We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free parking, comfortable accomodations, reasonable cost, close to LOTS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2224 8th Ave., Seattle, WA 98121 (Belltown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Seattle
Battle Ground, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free parking, comfortable accomodations, reasonable cost, close to LOTS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As stated, the parking was free, which is quite unique for that part of town. Only a few blocks away/within walking distance is Westlake Center for dining and shopping; quick and easy drive to other Seattle sights.

The staff was friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was pretty good, and they had complimentary lemon-iced water or hot apple cider any time of day. The rooms had several complimentary toiletries, rather than just soap, or soap/shampoo. Bedding was plush, TV had the same cable package I have at home, and the room was cozy. I felt it was a good deal for downtown Seattle (watch out for all the added taxes, though!!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    213
    61
    21
    17
See reviews for
208
145
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is located on a street that appears to be in transition. From our hotel window we could see half a dozen building cranes, and it seemed that the street where the hotel is located is ripe for change to replace the older buildings with new more modern buildings. But the area is decent and within walking distance of downtown and the Space Needle, which are both perhaps less than a mile away.

The hotel itself is older but well maintained. It has a nice lobby and adjoining breakfast area. Breakfast included the usual things like cereal, pastries, juice etc., but there was also the option of making pancakes or waffles. Our room was clean and well maintained, but perhaps the most unique feature was a dual shower head, i.e. it was a really good shower. I found the bed to be particularly comfortable, and there wasn't excess noise from the street below so that it was restful to stay here. A nice feature that they provide is free parking, almost unheard of in the middle of a city. Wi-Fi was also free, but it was hit and miss in our room which was on an upper floor. I took my IPad to the business center area, which btw had two newer looking computers, and the Wi-Fi worked fine there. In summary, I came away mostly impressed and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I can describe this property as great...the location is very convenience from tourist attractions, as not car is need it. Free parking during your stay is a great thing, as any hotel downtown will charge you between $20 to $40. Nice breakfast, also included in the room rate...and great staff, very helpful... chapeau to La Quinta Inn management to have a property like this....will recommend anytime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There were several problems we faced staying at this hotel. First of all and I declared it in the title of my review as a main one is a dog-friendly policy. I can't tell I dislike dogs I simply live with them in two parallel planes that, by default, do not cross between each other. When you are placed in a connecting room and your neighbours on the other side of the door leave their dog alone at the room it's a bad guest management and planning. This dog feels like at home and is trying to protect this home with the only weapon it has - barking, timeless barking. Meanwhile you're just laying at your bed trying to have a rest and listening for this barking. Moreover reception staff can do nothing in this case. You have no choice, but keep waiting and praying the owners of this dog to come as soon as possible.
The second problem is the strength of Wi-Fi signal in the room. We lived on the top, the seventh, floor and it was almost impossible to connect to the access point. I tried different spots around the room, but failed to establish a reliable connection. Either the power of the AP or their quantity should be increased. Maybe the APs can be just replaced.
The third problem is a breakfast. Even in Italy, in a country that is famous with it's moderate breakfast, I had a better breakfast than here. No meat at all! Just cereals, eggs, yoghurt, bread, waffles, apples, oranges and drinks. That's it. It's definitely not the best start of the day.
Omitting this difficulties the hotel is a nice place to stay in Seattle. It's located not too far from the downtown. Rooms a cosy and are equipped with everything any tourist is expecting to have.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We travel with an older sheepdog and have always stayed at BW hotels where pet friendly rooms often mean the same as lower class and unclean. When a friend mentioned that La Quinta hotels are amazing and host pets, I booked our five day stay at the La Quinta downtown Seattle location on 8 ave. The Trip Advisor reviews posted here are pretty accurate. The front desk staff are very friendly and clearly love dogs and make every effort to greet your pet when he comes and goes from the hotel! The whole main level has a brand new modern look, with several relaxing seating areas and a huge separate internet access area where guests can plug in their laptops or make use of the two large Apple IMac PC's on the business desks, complete with comfortable bar stools and excellent lighting. We stayed in a mini suite with a King size bed in a separate bedroom. Good size fridge, microwave, complimentary bottled water and popcorn and two large flatscreen tv's in each room made us feel so comfortable during our stay. On the seventh floor we had a good view of the downtown buildings. There is a large park within one block where our dog enjoyed many visits. Parking is free, but limited. We did a lot of walking and did not have any problems finding a parking spot during our visit. The continental breakfast was generous and served in a modern large room. The housekeeping staff was going out of their way to keep the room clean! The hallways and all common area's were spotless and smelled fresh. This is a place where guest rooms are cleaned and turned over with great care and attention to detail (you will not find stains on sheets or hair in the bathtub here!) This is an older building, so the soundproofing is not 100% . Our room on the top floor was located next to the elevators and the humming of the machinery and mechanism was clearly audible but mostly in the bedroom. We were not bothered by this at all, but a more sensitive guest should ask for a room away from the elevator. The closes place to eat would be the "Hurricane", an old fashioned greasy spoon diner which appeared to be open real late. Their menu is loaded with all the expected comfort foods and deserts, a good place for families with kids or if you arrive late and are too tired for a long walk. Our favorite spot was less than two blocks from the hotel: Whole Foods. when leaving the hotel turn left and then left again. Most amazing grocery store I have come across and with a HUGE restaurant/hot food area, too much to mention here! Thank younto all the staff of Seattle downtown La Quinta for their kindness and we hope to visit again soon!!

PS.... the bed was very comfortable!

Room Tip: request a room away from elevator, if you are sensitive to sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Address: 2224 8th Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown , Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
#38 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
La Quinta Seattle
Seattle La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.