We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, but not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Westlake Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Snellville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, but not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel has an amazing view of Lake Union, but it is overpriced. You are clearly paying for the location in this case, but you can find hotels closer to downtown for a similar price that avoid some of the more major construction. While this is not the hotel's fault, there is a ton of construction going on that makes this place very difficult to get to by either driving or walking. This point cannot be emphasized enough. Due to construction, you have to go out of your way to get to anything. There is simply no way to get through the construction. The hotel seems to be conveniently located, but you have to cross major roads to get to any attractions surrounding the hotel. This makes things more complicated and stressful.

The decor is nice, but housekeeping is lacking. The room was nice, neat, and orderly when we arrived, but they failed to maintain it properly during our stay. We are not messy people, so there is little to do each day other than make our bed. They didn't even do that properly. Music could be heard in our room day and night, but we could not find the source. It should be mentioned that we were on the top floor, so I suspect the music was coming from another room in the hotel.

The hotel restaurant is horrible. It is incredibly overpriced, and the service is terrible. We only went the first night we arrived, a Tuesday. We had to wait several minutes before we were even greeted and sat. There was virtually no one in the restaurant, so they can't even claim they were busy. We got basic burgers (which cost about $15 a piece including tax). They both came out overcooked. The char completely overpowered any flavor there may have been, and the meat was overworked in general. One of the servers (not our server) overheard my complaints and asked if I wanted a new one, but it was not worth the fuss. I am always weary when meat ordered medium rare comes out well done. In my experience, sending it back will not result in better food. Our server seemed nice, but we only saw her a couple times. We did not see her at all after she took our order. Another server brought us our food, checked on us as we ate, and brought us the check. I did see our server as we were leaving the restaurant taking someone else's order. It appears she just completely ignored us after getting our order.

Overall, I recommend you take your business elsewhere. The place is not terrible, but it is not worth the cost. It is a standard Courtyard, and standard Courtyards, even located in the heart of a major city, are (max) $150 hotels on a busy weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill a TripAdvisor survey. We appreciate your honest and candid feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I have relayed your comments to our Restaurant Manager so that he is aware.

I also wanted to let you know that the Mercer St project construction near and around our hotel is about to be completed near the end of July. The majority of the work will then move t the western part of Mercer st closer to the Seattle Center. Of course by the time the project is completed the area will be very pedestrian friendly with larger sidewalks and landscaping.

thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    138
    64
    25
    12
See reviews for
75
63
16
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was an OK stay - service was average. The room was average - and noise level is high. And all of it was not worth the price - very overpriced. As someone else said, front desk is inadequate and there seemed to be little interest in customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and I will certainly review your feedback with my fornt office staff. I hope you will consider staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown Lake union if your travels ever bring you back to Seattle.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I travel to this place about every 4 weeks and this is the place that I stay. Great location to downtown and the view of the water is super nice. The staff is very friendly and the parking is very easy to get in and out of. They have a bar onsite which is nice if you want to grab something to eat. The bed was comfy and the room was very spacious and clean. I plan on staying here for all my Seattle visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms are very nice. The check in process not so easy, we did have a group but the arrangements had been taken care of ahead of time. when we got there it was like these ahead of time conversations had never happened. They were defiantly in need of front desk help. I do feel a microwave in the room would have been a big help. The food that could be purchased in the lobby was so wildly overpriced. 22.00$ a day for parking seems to be a ridiculous price. The location is the best asset, except that there was construction all over. Our breakfast was included, but if it had not been I certainly would not have eaten there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldendale, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms a bit small, but clean and comfortable. we were in room 546 overlooking the lake very pretty. Area around hotel is under construction but not really a problem while we were there. Staff very friendly and helpful. we chose to pay for the parking but our friends parked in the parking lot directly across the street and never had a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNSON CREEK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently visited our son who is stationed at Fort Lewis. I picked this hotel based on the price but we couldn't have asked for anything better. The location was only a few blocks from the Space Needle and a short walk to catch the trolley to downtown. The staff went over and above in helping us,whether it was maps for downtown or finding a grocery store or making a dinner reservation for us. Our room was very spacious and always cleaned properly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. I will definitely pass them on to our staff.

Thank you
Sincerely,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel has just recently been remodeled and it is fabulous! Very beautifully done, and the location is top notch. The room I stayed in was huge! The ceiling was vaulted and the windows were very large and old style looking but modernized for warmth and noise. It felt like I was in an uptown studio apartment. The furniture was all new and very pretty. The bed was quality comfort and I slept like a baby.
The Hotel staff was amazing! They were all very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed. Starbucks is directly across the street (I think there is one in-house as well).

I would definately recommend this place to stay if you are planning to travel to Seattle.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 10th floor, I think there is 14 stories, if you like a great view, the higher th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaplaneview, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback regarding your most recent stay.

Sincerely,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union

Address: 925 Westlake Ave. N, Seattle, WA 98109
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Courtyard Seattle Downtown
Seattle Marriott
Seattle Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Seattle Downtown / Lake Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.