We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Seattle Downtown area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 93 hotels in Seattle
sitka, ak
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Seattle Downtown area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is located at the south end of Lake Union near the city center. The Seattle Light Rail goes right in front of the hotel so you can catch a short ride to the shopping district for only a couple of dollars. I was on a business trip with one other person and we took the 2 bedroom/2 bath suite with kitchen unit. The price paid was fair and was actually cheaper than getting two separate rooms as most Seattle hotel. The front desk staff were great on check in, the lobby area is very expansive and quite striking. The rooms were very clean and the beds were wonderful to sleep on. They have a full hot breakfast that is included and it is very good. The hotel also offers a light dinner a few days a week. Parking at the hotel is a little expensive $25.00 per day but that seems to be the norm in Seattle now. There are a couple of great restaurants across the street if you do not want to venture too far in the evening. This is my third time at this hotel and my favorite in the Seattle area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    183
    39
    16
    4
See reviews for
198
96
20
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Overall I like the place. Staff is friendly rooms are clean and proximity to downtown is excellent. Great restaurants at walking distance as well view from the room of the needle is great.
If you are into boating the marina is close by and if you like sailing they provide lessons as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is located just across the street from Lake Union with several good restaurants near enough to walk. Their breakfast (included) is a hot breakfast with different entres every morning. There's always fruit, pastry, cereal, an egg dish and meat. They do allow dogs which is really nice since it is much better to take our dog than to board him. The suites are quite spacious and have a kitchen and separate bedroom. The only thing I object to is the nightly parking fee ($25) but that's probably unavoidable in a downtown location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and we are glad you were able to bring your dog along with you. We always love to have our guest’s furry friends stay with us. We hope to see both of you again soon!

Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here one night on a recent trip to Seattle.

Check in was very quick. Upon arrival, was able to get the parking pass I paid for and park downstairs in the garage. Upon entering the room I found it to be quite large (we had a suite), though the heat was turned down quite low; no worries I can crank that up a bit. After dropping off our stuff, we went back downstairs to the lobby. My wife had some coffee and we talked with the staff at the front desk on recommendations for meals and on transportation (public vs driving). We decided to use the trolley since there is a stop right outside the hotel, which we used to get to the monorail and the space needle. Right across from the hotel are several restaurants; we ate at Duke's which was quite good.
Our stay in the room was uneventful, which is always a good sign at a hotel :). The bed was comfortable and everything was nice and clean.
The next morning we decided to scope out the breakfast. I was surprised to find that the included breakfast had fairly robust offerings, with yogurts, bagels, eggs, waffles, fruits, juices, other pastries, and other hot items (that change daily). The breakfast was quite good and saved us from having to spend money elsewhere for a quality breakfast.
Overall, this hotel was quite good and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved the lobby ambience with the multi-level atrium. A little 90's dated with the abundance of brass but nice nonetheless. Breakfast was very nice selection but extremely busy. Staff were doing their best but they could have used more people for restocking. Don't look for nearby restaurants within walking distance. We tried and just landed up getting soaked from the rain - the choices are slim. Too bad the streetcar doesn't go directly to Space Needle/EMP area. We took the streetcar to Westlake Center Mall and then the monorail to the Space Needle. Double the cost and double the wait time. Our room was perfect for our family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just return from a short stay in Seattle. I picked the Residence Inn for location. It was my 1st stay here. Usually stay around south center. From the time I made the reservation till express departure, never regretted my decision to book my stay here. For additional fee,we took advantage of garage parking, a definite plus. In spite of the big construction going on right adjacent to the property, did not interfear with nights sleep. Very quiet. The bed was wonderful. Just right. I intend to make inquiry as to brand, so we can upgrade our personal bed to this matteress....The kitchen was stocked with the all the necessary utensils you could want, including toaster.
The complementary breakfast lacked nothing. The only bad mark was the slowness of the toaster. The best and most extensive complementary breakfast I have had.
Wonderful stay, we will not have to find another property to book our Seattle stays at ever again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to thank you for all of your compliments. I am so happy you enjoyed our new beds. We just replaced them in December. They are a Simmons Beautyrest World Class Hyde Park Plush mattress. If you are interested, you can get more information from the Simmons Hospitality Bedding website, or give us a call.

Thanks again,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the best Residence Inn we have stayed at yet. The location was perfect for us, near downtown but also a quick shot for us to family who live on Green Lake. The check in was flawless and when asked where we would be driving to, the gal printed out the quickest directions to that sight, avoiding the interstate.
The room had a view of Lake Union, a sight to see with some of the Christmas lights still on at night. Fabulous night's sleep, oh so quiet. And finished it with a hot breakfast. Oh and of course, a morning soak in the hot tub.
Thank you, Marriott. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a high praise! We are very happy you found us, and look forward to seeing you the next time you come to visit your family.

Thanks again,
Ryan Noel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown
Residence Inn Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn
Address: 800 Fairview Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.