We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, OK location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Seattle to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“OK hotel, OK location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The hotel is all-right, location is pretty good, we could walk everywhere and we didn´t pay too much.
you get what you pay for, not much else. and the next time we travel to Seattle we will probably choose a better hotel.
i guess this hotel is OK for the price you pay, and if you don´t stay much inside.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascrai, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We are expecting to begin an extensive rennovation for our hotel. We will be changing the decor of the rooms that will encompass things such as new furniture, carpet, wall vinyl and most importantly HD flat screen televisions. We hope that when you come back to Seattle, you will stay with us and enjoy all the changes ahead. I am not sure if you visited our restaurant (the Emerald Grill) but, it also is going to have a major rennovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    173
    97
    24
    12
See reviews for
96
118
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The service at this Holiday Inn was great. We would certainly stay there again if in Seattle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascrai, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you so much for your review. We do hope you stop in and stay with us the next time you visit Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This hotel is suitable. We stayed on the executive floor during our stay. There was free wifi which was a nice bonus. There are no views from any of the rooms. For a view of the space needle you will need to check into the holiday inn express next door. The parking garage is the tightest parking garage I have even been in. When I was entering. another car was exiting and thee had to backup a full level before we could pass each other. On the bright side, it only cost $10. The room was spacious and included a kitchenette with a microwave and sink. The executive lounge had 2 computers with internet access, free breakfast and evening drinks. If travelling back to Seattle to visit the space needle I would likely stay at the Holiday Inn Express to give it a try. Also, the neighborhood around this hotel is shady at best, but it allows for quick and easy access into and out of seattle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascrai, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you for your review. I hope you come back and see us again when you in our fine city of Seattle. I also want to let you know that prior to the new year we are going to be doing a rennovation that will please you even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This Holiday Inn is right next door to a Holiday Inn Express. If we had it to do over again, we would stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The Holiday Inn wasn't bad, but it is rather dated and in need of an update. When we walked into the lobby, I had flashbacks of the early 80's. Everything was clean, though. We arrived about three hours prior to the stated check-in time; but they went ahead and put us in a room, which we greatly appreciated. The only problem we had during our stay was our toilet did not work quite right. For this inconvenience, they waived the parking fee. On a positive note, the location is great! Seattle Center, with the Space Needle and other attractions, is only a few blocks away. We even walked to Pike Place Market, although that is some distance away. All in all, it wasn't a bad experience; but we would probably choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascrai, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
i wanted to take a moment and thank you for your review. You are right it is time for an update and as luck would have it we will be doing that in the next few months to come. We think you will be surprised and impressed at the changes you will see when you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

First, you need to know that the Holiday Inn Express is right next to the Holiday Inn hotel. Different check-in and parking areas.

When we arrived after a long day of flying to the Emerald City, we were greeted by friendly and thoroughly professional staff. I am a Priority Club member, a a fact that was not lost on the staff (it said so on my reservation). The Lobby was light and spacious and our room was very clean and modern/up-to-date with the amenities of a refrigerator, microwave and sink. Our room overlooked Dexter Avenue and although a rather busy street, it was quiet and we slept well.

Being somewhat jet-lagged, we opted for the restaurant at the hotel our first night. A thoroughly pleasant surprise. The food was good, and the staff friendly and attentive. This also turned out to be just as true in the morning breakfast as well. We ordered room service after our first night here. Room service was equally timely, friendly, and the food was quite good.

Located just across from the Seattle Center, it was well located for our daily excursions around town for the various sights we wanted to see. A morning walk to Queen Anne Hill got the morning started with views of the city, the Space Needle, and the Mountain (when it's out).

About the parking in the underground garage...not for the timid. The compact car spaces are designed for just that...compact cars. I assume the spaces on the lower level are larger, but I never had a problem finding a space on the upper level (I was driving a compact rental car). But if you are driving a "land-yacht," like the 1970's Cadillac Fleetwood I saw shoe-horned into a "compact car" space on the upper level, you are going to find parking a challenge. Trust me. It will be easier to have other riders wait for you in the lobby, which is easy to reach once you leave the garage.

We had three very pleasant nights here and wanted to stay here again on our last night in Seattle a week later, but they were already booked for the weekend. We would definitely return here again based on our experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascrai, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
I wanted to thank you for your review of our hotel. As the new General Manager of this fine establishment I am proud to have a staff that really does care about each guest. In the coming months you will see even better changes to this great hotel and hope you visit us again when you are in our beautiful city of Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Plus - large king suites, attentive staff, bar in hotel, everything in the city is a quick cab ride away

Negs - off street parking, but below the building - dicey, lousy neighborhood, overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We found this Holiday Inn to be a reasonable place to stay if on a budget and if you plan to spend minimal time in the room. It is not too far from the attractions and provides a comfortable clean bed (although the floor could have been a little cleaner)
Having said that, it was basic and adequate and not luxurious. We discovered that there were better choices if you are willing to shell out another 40 or so dollars per night. We'd recommend staying here if saving money is a priority.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle

Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.