We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 95 hotels in Seattle
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel provides excellent value for money. The suite was clean, well furnished and spacey and fitted out with a kitchen, including cutlery, plates and microwave to heat up prepared meals, that can be bought from the lobby in the hotel. The hotel is located near Lake Union with many upmarket restaurants along the lake front. Check-in is from 16:00 and when the hotel has been full an early check-in is unlikely, so be aware as in my experience this is a very popular hotel. The reception desk was very friendly and helpful. The lobby was large with plenty of light and good furnishings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    206
    44
    24
    5
See reviews for
228
103
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have yet to come across a hotel with no bell man service! Yes you read that right! No bell man. Their explanation? That they are not a full service hotel. Really? Maybe they should put such pertinent points up on their website since all other Residence Inn properties we stayed at had a bell man or two...full service or not!

And do not be fooled by the word down town. It's located in a corner facing nothing much. However, lake union marina is across the road. It's apparently safer to stay here than the actual downtown, which is where space needle, pike market etc are.

The street car and a bus stop are across the road making traveling into town a 10-15 and 2-3$ stint.

No restaurant nor bar in the hotel. Breakfast was sad.

One lady at the reception was rather rude but the courteousness of the others made up for it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have enjoyed our stays at Residence Inn's and this was no exception. The staff were efficient and accomodating for our family and two dogs. The room was the biggest we've stayed in yet and like the others very clean and provided a good nights rest. The view of the river front was beautiful and we really enjoyed the openness of the hotel atrium, and the breakfast. The decor was nice; however, the brass/gold finishes made you feel like Don Johnson was going to walk around the corner at any moment. While we knew we were going to pay for parking it did seem steep after all of the additional taxes. That said, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well, altho it was conveniently located to UoW for my kids sports tournament... everything else about this place is a rip-off! $25 p/day for parking PLUS a $5.50 p/day "parking TAX"?!? Yes, you read that right...$35.50 per day for parking. wow. So naturally, the room rate was inflated as well, $170 p/night. Staff was a bit rude, there no fans/ventillation in the gym, and we only got 1 channel on the TV (the hotel info channel...very helpful. Not) Needless to say, we wont be staying here again.

Room Tip: Best value is to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations for your stay with us. Although there is not much I can do about Seattle’s parking taxes, I would welcome your feedback and details on the service issues you encountered. I would love the opportunity to correct those areas for our guests, and perhaps you and your family to be able to stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Only a few hours in town, just coming in off a cruise and flying out early morning hours to return home. The hotel was great with the 2 bed/2 bath option. Shared the hotel room with another couple. Plenty of room, very spacious! We had two balconies, which the view of the water was gorgeous, especially with all of the sailboats!

The hotel provided a free dinner for us, which it was pizza and salad!

The tram was just outside the hotel, which we were able to get on the tram and site see a little before returning to the hotel for the evening!

The hotel was a great value for all that it had to offer!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that faces the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom suite that had plenty of room for my family of 5. Has more ammenidies that we could use including a full kitchen and three flat panel tv's. Free hot breakfast has a very large selection and hot snacks in evenings. Even has a nice self service pantry to variety of food, beverages, & alcohol for purchase. May be a tad far for most of walk downtown, but there is a mass transit Streetcar service directly in front of the hotel and takes you directly to downtown in minutes. This streetcar makes this hotel an ideal location at a better value. Once downtown, easy to take the monorail to the Space Needle. Clean room and super friendly staff. Love this hotel and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: If you have a large group, get ONE hotel room such as the 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom suite instead of pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had to spend a week here due to an apartment flood. It's nice, the employees are friendly and really seem to really care about the place. I did cook one night, but our room's kitchen had pots that wobbled on the 2-burner (and the unit's burners were too close to each other to use more than one pot at a time) stovetop, so the meal took forever to cook. Should have just stuck with the microwave.

But on our seventh day, one of us had little bites. Once we notified the hotel of the bites, the head of housekeeping and the head of maintenance immediately came up and took apart the rooms. They told me that each of them had taken rigorous training to spot and eradicate bugs, and after their search (the rooms definitely looked like they had been searched), they found nothing. They said that because some of their guests had medical requirements, the hotel was very vigilant about overall cleanliness and I believe them. They asked where we had been before (bites show up 7-10 days after), and notified them. So I was impressed at the speed of their response, their knowledge and their commitment to keep their facility clean. Some in our party had to stay longer, and there were no other bites, so the bites did not come from this Residence Inn. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.