We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming cozy bungalow with beautiful spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Cranes Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Cranes Inn to your Saves list
9 Cranes Inn
5717 Palatine Avenue N, Seattle, WA 98103   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save $$ While We Paint
Ranked #4 of 36 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“charming cozy bungalow with beautiful spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this charming craftsman B & B. The Ballard View room is a spacious room with a beautiful view and a private deck. Breakfast was delicious and the proprietors were most gracious and helpful.
Great find.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
80
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I loved my stay at 9 Cranes Inn! I stayed in the Woodland Room, but the friendly proprietor, Shelley, gave me a tour of the entire inn (so I'd have the information for possible future stays). The Ballard View room would be perfect for me and my husband, but the Woodland Room was ideal for a peaceful night's rest after a business meeting in Seattle. The neighborhood is quiet, yet offers easy access to downtown, Ballard and Greenlake. The entire inn is sparkling clean. Breakfast was healthful and delicious (I had the signature salmon scramble with roasted tomatoes, potatoes, kiwi and a yummy baked apple). Shelley shared the recipe for her delicious chocolate chip cookies.

The nitty-gritty: firm bed, good quality pillows, fluffy towels and a heated bathroom floor. Every amenity was close to hand. I had my own key, so was able to leave in the evening for dinner with a friend, then come back and relax in peace. I enjoyed the upstairs guest lounge and the beautiful living room, complete with crackling fire, in this lovely restored 1916 home. I hope to stay at 9 Cranes Inn again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great room, great breakfasts, great design and a real sense of tranquility about the home, all in a quiet and cozy location.

My lady and I stayed in the only room on the 1st floor, the Woodland Room. It was playfully yet tastefully designed, with an excellent quality to all the fixtures and furniture. Also in the room is a giant HDTV, a nice big closet, and a well put together guest information binder.

The bed was a tad firm, but we're spoiled memory-foam-mattress-topper fans. The linens were SO SOFT! I recommend asking Shelly about purchasing your own set.

Our private bathroom came with everything we needed. Again, excellent quality and well thought out flow. Instead of tiny soap, shampoo and conditioner packets, there is a shower-mounted dispenser with refillable reservoirs providing all of the above. I wish more inns & hotels did this!

The provided breakfast was both delicious and accommodating. Rice milk? Sure. Can't do gluten? No problem. Vegetarian? Got it. There is also coffee, tea, and juice/soda in a little upstairs nook, available 24 hours a day.

Tying it all off is a very decent rate, and free (fast) WI-FI, an inviting common area for making calls, taking notes, or just reading a book.

9 cranes, way up!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We went to Seattle for a long weekand and decided to try a B&B in one of the nearby communities. This inn has everything. We stayed in the Ballard Room and it was HUGE , had a large deck and nicely appointed, but it was on the third floor with no elevator. I didn't mind it and the views are awesome if it's not raining, but keep that in mind if you book this room. My wife joked that she loved the sunken tub anyway so it was worth the climb! It's also the only room ont he third floor so it feels secluded. The inn has a shared lounge on the second floor with a computer, free coffee, and free wireless internet access for our laptop which was very fast.

Each morning we had a two course hot breakfast which was a great way to start our day. I'm not a big breakfast person, but we had some kind of salmon scramble pastry one day and a lemon crepe on another. They were both incredible and I think they were perfect starts for our day of touring Seattle. We took the bus downtown which was closeby and they were very clean and convenient. Shelly, the inn keeper, recommended the Underground Tour and we had a blast. Don't miss this if you ever visit.

Thanks for a great weekend in Seattle!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Cranes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Cranes Inn

Address: 5717 Palatine Avenue N, Seattle, WA 98103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Cranes Inn is comfortable, stylish, and conveniently located in the Phinney Ridge neighborhood. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the bus to downtown. Also nearby: Ballard, Fremont, Green Lake, Wallingford, and Greenwood. Breakfast, wi-fi, and ample street parking included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 9 Cranes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Cranes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.