We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but very expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Westlake Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I just live 35 miles south in Lakewood but my coworker and I decided to stay a night while teaching and not fight the traffic. Our rooms were not the view rooms, we overlooked some construction but overall it was still quite nice. The room was spaceous, the TV HUGE, the bed very comfy and I was thrilled to see that not only did they have it appointed for business folks there were outlets ABOVE the level of the tables so for one I didn't have to move furniture and string the extension cord/power stip to plug in the electrical equipment I must travel with. Huge kudos for that. I heard no noise from the hall nor from outside. We were too tired to go looking for a local restaurant so ate there. Service was barely adequate though friendly, the meal was below average by far. We skipped breakfast and stopped in at the local Starbucks instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and I wanted you to know that I have reviewed your concerns regarding your dinner with our Restaurant Manager. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you again and we do hope that you will consider staying at our property if your travels ever bring you back to Seattle

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    138
    64
    25
    12
See reviews for
75
63
16
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked a 6 night stay at this hotel for a family vacation while my husband was in town for business. We left after 1 night.

We arrived on a Saturday night. While it is a lovely hotel, and nicely appointed rooms, we could smell weed in the hallway as we made our way to our room. We notified the hotel staff and they were on it quickly and freshened the air.

The walls were HORRIBLY thin. There were several young men in the hotel next to us and we could hear everything from that room. Overnight, we could hear doors opening and closing in the hallway.

The double beds were not firm enough and I kept rolling into my husband all night long. This was the main reason we switched hotels. I could not sleep like this for almost a week.

The odd thing was when we checked out early, the staff never asked why.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your most current stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Lake Union.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. At Marriott we take great pride in providing an exceptional product and service to our guests and in this case it sounds like that was not the case.

I did want to let you know that all of our rooms with two double beds will be recieving new Mattresses, Box springs and bed frames on July 18th and 9th of this year. Our King beds were all replaced last year.

We appreciate all feedback as well as the opportunity to resolve any guest displeasure efficiently and effectively as soon as it happens when made aware of the situation.

Thank you again for your feedback
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott across from Lake Union. There is some construction going on right now by the hotel but the traffic wasn't much worse than anywhere else in downtown Seattle. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice with a beautiful view overlooking Lake Union. We could watch the seaplanes take off and land from our window which was fun. The restaurant had a nice breakfast buffet each morning as well as a menu you could order from. I was able to get a cab, bus or catch the trolley with only a short walk from the front door. The price was a bit high but lower than comparable hotels downtown. Parking is underground but is $22 a night.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a view of Lake Union and make sure you are high enough to see over the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and I will certainly pass your feedback along to my staff. I hope you will consider staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown Lake union if your travels ever bring you back to Seattle.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. We had a room on the 12th floor. Great view, easy walk to restaurants, light rail station, and Pike Market. Staff suggested sights to see and places to eat downtown. We did not have a car, but if you do, be aware you will need to use Valet parking. Light rail is one block up the hill and goes to the airport.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and I will certainly pass your feedback along to my staff. I hope you will consider staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown Lake union if your travels ever bring you back to Seattle.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel has an amazing view of Lake Union, but it is overpriced. You are clearly paying for the location in this case, but you can find hotels closer to downtown for a similar price that avoid some of the more major construction. While this is not the hotel's fault, there is a ton of construction going on that makes this place very difficult to get to by either driving or walking. This point cannot be emphasized enough. Due to construction, you have to go out of your way to get to anything. There is simply no way to get through the construction. The hotel seems to be conveniently located, but you have to cross major roads to get to any attractions surrounding the hotel. This makes things more complicated and stressful.

The decor is nice, but housekeeping is lacking. The room was nice, neat, and orderly when we arrived, but they failed to maintain it properly during our stay. We are not messy people, so there is little to do each day other than make our bed. They didn't even do that properly. Music could be heard in our room day and night, but we could not find the source. It should be mentioned that we were on the top floor, so I suspect the music was coming from another room in the hotel.

The hotel restaurant is horrible. It is incredibly overpriced, and the service is terrible. We only went the first night we arrived, a Tuesday. We had to wait several minutes before we were even greeted and sat. There was virtually no one in the restaurant, so they can't even claim they were busy. We got basic burgers (which cost about $15 a piece including tax). They both came out overcooked. The char completely overpowered any flavor there may have been, and the meat was overworked in general. One of the servers (not our server) overheard my complaints and asked if I wanted a new one, but it was not worth the fuss. I am always weary when meat ordered medium rare comes out well done. In my experience, sending it back will not result in better food. Our server seemed nice, but we only saw her a couple times. We did not see her at all after she took our order. Another server brought us our food, checked on us as we ate, and brought us the check. I did see our server as we were leaving the restaurant taking someone else's order. It appears she just completely ignored us after getting our order.

Overall, I recommend you take your business elsewhere. The place is not terrible, but it is not worth the cost. It is a standard Courtyard, and standard Courtyards, even located in the heart of a major city, are (max) $150 hotels on a busy weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill a TripAdvisor survey. We appreciate your honest and candid feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I have relayed your comments to our Restaurant Manager so that he is aware.

I also wanted to let you know that the Mercer St project construction near and around our hotel is about to be completed near the end of July. The majority of the work will then move t the western part of Mercer st closer to the Seattle Center. Of course by the time the project is completed the area will be very pedestrian friendly with larger sidewalks and landscaping.

thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was an OK stay - service was average. The room was average - and noise level is high. And all of it was not worth the price - very overpriced. As someone else said, front desk is inadequate and there seemed to be little interest in customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and I will certainly review your feedback with my fornt office staff. I hope you will consider staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown Lake union if your travels ever bring you back to Seattle.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I travel to this place about every 4 weeks and this is the place that I stay. Great location to downtown and the view of the water is super nice. The staff is very friendly and the parking is very easy to get in and out of. They have a bar onsite which is nice if you want to grab something to eat. The bed was comfy and the room was very spacious and clean. I plan on staying here for all my Seattle visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union

Address: 925 Westlake Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Courtyard Seattle Downtown
Seattle Marriott
Seattle Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.