We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Seattle

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Seattle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seattle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #18 of 95 hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the NYE weekend, and we liked this hotel!

Pros:
* Quiet rooms. We upgraded to a corner on the 17th floor, and the bedroom is very quiet.
* Almost-new rooms. As you can see in the photos, the condition of our room was excellent.
* Good service - everyone we interacted with (check-in, check-out, other folks we talked with, etc) was very courteous and helpful.
* Location - we arrived very late our first night, and didn't feel the least bit unsafe. Just a few blocks from the market and downtown.

Cons:
* Dining is a bit limited. There's Ruth's Chris and Starbucks (or in-room dining, priced like Ruth's Chris), but no breakfast buffet or hotel restaurant. (The spectrum is wide, but not a lot in the middle.)

But that's about it. Overall, we liked this place. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    354
    55
    26
    15
See reviews for
156
423
94
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for Christmas. Used the Hyatt points, but looking at the price listed, it is very reasonable, especially for such a great location and amenities.

Customer Service:
I have been a member of Hyatt for years, and I must say, I have never been as impressed by the customer service as at the Grand Hyatt Seattle. Normally, at more corporate hotel like this, you receive the more courteous type of customer service, more like "I'm doing this because I have to, not because I want to". But here, everyone is very friendly and seems generally happy to help. We were also greeted by our names, which hardly ever happens anymore in this type of hotel. In fact, after our stay, the Mr actually called the hotel to find out where they got their salmon served at the Grand Club was from and they actually contacted him back w/ the information. It was a simple gesture, but I have contacted other hotel to find information on something they served during our previous stay, and was ignored even though they're known for their excellent customer service.

Room:
We had a gorgeous view of the water from our room. The room itself is not too big, but not too small; very comfortable size for a hotel room. The bathroom however is not the typical Hyatt bathroom. It reminds me more of the Vegas hotels bathroom (think Bellagio, Wynn, etc). Loved the soak tub, and my request for bath salt was accommodated without any problems, although I am still confused as to why hotels w/ tubs don't provide bath salt/soap for this purpose without having to request it. You can't exactly use regular shower gel to take a bath.
The bed is typical Hyatt bed, comfortable enough. However, the pillows are so flat we had to fluff them up by sleeping on two (three for me). I don't understand why hotels spend so much money on every other aspect of their hotels, except for the pillows. You spend most of your time on top of them, comfort is necessity!

Location: you know what that say, location location location. Walking distance to pretty much everything. Granted Seattle is not that big and easily accessible, but this location is located in a perfect spot for tourists. You are literarily smacked in the middle of the shopping area when you walk out of the hotel, and just a short few blocks walk to Pike Place. It's only 1 or 2 block walk to the bus stop so hopping in and out of busses is not a problem at all.

Fitness Center:
I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the fitness center. Plenty of machines and selections.
Minor incident which really wasn't the hotel's fault. Perhaps they should put up a big giant sign before the door to the hot tub area instead of the corner so everyone could see that proper attires are required to enter the area. Sure, it should be common knowledge that this area is coed, but apparently it is not common knowledge at all. We had the unpleasant incident w/ three women who let's just say not dressed for a coed area. It was uncomfortable for all, but especially for the Mr whose hot tubbing time was cut short w/ this incident.

Grand Club:
Okay, I've heard a lot of complaints about their Grand Club from another travel forum, so I wasn't expecting a lot. Sockeye salmon they served in the morning is the Mr's favorite (thus the calling the hotel for info on it). They don't serve hot food for breakfast, but honestly, I quite enjoy grabbing something quick here and having breakfast/lunch/brunch elsewhere later on. A lot of time, the breakfast served at the hotel isn't exactly the best quality anyway.
The afternoon snack consists of hot appetizers, veggies and dips, and drinks. Not a lot of selections, but good enough for snacking purposes. Alcohol is extra, which we weren't aware of *not that it'd stop us from ordering, but it'd be nice if there's a sign to indicate that* (the last day, the magic sign was there; perhaps someone complained?).
I must disclose that we had free access to the Grand Club because of my status. Not sure if I'd pay extra for it honestly. The view from the club was beautiful and the room was comfortable to hang out in, however, the food selection isn't worth how much you'd have to pay for. But since it's free for us, I can't complain much.

In conclusion, we had a great stay, and we will definitely consider the Grand Hyatt next time we're in Seattle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

stayed here xmas and nye 2011. loved it.
we had suite on 28th floor overlooking awesome views.
brill staff.
food service was great.
clean sheets and very tidy rooms.
would stay here again. love it in winter times. so pretty.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

One of my favorite hotels to stay at. The room floors are very well done, quiet leaving to your room.

I love the corner rooms giving one an incredible view of the city.

Room Tip: Corner rooms !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

spent just 2 nights. got great rate b/c slow period between christmas and NYE. good location. anyone we interacted w at the property was very friendly. had corner room on high floor w/ good view. comfy bed. little things: single sheet toilet paper, crudy little plastic garbage cans, one cup serving in-room coffee machines and enough lotion for 1/2 of one body is sort of irritating in a Hyatt Grand. (but it was the same at the Grand Hyatt Waikiki a few months ago so that's a Hyatt ding, not particular to this location, I guess)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Grand Hyatt is in a great location in Seattle. It is close to theaters, shopping and within a mile of Pike Place Market. My intention was to find a quiet and comfortable location to get some work done. Staying on the 24th floor, I had a great view and comfortable chair to work in and a lovely room. Marble bathroom, big comfortable tub as well as separate shower. My only complaint would be that they charge for internet access which is ridiculous when you consider that I could go downstairs to the Starbucks in the clobby and use it for the cost of a cup of coffee. Overall, lovely hotel, beautiful interiors, great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have stayed here a dozen times over the past year and have never had an issue. Extremely clean rooms and helpful staff make this one of the best places I have ever stayed.

If you partake - Ruth Chris Steak House in in the hotel. Happy Hour is a great value and plenty of people to keep you from getting bored.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view. Get a suite if you can, they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#13 Business Hotel in Seattle
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.