We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Cranes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
9 Cranes Inn
Save
You added 9 Cranes Inn to your Saves list
5717 Palatine Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98103   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Seattle B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was my first time staying in a B&B so I was not sure what to expect. 9 Cranes Inn was exceptionally clean, comfortable and the food was amazing. Shelley was a pleasure and a great source of knowledge of the area. The inn is conveniently located within walking distance to shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
77
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've had the pleasure of laying our heads down on the very comfy sheets at this new bed and breakfast on Phinney Ridge twice now. The first time was in the lofty Ballard View room with its immense deck overlooking the Olympic Mountains and even a teeny view of the Space Needle. This room wouldn't be the choice if stairs are an issue as it's on the 3rd floor, but the climb is worth it.
The second time we stayed in the Woodland Park room, just off the dining room. We loved the heated floor in the bathroom and the super cozy bed. It's the smallest of the rooms but perfectly comfortable, with the same well-appointed amenities as the Ballard View room. Shelley, the owner, is helpful but not sugary sweet, she knows when to leave her guests alone but is available when you need help or have a question. Homemade cookies, a fresh cooked breakfast in the morning, excellent coffee, a quiet charming neighborhood, really comfortable beds and some of the most attractively decorated rooms I've ever stayed in, we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Shelley was an amazing hostess! Breakfast was incredible and we enjoyed visiting with her, too! Each afternoon homemade cookies would appear! Great place to have my son and his girlfriend over for a visit. Games, coffee, hot chocolate, and tea were provided for us to enjoy. In addition to the food, the rooms are gorgeous, new and clean each decorated in it's own unique color scheme. Have already recommended to all my family and friends!!! Thanks Shelley!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are awesome! Choose the room that meets your needs and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My 15 yr old daughter and I stayed in the Phinney Ridge room back in July 2012 for four nights. (We had made our reservations about this time last year!) We were in town visiting an aunt and desired a proximity close to her apartment. This led us to the treasure known as 9 Cranes Inn!. What a wonderful experience! Shelley does an absolutely fantastic job in creating an atmosphere that is comfortable for her guests...and adds nice warm unexpected touches throughout. We were very pleased with our room,that actually had doors to create two private rooms..along with a large private bathroom The beds were comfortable, the upstairs library was inviting and useful, the cookies and brownies left in the dining room were a homey delicious touch after a day of exploring, the rooms were sparkling clean, the dogs were adorable, and the food was absolutely delicious!! Breakfast was a non hurried, pleasant time spent with other guests in a bright cheery dining room! We also had the opportunity to visit a bit with Shelley and she is a gem! My daughter and I felt perfectly safe walking around the surrounding neighborhood and beyond. I would only hope that there will be room at the inn the next time we travel to Seattle!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The only negative part of our stay was that we couldn’t stay longer! We were only in Seattle for one evening to attend a wedding on New Year’s Eve. Shelley was fabulous and even offered to prepare our breakfast early so that we eat before hurried off to the airport. Would love to stay again when we have more time to explore the area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Mi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights in the Ballard View room. The room was exceptional, large, well appointed, very clean, a great bed, an outsatnding bathroom featuring a jacuzzi and seperate sit down shower and double sinks. A balcony with a terrific view ( although you will need a clear day). Breakfast was tasty. A lot of little touches to make your stay easier and more comfortable. All in all, a well thought out plan by the innkeeper who was freindly and very helpful. You can't go wrong here as it is in great location.

Room Tip: Ballard view is worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Without repeating all the well-earned praise in former reviews, I'd like to suggest an enhancement: for those mornings when you just don't feel like socializing at a communal table, how about offering an in-room breakfast tray? Not the lovely gourmet hot meal served in the dining room, but just thermos of coffee, baked item, banana, yogurt. For mornings when the guest wants to lounge in PJ's, watch CNN, or read a paper undisturbed.
Otherwise, this innkeeper has thought of everything!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Cranes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Cranes Inn

Address: 5717 Palatine Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Cranes Inn is casual, comfortable, and conveniently located in the Phinney Ridge neighborhood. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the bus to downtown. Also nearby: Ballard, Fremont, Green Lake, Wallingford, and Greenwood. Breakfast, wi-fi, and ample street parking included in rate. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Cranes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.