We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, modern atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mistral Kitchen

Mistral Kitchen
2020 Westlake Avenue, Seattle, WA 98121
206-623-1922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mistral Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #423 of 3,563 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lenora
Transit: We are on the Seattle Streetcar route, with streetcar stops located conveniently one block in each direction on Westlake Ave.
Santa Barbara, Ca
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Delicious food, modern atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Four of us dined here for a late lunch before an early Opera. We Californians were delighted to find the Foie Gras, both cold & hot presentations, as we are forbidden for inane reasons to eat it in our state. The Foie was delicious, served with apple "marmalade" , figs, and cocoa nubs.
We followed with Halibut and slow cooked Short Ribs, both excellent. The sparkling Cremant d'Alsace was reasonable and excellent as was a local Pinot Noir. The entire experience was so good we ate there twice on our Seattle visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a lovely lunch. I had a pan-seared halibut that was cooked to perfection and my husband had the teres major (a shoulder muscle steak seldom used) which he really liked. Service was excellent and we got to meet the owner to compliment him on his food.

A great place to eat for lunch and probably dinner too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head island SC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Food, food, food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just two blocks from the Westin hotel in "Amazon" country, this hole in the wall restaurant leaves a lot to be desired for an enjoyable dinner. Cement floors, hard wooden chairs, small tables and a noisy environment was hard to offset with dinner but I would say it was a close call. The menu was sketchy with more appetizers than main courses and the one fish--halibut--was excellent. The chef has a knack for blending flavors and, from that perspective the environment can be tolerated. The salad was as fresh as can be with a few special ingredients and wasn't prepared and refrigerated as had been my experience in other well rated restaurants. Dessert was a special treat with designs and flavors that were indeed special. Unfortunately, the prices were high as dinner for three eclipsed $300--and we brought our own wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went to the restaurant at about 7:00 p.m. Saturday night, without reservations. We were seated at the counter in front of the cooking area. I thought it was very interesting -- great fun, in fact -- to watch the three or four cooks cook and put together the salads and entrees. They had a pizza hearth oven, a tandoori oven, and a (four burner, I think) induction cooktop. Although they were busy they chatted with us a bit as they were preparing the food. The food was picked up from the counter right next to us so we got to see a number of different dishes go out. One of use had roast chicken and the other halibut, and we split a green salad.

The food was very, very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

All I can say is that dinner was an amazing experience. Everything I tasted was better than I imagined, and I would go back anytime. If you want a special experience for yourself, a loved one, or a business associate, I would recommend Mistral Kitchen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistral Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mistral Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mistral Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.