We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Seattle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Seattle to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Seattle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109 (Lake Union)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011 via mobile

The room was clean and the beds comfy. The service was also very friendly and everyone was keen to help us. Being right next to the space needle, it's a brilliant location and very easy to find your way back to. It takes 5 - 10mins to get yourself on foot to the area around pike place market and the first Starbucks so that's great. I would say it's definitely worth staying here rather than a much more pricey place which is actually only 5mins from this hotel anyway.

The only down point was that I kept having to re-enter the wireless password on my phone so that was a bit annoying. Refreshing to have free wireless, though, so I can't complain too much.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay!

I will talk to our IT department to see if there is something we can change with our system to accommodate cell phones better.

Please come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    173
    97
    23
    12
See reviews for
96
118
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My sister & I stayed here in late March of 2011; we were visiting her daughter who was stationed at the Everett Navel Base. It was a good hotel at a good price. It is just outside of the downtown area, about 5 blocks from the Space Needle. It is clean and there are quite a few amenities close by.

Two words of warning: if you are using a debit card instead of a credit card, they will debit the whole amount of your room on the day that you check in. This wasn't a problem but I wasn't aware of it. The second thing, the shower head needs to be adjusted(sp?) or you will end up a little bit sore.

There is no free breakfast but the Shell gas station mini mart has snacks and food (which we didn't try) and Walgreen is about 4 blocks away from the hotel.

We didn't rent a car but the hotel is right next to the highway for anyone who wants to have a car. Public transportation in Seatlle is great and cheap but you need to take a bit of time to figure it out. The buses are free in Downtown from 6 am until 7 pm.

We are planning another trip to Seattle this summer and we are very eager to see this city again.

Room Tip: Do your research ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit with us so much. It's true that we will authorize debit and credit cards for the full room and tax at check in, as well as for $50 USD per night for incidentals. This is from what I understand a standard hotel practice, and I've heard that gas stations as well as rental car services do this as well. Rest assured, we don't actually charge you anything until you check-out.

In addition to the Shell and the various breakfast venues nearby, we have a full-service restaurant right next door, the Emerald Grill, which is a great place to eat for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Please come back and see us!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed here with sister, 2 teens and one tween. They said it was OK to have 5 people, as lots of people did, but could not provide a cot as it was against fire regulations to have 5 people! Parking is horrendous; every parking spot in the lot was marked "COMPACT" and could hardly park our van. Nails sticking out everywhere from very low garage ceiling and felt very unsafe. Water in shower luke warm, no water pressure, outdated decor, had a "view room" which looked at another bldg. Restaurant is absolutely horrible with terrible quality food but all the staff was nice and I felt sorry for them having to work at a place where they probably had to apologize for everything! Not well maintained. I had read many mixed reviews about this place but please, do not waste your money. Spend abit more and stay at Hyatt Place or anywhere if you aren't booking last minute!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Greetings Patti!

I want to express my concern, and to tell you that we are deeply sorry that you were so unhappy with your experience at our hotel. Unfortunately it is against Seattle Fire Code for us to have any more than 4 guests staying in a single hotel room, but I will speak with my staff to remind them of this in case it was one of them that misinformed you of this while you were making your reservation, to ensure that this confusion does not take place again.

We do have many return guests with larger vehicles, such as S.U.V.'s, trucks, and vans, and we do have many parking spaces in our garage to accommodate those that will fit. Unfortunately there are vehicles that exceed the clearance to the garage, and we have taken it upon ourselves to work with a nearby parking facility to offer parking there for our guests with over-sized vehicles. I'm sorry that you experienced difficulties in parking, and hope that if you stay with us again or if another guest reading this stays with us, concerns like this are brought to our attention at a time when we can still offer alternatives and resolutions.

You are correct in that we are not a view hotel. We do our best not to advertise as such, and I'm sorry if you were led to believe that we were. There is actually another hotel directly behind us which would block any view of the Space Needle. There are some rooms that, based on availability, face outwards, but we do not charge extra for these rooms as we do not consider them to be "view rooms."

Our focus is on in-room amenities, and we have many resources at our hotel for guests that are staying with us: a fairly large and well-equipped business center, a front desk staff in which each person doubles as a helpful concierge, a fitness center that is fitted with new work-out equipment, and a full service restaurant, to name a few. There are many hotels in Seattle and all of them are different, and we not only encourage guests to find a hotel that is right for them, but also aid everyone who steps inside in finding a hotel that meets their needs. That's just the Holiday Inn way.

We do receive many compliments both for the hotel itself and the restaurant, and as a manager, I find myself thanking guests for their kind words more often than I am apologizing for concerns. Even on this very website there are numerous reviews praising what we do, and the small number of negative reviews we have received reflects this. I will definitely express your concerns to the managers of our other departments, and mention your kind words about the restaurant staff to the manager of the Emerald Grill.

It is, of course, our goal to ensure that every guest that vacations to our property takes with them cherish-able memories of their visit to our wonderful city. Clearly this is not the case for your visit with us, and I apologize for that. I hope that your next trip to Seattle brings you fonder memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay! The staff was very friendly, accomodating and professional. The room was clean, the beds comfy and they promptly brought up a crib for our toddler to sleep in, no charge! We will stay here again, for sure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for sharing your opinion and please come back and visit us next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I was able to purchase a 2 queen bedroom for $75 for two nights and it was better than expected! The lobby of the hotel was very nice and although the hallways to your room is outdated it is very clean! The standard room had a mini fridge/microwave and sink too. Plus the bathroom was very nice with granite counter tops. The location of the hotel is a 5 minute drive away towards Pike Place and very close to the needle, pacific science museum, EMP, zoo etc. Parking charge is $10 a night and be expected to pay parking for everywhere you go in seattle. On our first night (saturday), we called the concierge at midnight to ask what to do in seattle and he was really great to suggest us a few places and get us addresses too! We also got free high speed internet access which never failed and hot water was never a problem for 4 people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words!

I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to the rest of the staff, and please come back and visit us next time you are in Seattle!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here with my husband one night while on vacation in Seattle. Very clean and comfortable. No complaints at all. Parking is $10 in small garage beneath hotel. Restaurant next door was fine for drinks and appetizers. We walked to Pike Street Market. Long walk but totally doable. Also walked to Space needle and caught the light rail downtown. Neighborhood felt just fine to us, though we are used to urban areas and all that entails. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for filling out a review for our hotel! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Please come back to see us again sometime, okay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Wow- this hotel and the staff really set a high standard in every possible way. We travelled there with 45 kids!!!! and they accommodated all our craziness with a smile on their face every time.

The meals prepared were fresh, healthy and delicious - I've never eaten so much!!!

The Hotel is very safe and secure and we were treated with respect and priority. Would have NO hesitation in recommending this hotel and would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle

Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Seattle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.