We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient to restaurants and the trolly - parking on grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 93 hotels in Seattle
central pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“convenient to restaurants and the trolly - parking on grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Feather free room was not available for me when I checked in at 3:30 - but another room was given to me. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
many restaurants are located across the street, along with the streetcar that can you take to the shopping district. That costs $2.50...quite a bargain
Breakfast was very good and plentiful...seating was no problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    183
    39
    16
    4
See reviews for
198
96
20
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'm a faithful Residence Inn customer, but this one stands out. Hotel is very large, yet it feels intimate and comfortable. The room was very large, very comfortable, and I cannot find anything to criticize about it. The meal was very good, with enough selection and nice staff. The hotel is located next to the streetcar, which makes it very handy for getting around. My criticisms are fairly trivial:
--the lighting in the lobby is, well, yellow. It felt like the illumination was very powerful bug lights.
--my wife utilized the car service after being told by the desk staff that the charge would be $10. When she arrived at the destination she was told that the charge was $15. She handed the driver a $20 and was not offered change.

None of this would deter me from staying again and recommending to friends. This is a great hotel.

Room Tip: I can't think of any part of the hotel being better than another, unless you want to be on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went on a Royal Caribbean Alaskan cruise May 2012 (sorry a bit late, catching up on my reviews) and I chose Marriott Residence Inn Seattle as our base for the before and after cruise stays. Made the perfect choice. This is the first Residence Inn I have stayed in that's built more like an Embassy Suites. It was quite nice, and so cute to see some dogs. Good to know when we finally get a dog we have a nice hotel to stay. The kids loved the indoor pool, and we always like their breakfasts.

The location was great, we could walk across the street and walk along a waterfront with boats. It was also nice to be able to be able to hop on a train/trolley that can take you close enough to the Pike Place Market and some shopping.

Quick tips: Day before the cruise, we did the Duck Tour, what fun! Day after the cruise, we went to the Space Needle and were pleasantly surprised about the then days old Chihuly Art Gallery. Those are very nice things to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Location is right on Lake Union marina area. Rooms were good sized, looks like they've been upgraded. Breakfast was of good quality, people at the front counter were very helpful. Buses and light rail to downtown and to U of W area literally were across the street. Only two items that might be negative, one is that outside of a couple of pricey restaurants across the street you're limited as to what to walk to, and the parking is 30 dollars per day plus tax. If you stay on the weekends, street parking is just as easy and a lot cheaper, with Sunday street parking free and parking after six on Fridays and Saturdays aren't charged by the city. Good family hotel. View was also excellent of the Marina, not sure if my Marriott status had anything to do with that. I was surprised by the disappointed reviews

Room Tip: we stayed up on one of the top floors, overlooking the Marina. My Marriott rewards account has it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is our first trip to Seattle so I have no local comparison point, but in my opinion, for a 2-bedroom @ $250'ish/night, the room is very, very basic. I'm just mostly angry about the view thing.

We chose this hotel because we were told we would have a water view. Instead we're going to spend the next three nights looking at a medical building. Their justification: "We can't guarantee a lake view." They should have been upfront about that from the start. With little kids we're kinda hotel-bound & I really wanted a nicer view. I would have gone somewhere else & paid more had I known... :(

The lobby is gorgeous, though.

Parking is horrible, @ $25/night. My 2005 Rav 4 had not quite 4 inches of clearance on either side of the car.

The curtains in the bedrooms are transparent. Zero privacy.

No trash cans anywhere in the room except the one under the sink. That's just weird.

Still mad. Now I shall post pictures...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a nice stay. Check in was pretty smooth, but when we got to our room we were a bit disappointed as it over looked the construction outside. We asked to be moved but were told because we were using Marriott points that was what we got, have to say being a Marriott rewards member have never been told this before, we weren't looking for a room with a view, just not overlooking a construction site as we were staying for a week. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, and have everything may need in the kitchen. The pool area was great and the warmest hotel pool. which was nice after a long day discovering the city. The breakfast was good with a lot of selections. We never made it to the managers receptions in the evenings, but the selections looked good. This hotel has a streetcar across the street, but we managed to walk the whole city without using it or renting a vehicle, it is only a 10-15 walk to downtown or the space needle.

Room Tip: room 724 is a bit noisy due to construction and highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a disappointment!

Having read the great reviews (and being M-card holders) we were looking forward to this stay. Furniture in living room was visibly tattered in several locations (all pieces), insects and other residue on walls (particularly at the ceiling).

Renovations down the hall were noisy, and began shortly after 8:00am and went into the evening - we requested a move but were not accommodated. The hotel's viewpoint was 'noise, what noise?'...and that whomever was making it seemed to be calling the shots (not Front Desk, not housekeeping, and certainly not the guests).

Housekeeping had to be requested on day 2 of stay (at 5:30pm - bathroom was not touched on day 1).

No explanation. Not even a 'please bear with us' sign! ...indicates that the place is not guest-centered.

Lots of nearby accommodation options. Can't recommend this place, and certainly won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown
Residence Inn Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn
Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.