We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Oysters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Walrus and the Carpenter

The Walrus and the Carpenter
4743 Ballard Ave NW, Seattle, WA
206-395-9227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 3,090 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've wanted to come here for a long time and was finally able to make it on this trip to Seattle. We got there a little before 5 on a Thursday evening and the place was packed. We were quoted a wait time of about 30 minutes but we were able to be seated in about 15 minutes. There were 6 different local varieties of oysters from mild to briny. We took advantage of the 25% happy hour special and got two dozen to split amongst 3. For dinner we got the zuccini salad. A light, delicious, thinly sliced salad of zuccini with a citrus vinaigrette. We also got the cod chowder, smoked trout, and the manila clams. The freshest seafood and all were well prepared. Dessert was a disappointment. We got the bread pudding. It was nothing like we expected. It looked like a slightly toasted piece of bread with some sauce and whipped cream. Overall, the service was friendly and prompt. I'd probably give this place more like a 4 1/2 but I liked it enough to give it a 5.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    36
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is hard to find - we only went because of Zimmerman's review - but it was worth the search and the wait!! If you go, order the fried oysters for sure. Also, the salted dates for dessert were awesome. This will be our go-to place in Seattle.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

very authentic "seattle" feel. Lots of great seafood. I think the menu changes fairly regularly. Hard to get a table sometimes and they don't take reservations, but service was great once we were seated.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“It is a OYSTER bar. And a great one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

You will wait,and it is crowded. WHY, because it is good.
The Oysters are some the best we have had. As good and as fresh if you had just got them your self. The fried ones are also good
The steak tar-tar can not be beat. Had the fried sardines. Also. Service is efficient and friendly. Try to sit outside on the picnic benches. Pricing in line with the quality of the food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U2shouldknow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An Over Rated Oyster Bar with Over Priced Pantry Items for the Amateur Diners. Owners are laughing ALL the way to the bank!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were so excited to try this restaurant but only to discover it was only an oyster bar run by unfriendly servers who didn't seem to give a poop. This is an over-rated joint with very bland food that didn't require barely any prep work nor cooking but it took more an hour to get seated and almost that long to get our food and drinks. Too many customers per cook or server? Hire some people.

And they cram so many people in the place you feel like you're in a sardine can. Read the menu before sitting down otherwise you might not be able to escape without knocking other tables food off their tables. It would be a fire hazard in an emergency since you are sitting elbow to elbow. There is NO such thing as a private conversation. It is so ridiculous they have baguette but when we requested the server snobbily said "oh no, that is for the cheese". We got dark rye bread with a cardboard crust. Are they for real?! We were going to pay for it, so it wasn't free. Even fine dining is less pretentious.

For two measley drinks an app, a salad, and entree, it was almost $100 with tip!! The Space Needle was less of a tourist rip-off! No wonder there didn't appear to be any locals returning. We can't recommend this overrated so-called restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walrus and the Carpenter also viewed

 

Been to The Walrus and the Carpenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walrus and the Carpenter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.