We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Named the 2nd Germiest Tourist Attraction in 2009” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gum Wall

The Gum Wall
1428 Post Alley, Seattle, WA 98101
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Gum Wall like an insider
Private Tour
$53*
and up
Private Tour: Seattle Highlights
Ranked #112 of 506 things to do in Seattle
Attraction details
Sasebo, Japan
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Named the 2nd Germiest Tourist Attraction in 2009”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Market Theater Gum Wall first began around 1993 when patrons from the theater started sticking their gum on the wall to adhere coins to it. Efforts were made to scrape the gum away, but theater workers finally gave up when officials from the Pike Place Market declared it a tourist attraction in 1999.

I hadn't even heard of it, having just returned to WA recently, until one of my friends came to visit me from Texas. She had done some research on the area and said she wanted to see it. As we approached, we jammed a bunch of gum into our mouths and started chewing. We weren't prepared when we beheld the great gum wall for the first time. And we just couldn't bring ourselves to actually touch the wall by adding our gum to it. Looking back at the pictures now, I see us pretending to do it, but our faces were all screwed up in nauseated disgust. Having visited the wall a few times now, I still can't get past the "yuck factor."

It's no big surprise to find It has another claim to fame... it was named the 2nd "germiest tourist attraction" in 2009, second only to the Blarney Stone. Believe it or not, there's actually another of its kind in San Luis Obispo, CA called Bubblegum Alley that was started around the 1960's.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    181
    148
    20
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting and Disgusting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Interesting history on how this got started but kinda disgusting that it still happens. Not worth going to just see this wall but worth sliding by and checking out if at the market.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sticky icky��”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A must see the most disgusting and beautiful place ever don't forget your gum. The area is not hard to fine if you Find Pike Pl., Fish market which is most famous for throwing fish you also can tell Venicia birthday and I'll let you catch one from there look to your left there is a staircase take that to the gum wall

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Disgusting, but kind of an interesting art form”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

You might as well see it while you're walking through Pike's Place Market. It's located under the market on Post Alley near the theater. It's odd and quirky, but it's an actual art medium. It's chewed up pieces of gum on a concrete block/brick wall. It's very colorful & amusing no matter how ridiculous it sounds. There is some painted graffiti mixed into it all, so it's not all just the gum. It was truly an interesting discovery while we were exploring the market. Just be aware that TA had it ranked as the 2nd germiest tourist attraction in the world (behind the Blarney Stone). Bring some hand sanitizer just in case you get too close to it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must See!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Gum Wall is my favorite thing to show people in Seattle!! It's an absolute must see to believe. I've brought people to see this wall a minimum of 5 times and probably more. This may sound weird and crazy and gross, but it smells SO good in that alley! Like berries and mint. You have to see it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gum Wall also viewed

 

Been to The Gum Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gum Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.