we do a fair amount of traveling and we have been to many hotels in this price range in various different cities around the world. I don't think I loved any other hotels as much as I loved this one.

1. A microwave and a fridge is a must. Thanks for having them. Seriously. Great storage area for food and other junk!
2. The view was, kinda crappy to be honest, but I loved the blinds and I am sure the hotel has rooms with a better view. I liked the setup of the room, with closets having two doors on each side. I loved the fact that the floor wasn't carpeted. The baby crawled around all over the place having so much fun. Other hotels, usually we don't want to put the baby on the ground because the carpets are nasty.
3. I have never seen a hotel that brings you baby toys. Wha!? My baby enjoyed playing with them so much. It took four phone calls to get the crib for the baby, but when I got it, it was very nicely set up with a very cute quilt. So worth all the calls. We were staying in a two queen room and the crib fit just perfectly between the beds.
4. No complimentary breakfast. You may think it's a negative, but in the city of excellent breakfast cafes, do you really want a complimentary continental crap? We loved venturing out to some of the most excellent breakfast places I have been to.
5. Free parking. Yes. Free parking. Again, Free parking.
6. Can't beat the location. Stroll around UDub area for college town food, and if you want to go somewhere far, the location is so central and oh so close to the I-5.
7. Great location for a late night Dick's run.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear cassandrakim76,

Thanks for your great comments about Watertown Hotel. We are delighted to hear you so loved the hotel and your stay!

Glad to hear you liked our new floors for your baby to crawl around on, as well as enjoying some of our many other amenities!

Hope to see you again soon!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Easy access off the I5 if you are coming from north of Seattle, and that's a good thing as the traffic going into Seattle always seems to be bad. Complimentary parking also a good thing as it is really expensive to park downtown. They have a free hourly shuttle downtown so again you can avoid the parking hassle.

It was a brilliantly beautiful day so we walked around UW and skipped Pike Place Market etc as we had done that last year. We liked the area with it's University vibe, did not find it downmarket at all.

Nice toiletries, great sheets, super clean, comfortable beds. We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor, no noise from street. It was great. Cupcakes in the lobby at check-in time! Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Debleslie,

Thank you for your positive review of the Watertown Hotel. We are easy access off of I-5 and, that, along with our complimentary parking and free shuttle service to downtown, makes us the perfect location!

We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and friendly, helpful staff. I will pass along your kind comments.

The Watertown team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ota, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights while visiting at the University of Washington. Room was small but well laid out. There were comfortable areas to sit in the foyer and at the Pineapple Cafe. Room was quiet and clean. Room had mini-fridge, coffee pot and micro wave. Staff were friendly and helpful. Extra touches included coffee and cupcakes in foyer and treat bag in room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you Heather A for such great comment about the Watertown Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, our rooms, and the friendly staff. I will pass along your positive comments!

The Watertown team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location near UW and for the underground parking as we didn't want to have to totally unload our car, including bikes, for only one night. More expensive than we would normally pay but the trip was partially business. We w
ere upgraded to a very nice, large room with sofa and comfortable chair and a workspace. Bed was comfortable except for the bottom, non-contoured sheet which of course came untucked and into a mess. Keurig coffee maker was a potentially nice touch, but ours didn't work. Easy walk to university retail district as well as campus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel Seattle, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear etb874,

We are so glad you enjoyed out Watertown Hotel, with secured, complimentary parking, in the U-district.

We are in the process of getting an upgraded bed package, which should solve the issue with the sheets coming un-tucked, as they will be fitted!

Those pesky coffee makers can appear as though they don't work properly when in fact, they do. Please let us know when that happens and we will come right up and ensure it is working properly.

Thanks from the Watertown team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watertown Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel Seattle

Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watertown Hotel Seattle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy walking distance to UW campus. Local shuttle to downtown Seattle and area attractions. Our goal is to provide our guests with legendary service. Loaner bicycles available to our guests. Join us from 3pm - 7pm in the lobby for complimentary Starbuck's coffee and our signature pineapple cupcakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Watertown Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watertown Hotel Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.