We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific lunch buffet!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kastoori Grill

Kastoori Grill
94 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101
+1 206-441-5456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 3,485 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Vegetarian, Nepali
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrific lunch buffet!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is an excellent place to eat lunch while at Pike Place Market and it will be crowded with locals (many from the .coms) You go for the food, not the decor, which obviously they're too busy serving people to give it much attention. The very large lunch buffet is priced well at $10 and offers a good variety of Indian dishes including 4 dessert choices. I eat and cook a lot of Indian food and I thought the flavors were spot on and cooked well (the spice heat was at a low level). I also had no problem working around wheat, dairy and almond allergies. Note: If you go for lunch, only do the buffet. If you order off the menu it will be much more expensive and probably not great at that hour since all the kitchen effort is going into the buffet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Looks are not everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our recent trip to Seattle. We were almost put off by the atmosphere, but are glad we stayed. The service was great and the food was fantastic. Best Indian food we have had in a long time. We left completely stuffed, yet wishing we could eat more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most Authentic Curry Ever Had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Seattle for about 3 days. We went to this restaurant twice! I always love something new to try and I'm a curry lover. The first time there I was shocked how the curry is made. I always order extra hot because I love every kind of hot food with oriental spices in it. They made it! Most of Indian restaurants in this country are afraid to add more spices in it but they listened to my request and made it. Best curry!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing first time experience with Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was our first time formally having Indian food (I visited Kerala in 2005 but didn't really care about the local cuisine at the moment as I was too young)

We decided on Kastoori based on TripAdvisor reviews.

We parked on 1st Ave. and we smelled our ways to Kastoori!

It was a late saturday lunch but they still had their buffet running, which was an incredible value (we paid more for the parking than for the food) and a great sampling opportunity.

We especially liked chicken tandoori, chicken tikka and the naan. It was very good and we actually rooted for the restaurant to other customers that were considering coming in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Smells delicious from outside, tastes delicious inside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located a few blocks from the Pike Place Market, it offers lunch buffet with Naan, and a la carte dinner. We went for dinner, the food was great, and the service very attentive. The Kofta is unbelievable. I strongly recommend it to anyone that does not know what to order, and is not very familiar with Indian food. The Tandoori food is also great, with great kudos to the chicken tikka (not masala), which comes sizzling.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kastoori Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kastoori Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kastoori Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.