We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union to your Saves list
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fab view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed a week here and loved our room, it had a great view of the lake and the space needle. Our balcony was huge with a table and 4 chairs plus a sunbed. The new bed was wonderful and the kitchen was spotless, something you can't say very often these days. Our pots and pans,cutlery and plates etc were all brand new also. Breakfast was very good. Enjoyed it all very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    219
    48
    26
    7
See reviews for
242
104
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this Residence Inn, that is designed (and possibly used to be) more like an embassy suites, with the tiered lobby and waterfalls. The breakfast was above-average for a Residence Inn, the rooms updated and quite clean. The staff was incredibly helpful.

Only con: parking is obnoxiously expensive ($30.50 once tax is factored in) but this seems to be the norm in Seattle, where parking meters adorn every square inch of real estate.

I will stay here again.

Room Tip: High rooms on the bay side have an excellent view of the harbor and space needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
604 reviews 604 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our king suite was spacious and well decorated, much better than many Residence Inns in which we have stayed. Location is great with the South Union Streetcar, Museum of History and Industry, the Lake Union shore, and several good restaurants within a short walk. Breakfast is excellent with lots of variety. The atrium is gorgeous and is a great place to have breakfast. As for a room with a view of Lake Union since the back side rooms look out to a parking lot and an ugly highway.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Wyoming
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Enjoyed our recent 4 day stay here. We are regular Marriott customers, so we come to expect a certain standard, and we were for the most part, impressed. Room was nice, and we had a large patio on the 7th floor overlooking Lake Union. We had our dogs, and if it weren't raining the whole time, they (and us) would have enjoyed spending more time out there... but after all, it is Seattle.

My only 3 complaints were...

1. Two relatively small elevators, right next to each other servicing the entire hotel. The weekend portion of our stay was a pain with taking our dogs out having to wait over and over again for an elevator that wasn't crammed with people.

2. We had a large vehicle (Tahoe) with a cargo carrier. They have exactly 5 parking spaces for large vehicles, underneath the hotel... even then, very little room. It was full, half the time.. plus, we got locked out one night after coming back from a concert.. they let us in after we went inside, but no one mentioned they lock the gate at 11PM. Anyway, we had to pay $25 to park across the street overnight..(which the hotel later reimbursed us for).

3. Failure to mention $25 daily parking rate. Yes, I get this is a city hotel, and parking is a premium... I also understand many city hotel's charge outrageous rates for parking. It's probably listed on their website, but we were never informed about it until after we saw it on our bill. We felt it should have been mentioned, at least.

Overall, these were not major issues, and we were relatively happy with our stay.

Room Tip: some upper level rooms have large patios/decks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent stay, great breakfast starting at 6 each day, beautiful lobby. Staff very friendly and helpful. 4 restaurants across the street right to Lake Union and the marina.
Nightly manager free apps, enough to make a meal. Great place for business people and families.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for a few weeks when on relocation. We were thrilled with the quality of the Residence Inn and would highly recommend it. It is great for families, lots of space, a small pool and a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been staying at the Lake Union Residence Inn, Seattle, for at least six years. During that time the facility has been entirely renovated, the beds have been upgraded to top notch status and the linens have been improved dramatically. Even the substantial morning breakfast offering has been enlarged and upgraded in quality.

This hotel enjoys a wonderful location across the street from the shore of Lake Union and a number of fine dining restaurants. There is ample parking at $25/night rather than $35 in closer downtown hotels. There is even a light rail system that takes you from the hotel to the middle of downtown in about ten minutes.

No this is not the most luxurious hotel in town. We have tried many including the Pan Pacific, our favorite of all. But it is often times fully-booked and can run well over twice as expensive as the Residence Inn.

Another feature that isn't available anywhere else I am aware of in Seattle is two king bedroom/two bathroom suites. For about one and one-half times the cost of the one bedrooom suite, you can share the central area (full-kitchen, living room) with friends or other family members. Bring the family and do it at a very reasonable cost, including a full breakfast!

Staff is excellent, the room is comfortable, everthing is great except for the bathrooms which are straight out of the 80's. This isn't going to change due to cost of restructuring that would be required. They are clean and well maintained. But luxury they aren't, hence the four star rating.

This is a very large hotel, so there are usually rooms available. But do reserve ahead, as their pricing adjusts as their occupancy level increases close to arrival. OH, they also take dogs!

Room Tip: Definitely get a lake view room and the studio units are excellent for a single or couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Seattle
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.