We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative casual food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Beetle

Golden Beetle
1744 NW Market Street, Seattle, WA 98107
(206) 706-2977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Golden Beetle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #595 of 3,563 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NW 56th st
Transit: Bus stops.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Creative casual food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

A second trip didn't disappoint. Began with perfect GB Perfect Manhattens! Fabulous. Fatoosh, prawn falafel, spanikopita and green beans ranged from very good to great. Flavors are unusual yet restrained and very, very good. Fresh, organic, and carefully prepared options. Staff outstanding. When we wavered between wine options, tastes were offered This will be a regular haunt for us with many more dishes to try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The food, service and atmosphere were great here. I was expecting just another middle eastern restaurant but everything is of the highest quality and with a unique spin. Great service too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is Maria Hines' newest restaurant, organic Eastern Mediterranean. There are small plates and entree size too. We only had small plates - The BEST dip of walnuts, pomegranate molasses and olive oil with flat bread. Then fried halloumi cheese with padron peppers. Spanakopita in cigar shape. Yum! Clams with preserved orange & pickled serrano peppers, fabulous. Whitefish falafel, also yum, then we were full. But we had to squeeze in Theo Chocolate Milk Pudding, to share. I also had a tasty drink - the Swashbuckling Sangaree! - with aged rum, simple syrup, lemon, port, and house-made bitters. Service was very nice. We'll be going back a lot, in order to try everything else!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and great drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We've dined at Golden Beetle three times since they opened this spring and found that each time we had really good, imaginative, well seasoned food! Their food is fresh and local and organic wherever possible. Combine with a fantastic and creative seasonal drink menu and you've got a perfect night out in Ballard.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding new restaurant with INTERESTING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Our first time at Golden Beetle and we loved it. We have eaten at their sister restaurant Tilth and we had followed the opening of Golden Beetle with great anticipation. And our wait paid off. We had the $50 tasting menu. Five incredible courses plus some nibbles before and after. Started with spicy almonds and some wonderful cocktails. First course was a wonderful carrot soup, followed by a garbanzo bean stew (beyond wonderful) then I had mussels and my bride the spanakopita. All of that was outstanding and was followed by a lamb tagine and we finished up with a great baklava. Besides the outstanding food, the service was downright comfortable. It was a totally wonderful experience dining experience and we can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Beetle also viewed

 

Been to Golden Beetle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Beetle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.