We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taproot theater is great,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taproot Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taproot Theatre
204 N. 85th Street, Seattle, WA 98103
206.781.9705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 178 Attractions in Seattle
Attraction details
Anacortes, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Taproot theater is great,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

All the seats are great, sound is good from any location. CS Lewis and Freud play was first class production. The set was fantastic.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Small intimate theatre, local talent, a good visit, a good time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Taproot has been around for a very long time. The theatre has seats that are less than two feet from the stage around three sides. Very intimate if you want to be up close. The works performed are of a good quality, but do not expect major Broadway productions with all kinds of amazing staging. The works performed will make you think, laugh, and enjoy the evening. Some performances have a meal arranged before in a restaurant close by- just a few blocks away from the theatre. Kind of fun to do if you have the time. Seating is with other patrons. We go there because my wife is an alum of Seattle Pacific University, where Taproot was originally found. The Notle's are a great couple and this is their heart and brainchild.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rave reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

From the heart a good place to visit. Touring group is outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“An excellent evening at the theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Just spent a great evening at taproot enjoying Oscar Wilde's "An Ideal Husband" great value

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quality theater close up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I had heard about the Taproot Theatre for years, but this was my first visit. My Husband and I will return! We saw Oscar Wilde's "An Ideal Husband" which was presented with high quality acting. The theater is small and so all seats are close to the stage. The sets were very simple, but the play did not require an elaborate set. Taproot specializes in plays that are thought provoking while entertaining. We had a good discussion about the characters over dinner and we both enjoyed the whole experience.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taproot Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Taproot Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taproot Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.