We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...10 min walk to the Space Needle.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Seattle to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel...10 min walk to the Space Needle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

We got this hotel using Hotwire...great deal!

It looks a bit older from the outside, but the inside is newly renovated and very clean. The desk staff was very friendly, and we were given a little bag with a bottle of water and microwave popcorn on arrival.

Our room was new and had a fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. They also provided a few disposable plates/cutlery for the microwave...fantastic idea!

We asked for a few extra towels as we had our two little girls with us...they were delivered to our room right away :)

We walked to the Space Needle and it took about 10 minutes. The hotel is on the other side of Aurora Ave (very busy road!) I wish the hotel was on the same side as the Space Needle, but oh well!

I've been to Seattle many times and have paid $200+ per night to stay at places like the Edgewater and the Monaco. I must say that this hotel is a FAR BETTER deal!

We will definitely be back to the Holiday Inn on Dexter! Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to fill out such a wonderful response about our hotel on Trip Advisor! We are actually still in the process of renovating some of the areas of the hotel, but so far everything that the renovations team has touched has been completely transformed, and we are on the edges of our seats, waiting for everything to be finished so that we can show off our beautiful property! I'm glad that you got to be a part of this process, and that you get to share in our excitement for the changes that are taking place.

Please come back and visit us soon, and prepare to be even more impressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    173
    97
    24
    12
See reviews for
96
118
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My 2nd stay at this location. The rooms are clean and well layout. There is underground parking and always availabe spaces even late at night. The hotel is in a quiet area but just a few driving minutes to the popular areas. I like hotels like this when i am traveling on business. A nice and clean hotel to rest after a day of hard work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay, it really means a lot to us!

I hope you come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisVegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

A bit of a walk to Pike Street Markets. Not many restaurants within walking distance. If you have a car it is easy to get around. I'd recommend for couples or the busy traveller.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback!

It's true we are about a fifteen minute scenic walk from the Pike Place Market, and the front desk is always willing to point out some good places to eat on one of our complimentary local walking maps, and have proven to be a valuable resource to many of our guests as far as making reservations at restaurants, and making recommendations on things to do in the city. There are actually quite a bit of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, including our own restaurant the Emerald Grill, which has great daily specials, as well as the Flying Fish, the Hurricane Cafe, SeaStar, Shilla, Blue Moon Burger, Portage Bay Cafe and more! We love being in a location that makes both the Downtown and the blossoming South Lake Union areas only a short walk away.

Thank you again for your comments! We're excited that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you took the time to give us some feedback about your experience, and we can't wait to show you some great places to eat next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 days (2 rooms). Both rooms were not cleaned at all for 1 day, after complaining they apologized and offered fresh towels! When we arrived we couldnt park on the curb for check in because the manager told us big buses would be arriving and we had to make space for them, the entrance was being painted so we couldnt park there either so we had to find a spot down the street. On our last day although you have to pay for parking, it was full, after asking where we could park we were told rudely to find a spot on the street, but there was no spot on the street, so we asked if we could park in the check in zone and were told we would be ticketed if we did. After getting a bit upset the person in charge offered graciously to take the charge for the parking off our bill as a solution, but we still had no parking space, after back and forth he wrote us a note so we could use the parking space of a parking lot 2 blocks away.... This would all not have been a big issue if the staff would have been friendlier but they were short in responses and acting like nothing was their problem. Too bad the service was like this, the hotel is nice and the location great but I would never stay there again! The emerald grill whish is beside the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner is great! The staff there was the opposite of the hotel staff! Food was good and people superfriendly!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
I want to apologize on behalf of my staff. As you can see from the other comments on Trip Adviser they typically excel at providing excellent customer service to our guests, and we pride ourselves in our service culture and our ability to truly make a guest's stay with us special. I am going to hold a meeting with my staff to make sure that this never happens again, and ensure that they are properly equipped to uphold the experiential quality that our guests have come to expect.

While I can see why they would suggest the street parking, as it is free for a duration of the night, there is no reason to suggest it in a rude way. Sometimes guests staying with us will bring more than one vehicle, and this can potentially result in the parking garage becoming full, and because of this we've made a deal with a third party parking lot, who offer our guests discounted parking, which as you mentioned, is roughly a block south of the hotel.

Again, I can't stress how sorry I am that my staff came off as rude, and I hope that the next time you stay with us your experience, and the experience of our other guests, will benefit from and be improved upon because of your comments, and the actions that we are taking to prevent similar concerns from surfacing in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and your concerns, and for your patience and your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here after booking through Priceline. The staff was very friendly when we checked in. When we got to our room, we realized it had two queen beds, so I called the front desk and asked if we could have a room with a king. Not only did they accommodate us, but they gave us a spacious corner room!

Everything was very comfortable and relaxing. The construction was a bit of a downer, but they apologized in advance, and it will be even better when it's done. Also, the parking garage is a little wonky; the place to swipe your room key is on the left side of the entrance so it makes it rather difficult when you first go in. If they could move it to the middle, it would be much easier. However, it's a secure garage and pretty comparable to any other parking in the area at $10/night. Definitely worth the money, and we'd probably do it again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

good location rooms are good check in a bit of a problem but after that person went home the rest of staff very helpfull we would stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel was close to downtown and Space needle. We parked our car and walked everywhere. The restaurant was in an adjoining building, but we did not care as we ate outside for most of our stay. The room had a little kitchenette which was really helpful for cooling the beverage. Very clean and comfy.
Even though we checked out at 11:00, they let us have the car parked in their secured parking until the late in the day.
Loved the service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle

Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.