We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth weathering the Mercer Mess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union to your Saves list
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth weathering the Mercer Mess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed here several times, and the service never disappoints. Currently it can be hard to access this hotel because of the massive road construction project nearby, lovingly known by locals as the Mercer (Ave.) Mess. But once you reach it, you will be warmly welcomed, have your questions answered, and feel at home. The hot breakfast--included in your room charge--has eggs, breakfast meat, and lots of fruit, every morning. It is right on the streetcar line, which ends a block from the light rail, so I can reach the hotel without needing a rental car. In 10 minutes I can walk to the ever-growing cluster of restaurants in South Lake Union.

Room Tip: See if there's a room on the lakeside--great views of the Space Needle, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    212
    46
    25
    6
See reviews for
235
103
23
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sitka, ak
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is located at the south end of Lake Union near the city center. The Seattle Light Rail goes right in front of the hotel so you can catch a short ride to the shopping district for only a couple of dollars. I was on a business trip with one other person and we took the 2 bedroom/2 bath suite with kitchen unit. The price paid was fair and was actually cheaper than getting two separate rooms as most Seattle hotel. The front desk staff were great on check in, the lobby area is very expansive and quite striking. The rooms were very clean and the beds were wonderful to sleep on. They have a full hot breakfast that is included and it is very good. The hotel also offers a light dinner a few days a week. Parking at the hotel is a little expensive $25.00 per day but that seems to be the norm in Seattle now. There are a couple of great restaurants across the street if you do not want to venture too far in the evening. This is my third time at this hotel and my favorite in the Seattle area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Overall I like the place. Staff is friendly rooms are clean and proximity to downtown is excellent. Great restaurants at walking distance as well view from the room of the needle is great.
If you are into boating the marina is close by and if you like sailing they provide lessons as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is located just across the street from Lake Union with several good restaurants near enough to walk. Their breakfast (included) is a hot breakfast with different entres every morning. There's always fruit, pastry, cereal, an egg dish and meat. They do allow dogs which is really nice since it is much better to take our dog than to board him. The suites are quite spacious and have a kitchen and separate bedroom. The only thing I object to is the nightly parking fee ($25) but that's probably unavoidable in a downtown location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and we are glad you were able to bring your dog along with you. We always love to have our guest’s furry friends stay with us. We hope to see both of you again soon!

Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here one night on a recent trip to Seattle.

Check in was very quick. Upon arrival, was able to get the parking pass I paid for and park downstairs in the garage. Upon entering the room I found it to be quite large (we had a suite), though the heat was turned down quite low; no worries I can crank that up a bit. After dropping off our stuff, we went back downstairs to the lobby. My wife had some coffee and we talked with the staff at the front desk on recommendations for meals and on transportation (public vs driving). We decided to use the trolley since there is a stop right outside the hotel, which we used to get to the monorail and the space needle. Right across from the hotel are several restaurants; we ate at Duke's which was quite good.
Our stay in the room was uneventful, which is always a good sign at a hotel :). The bed was comfortable and everything was nice and clean.
The next morning we decided to scope out the breakfast. I was surprised to find that the included breakfast had fairly robust offerings, with yogurts, bagels, eggs, waffles, fruits, juices, other pastries, and other hot items (that change daily). The breakfast was quite good and saved us from having to spend money elsewhere for a quality breakfast.
Overall, this hotel was quite good and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved the lobby ambience with the multi-level atrium. A little 90's dated with the abundance of brass but nice nonetheless. Breakfast was very nice selection but extremely busy. Staff were doing their best but they could have used more people for restocking. Don't look for nearby restaurants within walking distance. We tried and just landed up getting soaked from the rain - the choices are slim. Too bad the streetcar doesn't go directly to Space Needle/EMP area. We took the streetcar to Westlake Center Mall and then the monorail to the Space Needle. Double the cost and double the wait time. Our room was perfect for our family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just return from a short stay in Seattle. I picked the Residence Inn for location. It was my 1st stay here. Usually stay around south center. From the time I made the reservation till express departure, never regretted my decision to book my stay here. For additional fee,we took advantage of garage parking, a definite plus. In spite of the big construction going on right adjacent to the property, did not interfear with nights sleep. Very quiet. The bed was wonderful. Just right. I intend to make inquiry as to brand, so we can upgrade our personal bed to this matteress....The kitchen was stocked with the all the necessary utensils you could want, including toaster.
The complementary breakfast lacked nothing. The only bad mark was the slowness of the toaster. The best and most extensive complementary breakfast I have had.
Wonderful stay, we will not have to find another property to book our Seattle stays at ever again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to thank you for all of your compliments. I am so happy you enjoyed our new beds. We just replaced them in December. They are a Simmons Beautyrest World Class Hyde Park Plush mattress. If you are interested, you can get more information from the Simmons Hospitality Bedding website, or give us a call.

Thanks again,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;