We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location, clean large room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Seattle to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“central location, clean large room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We again spent 4 pleasant days/nights at Seattle Grand Hyatt. It is centrally located next to the convention center, next to many shops, Pacific Place shopping center, 2 movie theaters and many restaurants, Starbuck below, minutes of walk to activities, dept stores and more shopping center within 2-3 blocks. Room is clean and plenty of space, fall asleep fast all the way to morning, services are nice and polite, not overly close, elevators are fast with no wait. I was given free internet access upon check in without asking for it, and late 3PM checkout just by asking. Excellent hotel for business travelers like us. A very pleasant and comfortable stay, will be back 6 months later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! It's great that you got to experience the city because of our convenient location close to Nordstrom, Pacific Place Mall, and Pikes Place Market. It's wonderful that you were so pleased with the room and were able to get good rest as your comfort and happiness are our number one priority here at the Grand Hyatt Seattle. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a few months.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    409
    64
    29
    19
See reviews for
194
477
107
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here from January 11-12 in a king room. Tried to check in at 12pm and luckily enough, my room was already cleaned. (Jonathan at the front desk was very good-natured and helpful.) Although no free upgrades were available, my booked room was more than sufficient for one person. I was on the 24th floor with a view of the city and Space Needle. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. I appreciated the small details they provided like the Aquafresh toothpaste and electronic blackout curtains. Wifi comes with a fee but I signed up for their frequent customer club to get free wifi. Loved the huge bathroom, although I don't think the full marble countertop is consistent in all of the rooms (a friend staying on the same floor had only the sink). Perfect location, a block away from the Paramount Theatre and two blocks from Pacific Place and plenty of restaurants and shopping. A quick 5 minute walk to Capitol Hill. I will definitely stay here again. Only two quibbles are the hot water took forever to even become warm in the sink (like, several minutes) and the valet parking is rather expensive (>$40/night after tax). I would probably look at nearby parking garages instead, but parked here for the convenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We are always happy when we are able to allow our guests to check in early and accomodate their needs. It's wonderful that our central location allows our guests to walk to a show at the Paramount Theatre or go shopping at Pacific Place Mall. We are pleased that the amenities in the room were beneficial and that the blackout shades and great view made your stay "perfect." We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon/washington
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here coming back from a long, late international flight. (Light rail from airport to Westlake station - last one - a couple blocks walk.) My stay was excellent from start to finish. Wonderful tub to soak away airplane aches, big shower to invigorate the next morning. I always love the generous ginger-scented toiletries at Hyatt. Decor is stylish, warm, inviting. Beds are fantastic - tons of pillows, perfect firmness, great linens. Super clean. Next morning, a block's walk to convention center for shuttle bus home. Perfect! Will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback. We're so glad that we could provide what you needed after your long travels; your comfort and happiness are our number one priority and we are so pleased that were able to relax. We also love that our central location and close proximity to the Convention Center make it easy for our guests to access their meetings and public transportation. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle!

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel over new years eve 2012
Thanks to the hotel for:
1. Very professional service
2. Great room!
3. Great location

and last of all, a great new years eve party

I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Decided to do the annual trip to Seattle and take advantage of the SeaHawk game while celebrating New Years 12/30-1/1/2013. This was our second time staying at this property. It was a very pleasant experience. The staff greeted us throughout our stay as we passed through the lobby. The Corner King Suite on the 26th floor had panoramic views of the city which lit the night like fire flies twinkling through the night. Very comfortable bed, marble bath & shower. Well stocked mini bar and coffee. Flat screens in both the bed and lounge areas. My favorite was the elec window shades. I just love pushing buttons :>) Love Seattle but there's " No Place Like Home" Thank you Grand Hyatt!

Room Tip: Highest Floors available - King Corner Suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for the evening of New Year's Eve. Our plan was to have a nice dinner at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, which is connected to the lobby, and watch the fireworks at the Space Needle from our room. I called at least 10 hotels throughout Seattle back in November to try to find one that would guarantee a view of the Space Needle. When I spoke with the front desk, I told them exactly what we wanted to do, and was transferred to the reservations line, where I again repeated that our desire was for a Space Needle view room from which to watch the fireworks display. I was assured by the agent that they would note that we needed a Space Needle view, and that should not be a problem. We arrived at the hotel on New Year's Eve to discover that we were booked into a water view room. I immediately told the front desk staff that we had reserved Space Needle view, and they responded that unless we booked the specific New Year's Eve package there were no Space Needle view rooms available. As you can imagine this was very disturbing, considering neither the front desk, nor the reservation agent had mentioned anything regarding a New Year's Eve package when I had called, and told them specifically that we were come for New Year's Eve to see the fireworks. After some insistence from my husband they were able to sort it out, and found a room for us with a great view of the Space Needle. Not so much a complaint about the staff at the hotel, but perhaps the reservation agents should be a little better informed? In any case, the hotel itself is lovely, and in a great central location. Surrounded by shopping, and only a short walk to the monorail and Pike's Market. We stayed on the club level, and had access to the lounge, which was nice for drinks during the day, and a nice little breakfast spread in the morning. Great place, and we would stay again, just really make sure you confirm if you are looking for a specific room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Seattle within blocks of a very nice retail sector. The light rail system from the airport is very easy to use and only costs $2.75 per person, each way! It's about a 30 minute train ride, but it takes you past many sites and suburbs along the way. There is a shuttle service to the Snoqualmie ski resort (not operated by the hotel). The company picks you up a block from the hotel and provides round trip transportation to/from the mountain for $35! The Grand Hyatt is VERY nice and very reasonably priced. It is modern, clean and the staff is very good. I got a rate of $135/night at it was worth every penny. Great views from the rooms and REALLY nice bathrooms. I will definitely stay here again - for business (their niche) or pleasure with the family. The health club is also large and clean with a good variety of equipment and a steam room and sauna.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We're so glad you had such a wonderful stay, thank you for your great feedback. We love that we are so centrally located making it easy for our guests to take advantage of all the economical Link lightrail and the Snoqualmie shuttle, as well as easil walk to Nordstrom or Pikes Place Market. We love that you enjoyed the room and amenities, our views of the city are fantastic. Hope you had a great day on the slopes and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.