We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a first class stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Seattle to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
McMinnville, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always a first class stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Seattle. It's perfectly situated, beautiful rooms and facility, first class customer service. You're in the heart of the downtown retail district, only 6 blocks to Pike Place Market and within walking distance to every food option you could imagine. No pool at this location but it has a great workout facility. We were fortunate to stay in the Emerald Suite on the top floor. Space Needle out one window, beautiful Elliott Bay out the other window. Perfect views! We can't wait until our next visit to the Grand Hyatt Seattle.

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra for a suite - they offer the best views and plenty of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It's so great that you had a good stay! Thank you for returning and we're so glad that we have been able to stay consistent in meeting your needs and keeping you delighted. It's wonderful that you got to experience the great views and well appointed suites that the Grand Hyatt Seattle offers. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    444
    68
    32
    22
See reviews for
212
515
113
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great hotel in a a very central location, close to restaurants, theatres, convention centre. The room had a beautiful view. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower stall and bathtub. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. There is a steam room and sauna, but no pool. There is a Starbucks, deli, sushi restaurant, and steak house on the main level. Stayed only one night, but will definitely stay again when in Seattle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Don't get me wrong, its a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Great bathroom and shower! Amazing views out of most rooms, I would imagine. We had a great view of the Space Needle and Pike St. Oddly, I had requested a different view a month in advance, even mentioning what room number we would prefer, and that it was our anniversary. It seemed as though those requests went completely unnoticed, even when I asked for a room change at check in. The front desk person said that it was the only room available. Other than that one front desk person, every staff member was very friendly and helpful, especially the valet service. So, here's the kinda strange stuff that was wrong (Room #2322):

1. Lots of little dings, dents, and mystery stains on the walls. Could really use a refresh.
2. Not super quiet. You can here people in the hallway and neighboring rooms quite clearly as well as street noise.
3. The bed was lumpy and sunken in. The mattress is dated May of 2008. Maybe it's been rode hard?
4. No fridge?
5. No free Wi-fi. (I get that, it's #6 that I don't get!)
6. YOU HAVE TO PAY $28/hr. TO USE THE BUSINESS CENTER COMPUTER!!! That does not include the cost to print something. Never seen the likes of that before. Draconian!
7. The safe didn't work in our room. (dead battery???)
8. Elevators are slow arriving and many of the buttons do not light up inside or outside the elevator.

As a side note, I am a Hyatt Gold Member. I did not reserve this room through a discount site. I did everything on Hyatt's website and paid the full daily rate expecting my room to be commensurate. It was not. As an interesting counter, our stay at the Hyatt at Olive 8 a few years ago was completely the opposite, with the desk staff taking note of every request, even sending up champagne at no charge when I had mentioned it was our anniversary. Hopefully, Hyatt takes note and makes the "Grand Hyatt" live up to its namesake.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room numbers ending in "22" for a view of the Space Needle, Pikes Street, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

As a Hyatt rewards member, I've stayed at a number of their locations and all levels. I'm always happy with the quality and staff. This was no exception - the executive suite with the waterfront view was excellent and each staff member was prompt and courteous. Any amenity needed was available, the location to downtown attractions was perfect for walking, and the Elaia spa next door at their Olive 8 hotel was a great extra. Ask for Sarah and the Signature massage. The combination of massage, Thai stretches and a skilled therapist was exactly right for a road weary traveller!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! And thank you for being a Hyatt Gold Passport member. We love when we get to know our repeat guests. It's so wonderful that you got to experience Elaia, the full service organic spa at our sister-property the Hyatt at Olive 8. There are many gifted therapists on staff and it is a great way to relax. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I requested a high floor away from the elevator in my reservation and that was exactly what I got. Checking in was fast, friendly,and efficient. The room was clean, the bathroom huge with a very nice shower. The room was very quiet and was exactly what I had expected. The only two gripes I have was that the bathroom only had one robe to start (quickly remedied by the helpful staff) and that the on demand movies were $15, even for old stuff. Not a huge deal, but I honestly think they'd sell more if the price were more reasonable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We always try to accomodate any request and exceed your expectations. It's wonderful that all of the features and amenities in the room made your stay so great. We look forward to seeing you agian on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this place. The location is fantastic, the staff very accommodating, the rooms great and bathrooms a piece of heaven! It is a huge hotels so some might find it a little cold but not to me!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.